A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Coffee Date: Steamy August morning!

on August 1, 2015

My windows are literally steamed up at my house today. It did not make me look forward to stepping out into the August heat!

Thanks as always to Lynda, Coco and Deborah for hosting!

Thanks as always to Lynda, Coco and Deborah for hosting!

One of these days, I should keep track of just how many cups of coffee I drink in a day. Spoiler alert: It’s a lot. It takes a lot of caffeine to get this girl going in the morning. Especially today – I was up too late for a girl’s night showing of Trainwreck (worth seeing Lebron James alone! Interesting!) and wine afterwards. I’m getting old – 11:30 and two glasses of wine are apparently enough to make waking up the next morning a startling experience! It didn’t help that the wake up came as Oliver convinced Darrell to turn on “Sheriff Callie.” Sheriff Callie is cute but not the first thing you want to enter your mind in the morning. Ah well. This morning my coffee is being delivered via the lovely carafe at Village Inn, where Oliver and I are on our usual weekend Mommy-Oliver date (aka the day Daddy gets to sleep in – or go back to sleep in this case). I eat a lot of fruit and veggies, but I still suspect the lovely coffee bean is my largest source of antioxidants during the day. I am totally okay with that.
Elixir of the gods

Elixir of the gods

If you were joining Oliver and I for coffee and breakfast this morning (egg white omelet with spinach and tomato, Canadian bacon – of which O will eat half, wheat toast and cottage cheese FYI), we’d definitely have to show you pics of the awesome dinosaur hat and tail we made for Oliver’s dinosaur dress up day at school this week. Yes, I know I showed this pic yesterday, but I’m still super proud of this. I am not a Pinterest-crafty Mom. My skills are limited so the fact that this turned out remotely cute is a huge Mom Gold Star in my week.

I promise not to share this pic again this week but the sheer fact that I went to Michael's deserves credit. :)

I promise not to share this pic again this week but the sheer fact that I went to Michael’s deserves credit. πŸ™‚

I’d also pick your brain over my dilemma with regards to the invitation O got to a birthday party next weekend. I have to decide what to do about the RSVP today – we’re already pushing it a little late. Among the many activities at the party will be a bounce house. Thanks to his broken leg, O is barred from bounce houses until the orthopedic docs clear his growth plate later this year. The bounce house is just one of many activities, so there will be other things for him to do, but it’s going to be important to keep him out of it despite all of his little friends hopping in there. Do we let him go? At this age and since we don’t know the parents, at least one of us was going to stay at the party, but it would be easier to keep an eye on him and keep him out of the bounce if we both went. Would that be weird? Or would it be weirder if only one of us went without the other having a good excuse for missing it? Ugh, the social stress of mom socializing!

I confess I sort of sighed when this showed up in O's school backpack.

I confess I sort of sighed when this showed up in O’s school backpack, lovely as the birthday boy is.

As I could watch this Agents of Shield-Agent Carter Dubsmash war over and over, I’d likely be showing it to you on the phone. Aren’t they all the most adorable? I confess I gave up on Agents of Shield but I love Agent Carter and am looking forward to its return! I’d also recommend the wonderful Sweet & Southern cookbook, which I got for my birthday and have been dipping into regularly over the last month to make Darrell’s work treats. O & I are perusing its pages this morning to choose this week’s treat!

I'd also be recommending this band, which I discovered via an appearance on some NPR podcast and am LOVING!

I’d also be recommending this band, which I discovered via an appearance on some NPR podcast and am LOVING!

On a totally superficial girly note, I’d probably tell you that I got this new Attitude shampoo from Influenster and am loving how kind it has been to both my curls in this summer humidity and to my hair color. Even my stylist noticed a difference! I love when I get a sample of something that I actually intend to continue buying. O informs me that we will also continue buying the Oreida Tater Tots we got thanks to Influenster. πŸ™‚ (Thanks to Influenster for sending the box of goodies to try out – all opinions are my own!)
Fitting in fitness FTW!

Fitting in fitness FTW!

Because we’re at Village Inn and I just got caught doing this in the Village Inn bathroom, I have to tell you one of my favorite ways to sneak in fitness: Doing wall sits on the stall door while I wait for O to finish in the bathroom. He wants me standing right outside the stall door, not in with him because “I can do it myself Mama.” I’ve decided this is a great opportunity to put my legs to work! I got a very odd look from one of the waitresses who came in this morning while we were in here.
Here’s hoping everyone has a lovely Saturday! Because it’s officially August (how did that happen already!) I’m sure we’d be chatting about back to school time and dealing with hot weather and who knows what else. What’s on your mind today?

Thanks as always toΒ Lynda, Coco and Deborah for hosting our little link up! Be sure to go check out what everyone else is up to this morning!

6 responses to “Coffee Date: Steamy August morning!

  1. Carrie says:

    I love the fitting in fitness! I do tricep dips at work every time I make coffee or reheat my coffee and I get 75-90 in every single day. The little bit helps.

    Have a great weekend!

  2. I love it! Wall squats while you wait- very smart use of your time- kids can be in there forever! Enjoy your coffee this morning, I may have another cup myself!

  3. Ha ha! Love the wall squats in the bathroom! Oliver’s hat is adorable! I’m not crafty at all & could never imagine making something like that!

    • It was glue and foam paper which wasn’t too bad. πŸ™‚ I don’t know that I’ll get more crafty than that. I figure I’ll just support small businesses through Etsy to get future crafted costume needs met.

Leave a Reply

