A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: When does fall get here anyway?

on July 27, 2015

Oh my it is hot! I keep reminding myself that all of these hot weather runs are getting me ready for a great fall running season. This week was great overall and it felt good to get back onto the workout and healthy eating wagon after traveling. That’s definitely key in keeping vacations from leading to out of control weight gain – when you’re back home, get back to your normal healthy patterns ASAP!

Workouts

Monday Two miles on the treadmill before I picked O up at daycare (single parent day as Darrell was in Arkansas) with a mile without a walk break – it’s amazing how much easier it is to run when you take the weather out of the equation!

Tuesday  Yet another week where I was supposed to run Tuesday and didn’t. If I don’t get back on the right weekday plan of “Tuesday run, Wednesday rest” this week, I’ll need to look at the schedule to be sure I don’t need to shift the week to avoid too big workouts in a row with the training plan increasing in intensity soon.

Wednesday I headed out to run early Wednesday morning. Wednesday isn’t a great day for me to run, schedule-wise, so I didn’t get my 3 miles in like I intended. I ended up at 2.25 miles and just couldn’t drag myself back out in the evening to finish off the 0.75 miles. I had two 2-3 mile runs and two 3 mile runs on the weekday schedule this week, so I just chalked this up as one of the shorter runs. I almost scrapped the run all together because of headphone problems! There’s no reason I’d run in the heat without something to listen to other than my ragged breathing. 🙂

Thursday 3 slow miles at 11 am in the blazing sun – wow was it warm! Still, I got it done at 12:30 pace, reasonable for my easy runs. I also did a round of body weight strength exercises (planks, push ups, squats, bridges, clamshells).

Friday 3 miles, broken up over 1.25 miles on the treadmill before I did a little happy hour date with Darrell and 1.75 miles on the road after O got to bed. I am so proud of myself for getting back out there for that extra little bit so I didn’t cut this day short!

Saturday Cross training on the schedule, which was a 30 minute walk and some body strength exercises.

Sunday 8 HOT miles. It was hazy and like running through a warm damp cloud for the first 3 miles before the sun burned everything off and started blasting down. I am proud that even though my mind was complaining about the heat, my legs just kept plodding along. I did take an extra walk break for water here and there and actually broke out my water belt for the first time so I’d have plenty of hydration.

That haziness did not make for a pleasant run. Add in the fact that I didn't start running until almost 8 am and UGH.

That haziness did not make for a pleasant run. Add in the fact that I didn’t start running until almost 8 am and UGH.

I did some bridges, planks and yoga after the run, as well as using the stick. It’s time to get serious about taking care of my legs post-run!

All in all, I got in 18.25 miles running this week, which is not too shabby for this point in training.

My NSV this week is a big one: I didn’t finish things. I tasted a Key Lime Oreo, which was disappointing, so I threw the rest away. The bread at Outback steakhouse wasn’t as good as I remembered so I didn’t finish the small piece I’d taken. I had a ton of pistachios and a goat cheese thing in a salad that I didn’t love so I didn’t finish them. That’s HUGE for me. That act of saying “I don’t need to keep eating this just because I started” is one of the most difficult and crucial weight loss skills I’ve gained. Yay me!

The biggest victory was taking just a small bite of the awesome Butterfinger brownie bars. They were dangerous so I just had a bite and threw the rest away for self-preservation. :)

The biggest victory was taking just a small bite of the awesome Butterfinger brownie bars. They were dangerous so I just had a bite and threw the rest away for self-preservation.

My good deed was buying school supplies for the drive at O’s preschool. He got a big kick out of helping me unload everything and examining all of the things “big kids” need for school.

Love every chance we get to involve him in giving back to the community.

Love every chance we get to involve him in giving back to the community.

I’m grateful that we got through yesterday’s pool party with no child disasters, reasonably good behavior, no binges and no sunburns. O is wiped out today thanks to all of the playing yesterday!

This is one of the rare occasions he got in the pool. He mostly played on the edge, throwing balls to Darrell and shooting water guns.

This is one of the rare occasions he got in the pool. He mostly played on the edge, throwing balls to Darrell and shooting water guns.

This week’s long run is a little shorter, to make up for the fact that I’ll be adding an extra day of running this week. So far my legs are holding up well, but I need to get more diligent about foam rolling and yoga since I start longer runs and speed/tempo work in the next month.

I hope everyone had a good week (and that it cools off a bit for all of us!). I keep reminding myself that along with this hot weather comes watermelon season, which I LOVE, so it’s not all bad. What’s your favorite summer treat?

8 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: When does fall get here anyway?

  1. Looks like you had a great week! Amazing that were able to just have a bite of the Butterfinger bars… way to go!

  2. Looks like a great week for you! My favorite summer treat is a beer after a hot, sweaty run or bike ride.

  3. Watermelon on hot summer days is the best! I also keep reminding myself how wonderful a d easier fall running is going to feel. Not finishing food is a huge win! That’s really something I’m bad st, especially if it’s on my plate.

  4. Meg B says:

    I love the mentality of hard, hot summer runs make for easier fall races. I never thought of it that way! Way to get your runs done!

Leave a Reply

