A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

A (birth)day in the food life

on July 8, 2015

It can be particularly tempting to have a birthday that occurs on a holiday weekend. It can be food, all the time and loads of treats if you aren’t careful! As a trial run for my photo goal in Italy this month, I decided to take photos of EVERY SINGLE THING I ate on my birthday for accountability. It worked surprisingly well to keep me on track!

Pre-run snack

Pre-run snack

I woke up early to go run 3.7 miles for my 37 years. I rarely run on an empty stomach, so I had my usual pre-run snack: a couple of pieces of toasted Ezekiel break with a little mix of PB2 and banana. My mom made us peanut butter-banana-sugar sandwiches as a kid with everything all stirred up so I do this (sans sugar) all the time with PB2. šŸ™‚ And of course, coffee and water.

I feel like a hobbit: second breakfast!

I feel like a hobbit: second breakfast!

Post-run, I opened gifts with my guys and then we headed out for a family breakfast. I got a little egg white omelet with spinach and tomato, cottage cheese, Canadian bacon & dry wheat toast.

Fourth of July birthday: Of course we grilled.

Fourth of July birthday: Of course we grilled.

We went to the zoo for a couple of hours and thanks to two breakfasts, I didn’t need any snack despite all the hill hiking. We grilled burgers (93% lean beef, light wheat buns, Ultra Thin Sargento Swiss cheese) and went very veggie-heavy with the sides to balance out the birthday cake. I make the deviled eggs with Greek Yogurt instead of mayo (even Darrell can’t tell the difference) and the side salads were quick and easy. I made a sort of succotash with lima beans, corn, tomatoes and a little avocado and the Skinny Taste shrimp salsa. Both were super quick and easy and tasty. I didn’t miss the traditional fries or potato salad at all!

Oliver was in charge of candle placement, clearly :)

Oliver was in charge of candle placement, clearly šŸ™‚

Naturally, I had to have birthday cake. I made cheesecake bars with blueberries and raspberries with a walnut crust (a modification of my pumpkin cheesecake recipe) and it was delicious! I’m super proud of myself for sticking to just one piece. The photo thing really does work – I didn’t want to post two pieces of cheesecake with lunch. šŸ™‚

This is definitely a light snack day for me - blame the second breakfast.

This is definitely a light snack day for me – blame the second breakfast.

I had a couple of snacks during the afternoon: strawberries, string cheese and a little more of that succotash from lunch. I’m trying to balance my snacks with a little more protein instead of just fruit, which I know from my gestational diabetes days does a better job keeping my blood sugar steady.

Dinner: More burgers!

Dinner: More burgers!

For dinner, we grilled another batch of burgers as well as some corn on the cob and fresh veggies (asparagus and mini sweet peppers). I also had a little more succotash and another piece of cheesecake for dessert. My biggest victory of the day is having just once piece of cheesecake at a time. You guys know I have trouble with birthday cake of any kind (throwing it out is what started me on this whole journey) and for the last two birthdays, I’ve used the justification that a) it’s my birthday and b) the cheesecake recipe I use made me feel like I could eat as much as I wanted because it was “light” after all. I’ve probably eaten half a cheesecake in a single day on my last two birthdays. That I kept myself to two portioned pieces on a plate is a huge victory!

So what helped keep me on track?

– Starting the day with activity got me in the right mindset.

– Filling up half my plate with veggies at lunch and dinner.

– Serving my dessert a single piece at a time and on a plate.

– Documenting it with photos for accountability.

Of course, I ended the day with my bedtime treat:

A glass of wine feels like just as satisfying as my prior huge bedtime snacks did :)

A glass of wine feels just as satisfying as my prior huge bedtime snacks did šŸ™‚

All in all, a successful birthday and holiday from a food perspective. The photo documentation really helped keep me on track and I think it will work well in Italy!

How do you stay on track during special occasions like birthdays and holidays?

 

 

12 responses to “A (birth)day in the food life

  1. chasingdownhealthy says:

    Oh, wine. šŸ™‚ Love a glass of wine on my bed-side table. I went so far off the deep end off track over the holiday that I can’t even bring myself to get on the scale. I’m scared. Good job staying on track, and what a great idea to photograph everything. That seems like way more accountability than just logging it, because you have to actually SEE everything. I might have to try that.

  2. Meg B says:

    Nice work keeping the birthday cake to a slice at a time!

  3. Anna says:

    Great job! Your side dishes look so delicious.Your dinner looks exactly like something we would grilled – asparagus, corn and peppers are go-to veggies.

  4. The photo food journaling is such a great idea! I went off plan being away the weekend, so I might use this idea for my big vacation in September to keep me accountable. And great job on not over-doing the birthday cake!

  5. Marissa says:

    Happy 3.7!! šŸ™‚

  6. What a great day! And so delicious! I try to handle special occasion days in a similar fashion; exercise, eat a good, balanced breakfast; load up on veggies and check out the desserts to decide what I really want (instead of taking some of everything).

Leave a Reply

