A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Re-entering the normal world

on July 24, 2015

It has been an exhausting week! I definitely do not bounce back as well from travel now that I’m older. That makes me especially glad that it is Friday!

Here are a few of things that made me smile this week. I definitely appreciated having these to read when my mind was too exhausted to focus on more productive things. 🙂

– First, two things that gave me all of the “feels.” Patty, at No Guilt Life, is running the Princess Half Marathon to honor her lovely son Jacob. As a mom, I cannot imagine losing a child and it is so lovely that she is raising money for Children’s Miracle Network in his honor. Definitely check out her site to contribute to fundraising, read her story and look into joining the CMN team for the Princess Half Marathon. I loved the Princess Half Marathon and can’t think of a better race to run for fun and for a good cause. Also, the lovely Mary at Runs to Get Waisted has found a great new job and it was so great to read about all she’s learned through this difficult process. Most importantly, everything she says about the awesome Lovely Ladies Losing It group is absolutely true. This is a fabulous group of supportive women who have supported each other through lots of life things beyond our original weight loss and healthy goals and I am glad to have them.

At this point, I was about 15 pounds into my weight loss. For a little while, O didn't recognize me in these pics but now he knows it is me.

At this point, I was about 15 pounds into my weight loss. For a little while, O didn’t recognize me in these pics but now he knows it is me.

– Yesterday we talked about talking to O about my body and I know that one day I’ll have to really answer questions about why I look so different than I do in his early baby pictures. Talking about weight loss is a careful thing. I liked many of the ideas in this post on Scary Mommy about talking to your child about a 100 pound weight loss.

– I can remember vividly worrying when I joined eHarmony that I’d never find anyone who loved me fat. Instead, I found someone who loved for everything I was, not in spite of the fact that I was fat (I did worry a bit that he loved me BECAUSE I was fat and asked him after I lost weight to be sure we were still good – not a factor. Whew!) All of this is to say that as a former fat girl, I really appreciated reading a lot of “My wedding was perfect and I was fat.” So many of the things she said resonated with me. We should not limit ourselves and our lives because of our weight. We should be allowed to feel beautiful. It is so hard to get there (and I’m not always there now), but worth the effort.

I still remember how happy I was in this moment - and that if you take photos on a swings in a dress, that white dress is definitely going to get stepped on and get dirty. :)

I still remember how happy I was in this moment – and that if you take photos on swings in a dress, that white dress is definitely going to get stepped on and get dirty. 🙂 PS Isn’t my husband adorable?

– For fun today, I highly recommend this post about the wonders of Calvin & Hobbes and what we can learn from that wonderful series. I CANNOT WAIT until O is old enough to read C&H together. I have several set aside for him – now that I think about it, tonight may be a good time to break those out. 🙂

Have a good weekend everyone! We have a pool party to attend – wish me luck in the weather & body confidence arenas! I’m bringing these beans and these Butterfinger bars (which have gotten me marriage proposals) so at least I know the food is going to be great. Don’t worry, I’m also bringing a veggie tray for balance and so I know that O will at least have some cherry tomatoes to eat to balance out the goodies.

Hopefully we'll get in more cooking lessons this weekend too - we're loving it!

Hopefully we’ll get in more cooking lessons this weekend too – we’re loving it!

6 responses to “Friday Favorites: Re-entering the normal world

  1. I’m saving that Scary Mommy article to read later! I never thought about the impact it would have on my kids to lose so much weight, and how different I would look to them in pictures.

    Those bars look amazing. Anything with “gooey” in the title is automatically amazing.

  2. Thanks for the links! I can’t wait to read the wedding one. So many women try to lose weight for their wedding day & then have the added stress of trying to lose weight plus plan a wedding. I was heavier orcny wedding but didn’t let that stop me from having the Mose wonderful day. Have a great weekend!

    • I had so many things to worry about other than losing weight when I was getting ready to get married. My only real worry was not gaining weight so my dress still fit – I was worried the binges I had then thanks to the stress of the move and the wedding and lots of other stuff would mean my dress wouldn’t fit. Thankfully it fit!

  3. Anna says:

    Absolutely love the picture of your little guy in the kitchen…such a wonderful opportunity for bonding and education 🙂 I was super happy on my wedding day and I refuse to look at my wedding pictures and see anything less. Maybe I should NEVER try those Butterfinger bars…well, maybe one…

Leave a Reply

