A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

on June 25, 2015

It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these blogger awards and it seems like the perfect little bit of fun to distract us from the onset of the hot days of summer, right? Thanks to the lovely Deborah at TalkingtoMyWeightLossCounselor for nominating me!

Sisterhood of the world blogger awardWith this award comes an assignment: answer the questions,  and pass this award on to others, so let’s get started.

1. In one word, how would you like your readers to describe your blog? Honest

2. Which is your most favorite among your blog posts? Why?

My favorite is still my recap of the Princess Half Marathon (here and here) because every time I re-read them, I am struck again by how happy I look in those pictures and the memories of the enormity of that experience, with proving to myself that I was capable of this huge thing. I re-read it any time I’m feeling discouraged with my running.

3. What, who inspires most of your blog posts?

Oliver inspires a lot of my writing, in that I constantly have him in the back of my mind (and sometimes the front of my mind) as a motivation in maintaining my health and fitness, both so I can be there for him and so that I can be a good role model for him. In writing things here, I find myself working through mentally that I want to explain to him and teach to him so that he grows up with a healthier relationship with food and himself than I did (although I know I can’t completely control that).

I cannot believe how tall my baby is getting.

I cannot believe how tall my baby is getting.

4. What do you aspire to accomplish this year?

If I end each week, each month or even just the year feeling like I did my best to live my life in alignment with my priorities (I envision little “islands of personality” like they had in Inside Out for my marriage, my mothering, my career, my health), I will have accomplished all I need this year.

InsideOut was fantastic! O thought it was funny and I cried - Pixar is good at striking that balance.

InsideOut was fantastic! O thought it was funny and I cried – Pixar is good at striking that balance.

5. What do you aspire to learn this year?

I want to learn to make homemade pasta. I’ve had the attachment for my stand mixer for a couple of years now and never used it.

6.What is your most favorite book? Why?

That’s like asking someone who their favorite child is! Instead, I’ll say that the books I re-read the most are the Anne of Green Gables series and the David Eddings Sparhawk books (The Elenium, The Tamuli). They are definite comfort reading. 🙂 I love so many different books it’s hard to pick a favorite because they’re all my favorite in different ways.

7. What’s the most courageous thing you  have ever done?

I struggled a lot with this one because I don’t feel like I’m a person who is called on to be courageous in my life. On deeper reflection, though, I realized being courageous isn’t just facing down literal lions. My most courageous acts were A) stepping out of the car on the first date I went on when I signed up for eHarmony years ago. I’d let my social life and really all of my personal needs fall to the wayside during graduate school and had to make the commitment to myself (difficult with my combo of social anxiety and self-doubt associated with my weight) to make the effort to meet people. Getting out of the car was terrifying! That date wasn’t Darrell, but the next one was so it was totally worth it. 🙂 And B) admitting to Darrell on July 4, 2012 that it was time to do something about my weight. Opening up to him, making him throw away that birthday cake and walking in to Weight Watchers the next day to get help was its own kind of courage.

8. If you could be a superhero, what would be your superpower?

Twenty years ago (at least!) I read a fantasy novel called Spellfire and the heroine could shoot this magical fire out of her hands (and eyes and anywhere she wanted when motivated) that could burn through anything but could also be used to heal things. It was not a particularly well written book nor is Shandril a particularly strong heroine but that is the superpower that has stuck with me and frequently features in dreams I have in which I have a superpower. 🙂

Have I outed myself as enough of a geek in this post?

Have I outed myself as enough of a geek in this post?

9. Who is your female role model?

This one is tough because I have several. Right now, my biggest role models are some of my fellow professional working moms because they offer a lot the skills I need to emulate to make this particular phase of my life work, but honestly, I find role models in so many women because we all have so much to offer and to learn from each other. Except maybe the poor women in Jurassic World. We’re watching it this weekend (yay for date night!) and I’m braced for what I’ve heard are really disappointing depictions of women.

Rules of the award:

  • Thank the blogger that nominated you and post a link to their site.
  • Put the award logo on your site.
  • Answer the same questions above.
  • Nominate seven blogs.

I’m going to highlight some of the fantastic blogs from the members of my Lovely Ladies Losing It Facebook group, who I’ve raved about here before. They are a seriously wonderful, fun, supportive, wise group of women and if you don’t already read their blogs, you should!

1. Desiree Finding the Skinny Geek Within

2. Tiina One Crazy Penguin

3. Meg Running Just As Fast As She Can

4. Christina Love Yourself Healthy

5. Anna Losing My Puppy

6. Winter Ain’t No Drama Mama

7. Mary Runs to Get Waisted

What would your super power be if you could pick one? It does entertain me that spellfire has stuck with me for so long since I first read that book in high school (yikes – 20 years ago!) and haven’t read it in at least 7-8 years.

 

6 responses to “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. I love this! What a good way to get to know our fellow awesome bloggers. I have a post ready to go up today, but this will go up on Monday 🙂

    And I would totally love that superpower!

  2. This is so interesting! I love to learn more about the bloggers I follow!

  3. Loved this! I would definitely call your blog honest. I am looking forward to checking out these other blogs too. My superpower would be to fly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

