A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: An “off” week

on June 22, 2015

This week started out with travel delays and ended up with lots of poorly controlled grazing (no binges, per se, just lots of putting things in my mouth I didn’t need!) so I am looking at today as a total reset. It’s rare, but sometimes you really do look forward to Monday. πŸ™‚ Having Monday & Tuesday taken over by travel needs after our flights got delayed was a legitimate wrench in my workout plans and I consciously made the choice NOT to run Saturday and Sunday mornings so that Darrell could sleep in for Father’s Day. The problem is that it was too hot in the afternoons to run and thus, I ended up with a week where I only ran once! I wasn’t a total slug – I did get steps in Saturday and Sunday – but I admit that I didn’t work as hard as I could have to get a run in (I have a gym membership with air conditioned treadmills so I have no real excuse!). I think that lackadaisical attitude about running bled over into my eating for the weekend, where I found myself taking lots of little tastes here and there of things I don’t normally eat, like pizza or the AWESOME (and worth it) cookies I made Darrell for Father’s Day.

OMG these were awesome - recipe here

OMG these were awesome – recipe here

I think a lot of things have gone into the snacky weekend. It was a discombulated week. I’m up against a big deadline at work. I got too busy to run and running is mental reset I desperately need. Also, my weight has been 174-174.5 all week. That’s definitely at the lower end of where I’ve been living for the last 4-5 months, particularly amazing since I’ve been eating without tracking for several weeks now. I’ve got to be careful that this “success” doesn’t lead me down a slippery slope of thinking its easy. To get back on track this week, a) I made one of my go-to “reset” dinners last night – egg frittata:

Egg Frittatab) I’ve prepped for healthy dinners all week and c) I’ve put my workouts for the week on my calendar. I actually am going to go ahead and start my training plan for the Des Moines half marathon a week earlier than I’d originally planned (ie today). It’ll help me get my rear in gear and will give me a week of buffer for the time that Darrell is gone, just in case I have a hard time running then.
Workouts
Monday 45 minutes of holding a sleeping 40 lb kid has to count as a workout right? O fell asleep in my arms while I was in line waiting for American to get my flights sorted out. I was standing there forever with him sleeping on my shoulder. My arms were killed! We also got in 20-30 minutes of a walk back and forth to the playground once we got back to my friend’s house.
Tuesday Nada – just grateful to make it home!
Wednesday Nada (common theme in my week)
Thursday Finally hauled myself out onto the road to run a couple of miles – my only miles for the week!
Check  out the size of this earthworm I saw on my run! Monster!!

Check out the size of this earthworm I saw on my run! Monster!!

Friday Nada
Saturday 20 bridges and 30 minutes of walking – I thought about going out for a run during O’s nap but it was way too hot!
InsideOut was fantastic! O thought it was funny and I cried - Pixar is good at striking that balance.

InsideOut was fantastic! O thought it was funny and I cried – Pixar is good at striking that balance.

Sunday Nada again, but I did get a lot of steps in. Importantly, by evening, I felt like I had a plan for getting back on track today.

We went to an indoor play place with some rides - O and Darrell had a blast!

We went to an indoor play place with some rides – O and Darrell had a blast!

To put a positive on spin on this workout-light week, my NSV is respecting my need to rest. I’m tired. I didn’t sleep as well as I should have while O and I were in Indiana and I’m proud of myself for letting myself rest a bit this week, secure in the knowledge that I’ll get going again. This week, I’m grateful for everyone else’s good deeds. Honestly, while I’d hope I did something nice this week that I’m just not recalling in the moment, I am so struck by the many kindnesses we experienced on Monday with our travel delays. When we got to the front of the long line at American, another traveler let us go ahead of him since I had O with me, which was lovely. I confess, I bribed O with a bag of popcorn if he’d cooperate while I dealt with the guy at the flight counter (Carl at the Indianapolis American counter, you were so kind in a stressful day!). When I bought the popcorn, I mentioned to the saleslady that our flight was delayed and happily O hadn’t quite figured out yet that he wasn’t going home. She let him take another bag of popcorn on the house and asked me if I wanted any as well. πŸ™‚ Very sweet. When we got the rental car counter, they upgraded us at no charge into a car that it would be easier to install my car seat into. Truly, humanity can be really kind.

As this posts, I am hereby promising you and me that I’m out running to officially kick off my training plan. πŸ™‚ How do you reset after a weekend when things start to slide?

 

11 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: An “off” week

  1. I’m kinda resetting everything today too. After finally admitting last week that things have been spiraling out of control, I’ve made some positive steps in meal prep and already got a 30 minute walk with Ollie in this morning! Things are definitely looking up!

  2. I’m glad y’all liked Inside Out too. I need to find a way to ‘borrow’ a kid so that I can see it. πŸ™‚ I love Pixar movies too!

  3. I’m glad so many people were kind to you at the airport–those experiences can really make or break your entire experience! I’m usually able to reset by meal planning and grocery shopping for the next week, because I find that I’m more likely to make poor choices when my fridge is looking bare.

  4. Just get back on the horse. There’s nothing wrong with a little time off!

    • I think that’s part of the reason I keep registering for races – who know how long I’d stay off the horse if I didn’t have a training plan to get on periodically. πŸ™‚

  5. I think an off week every now and then–whether planned or unplanned–is a good part of our fitness cycle. Between the weather and travel, it sounds like you made the best choices for you!

    • You’re right – we need an off week sometimes. It did feel good to get back on the horse again Monday morning though. πŸ™‚

      On Wed, Jun 24, 2015 at 10:21 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

