A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Italy!

on July 20, 2015
What a week! Lots of travel, a little chaos and a little family stuff – I’m glad to be settling back into “normal” today. Workout-wise, this week didn’t look at all like I’d planned thanks to the serious delay in my luggage. I arrived in Pisa on Sunday and didn’t get my bags until sometime in the middle of the night Wednesday/Thursday. Thank goodness I’d planned for this week to be a light workout week in my training plan! Note to self: next time, put a pair of sneakers and one set of workout gear in the carry on!

Workouts

 

Monday I got in a 30 minute walk during the lunch break at my conference. I was wary of doing more than that since I only had the one pair of clothes to wear and didn’t want to get them too sweaty!

Tuesday My mad dash around the walled city of Lucca for almost 2 hours while I tried to find some toiletries (contact lens solution was surprisingly hard to find!) and clothes to get through the week definitely counts as a workout right?

Lucca was gorgeous! I wish I'd been able to explore more than just shop!

Lucca was gorgeous! I wish I’d been able to explore more than just shop!

Wednesday I had some casual clothes thanks to Tuesday’s shopping trip, so I spent the afternoon conference break hiking (and getting lost as you can see here) in the hills around my resort. 7 hilly miles definitely counts as a workout! I even ran some stretches despite my totally inappropriate shoes.

Yep, my little Croc flats headed out on this path!

Yep, my little Croc flats headed out on this path!

Thursday Once I had my sneakers, I eagerly headed out for a little run along the flatter portions of the hiking trail. Gorgeous! Probably around 2 miles in around 25-30 minutes (I didn’t unpack the Garmin).

I finally got my shoes in time for one quick run in Tuscany Thursday!

I finally got my shoes in time for one quick run in Tuscany Thursday!

Friday I spent all day Friday flying. In addition to taking the stairs every chance I got, I took a 20 minute walk in the O’Hare airport. This was a never-ending, exhausting day!

Saturday I got home around 1 am. My mom had been staying with O because Darrell had to leave town for a family member’s surgery (all went well!) and she left as soon as we woke up Saturday morning. O was so great about me being tired. We had a busy morning, unpacking and buying groceries and handling other chores, but then spent the afternoon lounging and napping together. I went to bed with him at 8 pm! Needless to say, no workout, although I will say that just being upright felt like a workout!

Sunday I was still tired and jet lagged, but managed to get in some strength work (goblet squats with the kettlebell; planks; push ups; bridges) and a 20 minute walk. O and I also played some soccer in the front yard.

Today I’m scheduled for an easy 2-3 mile run. My plan is to stop at the gym and knock out a couple of miles on the treadmill. I know if I wait until Darrell gets home, I won’t head back out to hit the street and get those miles in outside. I’m still exhausted!

I had several NSVs on this trip, which I’ll cover in more detail Wednesday, but for now I’ll say that my favorite is the fact that I’m exhausted and yet there is still an untouched brownie on my kitchen counter that O made with his Nana while I was gone.Β  If Darrell doesn’t eat it when he gets home tonight, I’ll have to throw that thing away – too much temptation! My good deed was helping someone with their luggage while I was navigating all of those flights. Yay for upper body strength! I’m grateful that everything turned out well for Darrell’s family and that he’s on his way back home. I have huge respect for anyone who stays sane as a single parent! I have a great kid, but it is definitely easier with two sets of hands on deck!

How long does it take you to get back into the normal swing of things after you’ve been away? I feel like it takes me longer and longer the older I get. πŸ™‚

13 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Italy!

  1. Meg B says:

    What a whirlwind of a trip! Glad your workout gear showed up!

  2. golddh says:

    Sounds like a great trip.. I’m actually on my way to italy next week and plan to have a great vacation plus a bunch of training whiel I’m there. Hopefully the heat won’t be too terrible.

  3. Sounds like a whirlwind! You must be exhausted. My recovery from a trip depends on how active I am when I’m away. This one sounds like you’ll need some time…

  4. Great post!! It sounds like an amazing trip. I love your crocs!! It usually takes me a week to feel “normal” again.
    P.s:T here’s a link party on my blog if you’d like to share a post!!

    • Today I’m feeling closer to normal (but still wanting a nap!). Hopefully by the weekend I’ll be back in the normal swing of things. I’m glad I don’t have to travel again until September!

  5. You did really awesome all trip, doing the best you could and making good choices. I m really awful in that I get completely derailed on vacation, so this is a big motivation for my next vacation.

  6. Marissa says:

    I’m glad you had fun! And yes, trying to buy specific things in foreign countries -totally- counts as exercise.

    I am powerless before brownies, so I’m in total awe of you!

  7. […] Run This has got to be Italy. From the gorgeous scenery, to the realization that running is so much a part of my […]

Leave a Reply

