A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

TotR: 2015 Goals Update

on June 30, 2015

This week’s Tuesdays on the Run topic is updating our 2015 Goals and it is perfectly timed, both because we’re halfway through the year (already!?!) and because the beginning a new training cycle is the perfect time to reflect on goals so I can make adjustments. Thanks as always to Erika, Patty and April for hosting!

Tuesdays-on-the-run1

ย Looking back at my running goals for the year, I think I’m actually doing fairly well overall!

โ€“ Run a half marathon in less than 2:30. I haven’t hit this time goal yet this year in my half marathons, but am really proud of the mental effort I put forth in Lincoln despite the heat. That gives me hope with regards to the Des Moines half marathon in October. The weather will work in my favor there (training in hot weather and running when cooler as opposed to the opposite for Lincoln), as will my familiarity with the course and the miles I’m going to put in for this training cycle.
Lincoln Half Marathon Finish Line 2015

I have no recollection of a fist pump as I crossed that finish line, but I was certainly feeling it so I’m kind of entertained by this picture. ๐Ÿ™‚ What more evidence do I need of that strong finishing kick than a pic with the hem of my SparkleSkirt kicked up by my fierce stride?

โ€“ Run all of a 5K: I haven’t put this race or plan on the schedule yet because I decided to enjoy my Garmin-less break after the Lincoln Half Marathon. Since my sub-2:30 goal got moved to Des Moines, I’ll be half marathon training this summer instead of 5K training. However, I think I’ll still put a 5K on the schedule for sometime in the fall and set my mind to running it all then. I’m incorporating more sustained effort and race pace runs in this training cycle so it should work well in terms of my overall goals to have a good 5K effort sometime in September. It’s kind of amazing that as many races as I’ve run, I’ve only ever entirely RUN one 5K.

โ€“ Race 100 miles this year: This was Darrellโ€™s goal for me, which I told him I was fine with so long as he was okay with all of these race registration fees. I’m knocking this one out of the park, as you can see over on the 100 miles of races tab. I’m at 75.3 miles so far this year (with a couple of races still to add to the tab), with a 10 mile race, 5K and two half marathons still on the schedule so I’ll easily hit 100 miles.

โ€“ Build a consistent strength and flexibility regimen: With these running goals, I need to stay injury free. That means finding a way to be consistent about strength and flexibility. I’ve been much better so far this year with regular strength training and it really paid off in terms of injury free spring training. Even in the midst of my running break for May and June, I kept up the strength training, which I’m super proud of! I do need to work on the flexibility part, especially with as many miles as I’ll be running with my training plan for Des Moines.
All in all, I’m making great progress. I’ve still got the 5K and half marathon goals on the docket, which gives me something to work toward in the dog days of summer. I definitely need motivation to keep my going these days! Beyond the running goals, I’m also doing well with making peace with food and viewing it more as fuel. I just need to keep these goals in mind so I stay on track!
How are you doing with your running goals for 2015?
16 responses to “TotR: 2015 Goals Update

  1. I had never even heard of race mileage goals! I like it!

    I’d be super happy with a 2:30 HM. Heck, I’d be happy with anything less than 2:45, which is my current PR. Hoping my fall half is kind to me, too.

  2. d20girl says:

    Sounds like you’re making great progress on your goals! I’ve had a tough start to 2015 but all these posts like yours with steady progress are inspiring me to do better in the second half of the year! Thanks for linking up with us today!!

  3. Definitely great progress! 73+ race miles is awesome! I think you’re sure to hit that sub-2:30 goal this fall. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I will keep my fingers crossed that you stay injury free. That’s the biggest struggle i’m dealing with.

  5. Looks like you are doing really great with your goals! Keep up the good work!

  6. Anna says:

    Love your goals posts. Racing a 100 miles – that is awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I love your goals! You’re doing awesome!

Leave a Reply

