A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weight Loss Wednesday: Italy NSVs

on July 22, 2015

Since I set the goal of not weighing in this month (terrifying!) keeping an eye on my NSVs (non-scale victories) is super-important to help keep me on track. This was especially key when I was traveling, where temptation was around every corner AND I didn’t even have any workout gear to balance out any indulgences! Keeping track of my food on Instagram definitely helped and while my mind keeps dwelling on the things that weren’t the best choices (oh the wine!), I’m trying to keep my eyes on the good things so I finish out the month strong in terms of making good food choices to fuel workouts. With that in mind, some of my NSVs from my trip to Italy:

– While I didn’t have my running shoes or even clothes that were workout friendly until the last day, I didn’t let that stand as an excuse to avoid exercise all together. I decided to take the stairs up to my 7th floor room every chance I could. I counted – it was over 150 steps each trip and I made the trip at least 3 times a day! I wish I’d had my FitBit to see those numbers add up!

I only  did the elevator twice all week - the first day and one other day when I'd had too much wine to safely traverse the stairs :)

I only did the elevator twice all week – the first day and one other day when I’d had too much wine to safely traverse the stairs πŸ™‚

– I made sure to fill my plate with half veggies at every lunch and dinner, which allowed me to have a taste of the various pastas or other indulgences, but not go overboard.

Loads of veggies - the tomatoes were SO fresh

Loads of veggies – the tomatoes were SO fresh

– I only finished ONE dessert all week! I would have a bite or two to get a taste and then switch to fruit. Thankfully, there were always fresh fruit options with dessert so I could make the healthier choice.

Unless the dessert was stellar, I was able to skip it! Huge victory!!

Unless the dessert was stellar, I was able to skip it! Huge victory!!

– I had a huge lesson in body image while I was trying to find clothes to wear. Some things weren’t sized at all (???) and others had sizes that didn’t match up to ours. I didn’t let that throw me off when I was out shopping. I held things up, estimated their size and WAS RIGHT!! I frequently initially picked up the biggest option, but would remind myself that I wasn’t that size anymore and reconsider. That’s a huge step forward in seeing myself as I really am now.

I almost bought this dress in a vintage shop - no idea what size it was but it was cute :) Ultimately, too short for a work conference though!

I almost bought this dress in a vintage shop – no idea what size it was but it was cute πŸ™‚ Ultimately, too short for a work conference though!

Yes, I didn’t drink enough water and yes,I had too much wine but I had lots of wins too. I also got myself back to normal eating as soon as I got home rather than letting the fatigue and jet lag lead me astray, which can be a big factor in travel weight gain. I’ll be honest and say I’m expecting a gain when I weigh in again in August after my birthday and this trip in one month, but in terms of making the best choices possible on a trip like this, I think I did well. In the long term of weight maintenance and healthy living skills, this was a great experience.

In looking back through the search function of the blog, non-scale victories are a common topic but I think that’s a really good thing and a great habit to stay in for anyone making healthy lifestyle choices and trying to lose weight. It can’t be just about the number on the scale because we can’t control that part completely. We can control the good habits and our mindset and NSVs are an invaluable tool in your arsenal in that respect to keep us from getting discouraged or distracted.

What are your NSVs this week? Celebrate yourself!

15 responses to “Weight Loss Wednesday: Italy NSVs

  1. Dude, those are TREMENDOUS NSV’s for sure especially being abroad! You are killing it!

  2. chasingdownhealthy says:

    Oh, wine. The wine my husband brought back from Brescia was the best wine I’ve ever tasted. Swoon. It sounds like you did an awesome job at staying on track while you were there. 7 flights of stairs!?! That’s stellar! I work on a college campus, and each building typically has 3 floors and a basement level. I never take the elevator (got stuck in it once) but on the occasion that I have to go from basement to 3rd floor my legs are dying. And you did it multiple times, too. Heck yeah!

  3. Wow, I love this! It’s great to focus on other things besides the numbers on the scale. I don’t weigh myself because the numbers just mess with my head. It’s all about feeling strong.

  4. You’re doing great! I actually had a pretty big NSV (for me) last night. I was craving ice cream so badly… but instead, I got a Greek yogurt out of the fridge, had that, then went to bed. I’m so glad I made that choice!

  5. Meg B says:

    Way to rock out on your trip! And I’m pretty sure you are required to drink a ton of wine while in Italy so it’s not THAT bad.

    On Sunday I went to the bar with my trivia team and said no to the pizza. Not even a taste.I had already had dinner and was full from it, but normally I still would have eaten the pizza. So that’s my NSV.

  6. Great NSV’s! Mine this week were stopping eating when I was full, and throwing food away. Usually, at restaurants I feel like I have to finish everything because we paid for it, or take it home, but this weekend I actually left more than half my food on the plate AND didn’t take it home.

  7. All great things to celebrate! I especially love the clothes shopping and how you put the bigger sizes back and the smaller sizes were the ones that fit. Congrats in all these victories!

  8. […] in this weekend for the first time in such a long time, after a month that included a birthday and a week in Italy. This is the longest I’ve gone without weighing in YEARS and I’m at two plus months now […]

Leave a Reply

