A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

I’m trying . . .

on July 2, 2015

Today is a crazy busy day. I have a huge grant due at work on Monday. Ideally, it would have been finished on my end today. Instead, my week got derailed by a sick kid (who is thankfully getting better) and extra days at home.

Introducing him to the wonders of Chip and Dale Rescue Rangers so I could do some work - gotta do what you gotta do.

Introducing him to the wonders of Chip and Dale Rescue Rangers so I could do some work – gotta do what you gotta do.

Today, I had to take him up to the hospital for labs (he was such a tough guy!), back to preschool and then I took myself to work to frantically work for a few hours and try to incorporate a colleague’s last minute edits of the grant into my most recent draft. At 2:15, when my alarm went off to remind to leave so I could get to O’s fourth of July parade at school, I was struggling with getting the grant within the page limits thanks to the new edits. I ended up leaving late, still not done, but struggling to keep my promise to my kid.

Naturally, despite speeding across town in the rain, I showed up after the parade was over. 😦

Wasn't he a cute Captain America though?

Wasn’t he a cute Captain America though?

O seems happy that I just made the effort and not scarred by the fact that I didn’t actually watch him walk around the parking lot, but I feel like the gum on the underside of the table. This afternoon I failed both the work (because I didn’t get everything finished before I left) and the mom part of working mom.

I’m reminding myself right now that I’m trying. With all of this, every day, I’m trying. That trying at the moment looks like resisting my free birthday pastry at Panera (where I stopped to try to work for a few minutes before next appointment – thanks WiFi! – and finish up the grant) and instead, choosing hazelnut coffee and yogurt.

I only used a fraction of the granola that comes with the yogurt parfait too - bonus points for will power, right?

I only used a fraction of the granola that comes with the yogurt parfait too – bonus points for will power, right?

I’m trying and that’s good enough. Whew. I just need to say that to myself about a million more times and I’ll believe it, right?

3 responses to “I’m trying . . .

  1. It’s so hard juggling everything. All we can do is our best. Doesn’t mean that we’re happy with what we accomplish…

  2. […] be there super early for a reasonable parking place). Yeah, that never happened. Thursday was a fail on the mom and work fronts but I still managed to get in 30 minutes of walking that evening and O […]

Leave a Reply

