A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: New phone edition

on June 26, 2015

We finally bit the bullet and bought a new iPhone for me. We both hated spending the obscene amount of money to buy one before I was due for an upgrade, but mine was unresponsive to the touch screen for large periods of the day which was more than a little inconvenient! With me about to travel out of the country alone, we decided enough was enough. It’s amazing how we used to live without cell phones, without being constantly available and now we can’t imagine a twenty minute chunk of time we’re unreachable! (Or is that only me?) I wasn’t as worried about always being reachable until I had a husband and a kid and now that is suddenly a much bigger deal, especially if I’m away from them.

I'm still not used to holding this one and need a case ASAP because I keep having near misses with drops!

I’m still not used to holding this one and need a case ASAP because I keep having near misses with drops!

Naturally, with a new zippier phone, I’ve had a ton of windows open all week with things to read online while I’m waiting for the elevator, etc. Here are some of the things I read that you should check out:

After reading this post on Why Our Culture is Obsessed with Thinness, I think I’m going to add this book (Body of Truth) to my summer reading list. I don’t know where the balance lies between health and body weight, but it is definitely dangerous to assume that one is in complete control of the other. It’s an important conversation to keep having in a lot of spheres. I liked the perspective taken by the author in this article, in that she doesn’t want to tell people what to think but rather that this is something you should be thinking about. I enjoy learning about the science and history of these things (especially when there are citations where I can read the actual science!), so I may be adding to this to my pile of things to read on my flights to/from Italy next month.

For more of a laughing look at some of the issues (with some painful truth snuck in), check out this post on ScaryMommy: 5 things that piss off fat people. I will say that #4 is totally true for me – since I’ve lost weight, not one person has told me I had a pretty face or even commented on my looks at all. When I was overweight, I used to hear about my pretty face all the time or be told I could be a plus sized model (which is whole different conversation because disturbingly at size 20, I was too big to be a plus sized model). Am I less attractive thinner? Of course not. (Well, probably not)

For more laughs, read this account from Meg of what it is like to try and run with two kids in a stroller – Meg is superwoman for not giving up on this run shortly after it started!

This article from Cooking Light has some good tips on building a healthier diet but honestly, when I saw the title: How to Eat Clean in 6 Simple Steps, my first snarky thought was “it doesn’t take 6 steps to wash your produce, wash your hands and avoid foods contaminated with germs like raw dairy” but that’s just my general disdain for the “clean” terminology and the fact that I work in infectious disease. πŸ™‚ Who knows that really means anyway? Despite my teasing of the trendy title, the general tips are good for eating a healthier diet and you should definitely check it out.

Anybody have any big plans this weekend? I’ll be doing a local 5K on Sunday (where we were specifically asked to wear the race shirt – a first for me!!) and maybe trying out some of these homemade Lara Bar variations. I’m loving Larabars as a snack post-run or to have when I’m traveling, but they can be pricey so making our own might be fun. I’ll let you know how it goes!

I may also end up adding this to my weekend to do list - or at least go ahead and get the Groupon for future weekend usage. I've done it once before and it's an interesting experience!

I may also end up adding this to my weekend to do list – or at least go ahead and get the Groupon for future weekend usage. I’ve done it once before and it’s an interesting experience!

What’s the most unusual workout class you’ve ever done? Conveniently, I remember that the pole dancing place has a bar right next door to loosen up pre-workout. πŸ™‚

PS I’m sort of entertained that I’d tagged the “8 things to know about dieting” article from Spark People to recommend this week because I just love its no-nonsense, sane advice but stopped myself when I realized that I’d already included it on the Resources to Get Started Page. I’m struck by how helpful that article that is every time I read it, clearly. πŸ™‚

8 responses to “Friday Favorites: New phone edition

  1. I’m glad you got a new phone! I remember the days of not having one, and now I don’t know what I’d do without it. Funny how things change!
    I have a friend who is wanting me to take a pole dancing class with her. She says they’re so much fun and great exercise. You’ll have to let me know if you do.
    Have fun at the 5k! I’ve never worn the race tshirt during a race either- that’s just weird!

    • I’ve done it before. I was sore and bruised in really interesting places but it was fun to get out of my comfort zone. I’d definitely recommend the experience at least once. πŸ™‚

  2. I was thinking about this the other day…I saw someone who I knew lost a lot of weight. I was afraid to comment on it, because I didn’t know how it would make her feel. So I just told her she looks great.

    And on the flipside, I hate when people say to me “you’re so skinny”. No I’m not, I’m normal weight and to an athletic person, being called skinny is not a compliment.

    Perspective, right?

    • Ugh. I can see where you’d hate that. Skinny doesn’t have a great connotation. Really, can’t we just focus on the awesome things we can all do rather than how we look? That’s what should matter. πŸ™‚

  3. Hope you had a good 5K today! I definitely want to check out that first post. Thanks for the links!

  4. Yay for a new phone! I don’t take my iPhone anywhere without a case; it’s way too risky! Haha.

Leave a Reply

