A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

TotR: Hot Weather Running Tips

on June 9, 2015
June is the perfect time to start talking about adjusting to hot weather if you’re a Nebraska runner. Back in my native Louisiana, this conversation started in March, right? πŸ™‚ Thanks as always to April, Patty and Erika for hosting our little round up on running tips for hot weather this week.
Tuesdays-on-the-run1

We’re definitely starting to warm up here, but I think I’m finally acclimating after a rough couple of races in the heat and humidity in Lincoln and Papillion. I feel like I do okay in the heat once I get to June because a) I’ve adjusted and b) I can remember how fun it is in the fall when things cool down again and I magically get faster.

Here are my tips for running in hot weather:

1) Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate! Drink water with electrolytes before and after you run and be sure to carry water with you, even for short runs. Getting dehydrated while you run feels horrible and can get you into serious medical trouble. Be sure you’re familiar with the signs of heat exhaustion and heat stroke so that you know when to stop and seek help (see more on that here). I actually still have cracked lips from getting too hot and dried out at that 10K Sunday night!

Important to keep these nearby for warm weather runs!

Important to keep these nearby for warm weather runs!

2) Body glide! I have to be a lot more liberal with the BodyGlide in hot weather than in winter. I’m a super sweater (thus the need for hydration above) which means chafing in some interesting places in the early days of summer while I’m being reminded of all of those awkward places. πŸ™‚ ‘Tis better to err on the side of too much BodyGlide (or lubricant of choice) while you’re re-learning your personal chafing spots. If you’re not going to be able to change clothes pretty quickly after a sweaty summer run, this chafing is only going to get worse so bring extra clothes and some wipes to clean up after a run if you aren’t going home to shower/change. Technical fabric, as opposed to cotton, also helps with the sweat and chafing control.

3) Sunscreen, sunscreen, sunscreen! Boy did I screw this one up this weekend. In my defense, it was raining and literally hailing when I left my house for that 10K. When we arrived and the race started, the rain was over and the sun out in full force. My arms are SOOO brown – I’m fortunate in that I don’t burn often, but that much UV exposure still isn’t great for my skin, from a skin cancer perspective, and frankly it counteracts a lot of the money I spend on Sephora on skin care in my later thirties. I actually also have a sunscreen for my hair that I use in the summer if I’m not wearing a hat to try to preserve my hair color a bit. (Yes, I’m getting vain in my old age – don’t judge)

4) Speaking of sun exposure, wear a hat/sunglasses/visor or any combination thereof (okay, maybe not a hat and a visor) for the sun protection for your skin & eyes, as well as an extra layer of sweat absorption. That really saved me on Sunday afternoon – I had a hat on just in case it kept raining and that kept my poor face to faint pink instead of burning.

5) Take it easy! Your pace may be slower – definitely go by effort not pace in hot weather. Also be sure to allow time to warm up and cool down appropriately. I actually never get side stitches, despite all of the other aches and pains I get running, but I did on Sunday because I wasn’t warmed up at all before I took off running. Bad idea in that kind of heat!

How do you manage running in hot weather? Confession time: What’s the most awkward place you’ve chafed during summer runs?Β  I have a little scarred area on top of my left shoulder from my sports bra chafing in Lincoln, which is possibly my longest lasting evidence of chafing but the most awkward place was just under my breasts – weird and ouch!!

14 responses to “TotR: Hot Weather Running Tips

  1. Michelle Hoffman says:

    What kind of sunscreen do you use for your hair??

  2. SB says:

    I have a chaffing scar in the center of my chest, where my bra rubbed me raw during a run. I never wore that bra again and ouch is right.

  3. Heidi says:

    I usually chaf center of my chest where my bra sits and in my back where the hooks are. I know it looks goofy, but I take my shirt and tuck it under my bra in the back and that really helps prevent it (along with tons of Body Glide!!!)

  4. Meg B says:

    If it is at all possible, I tend to run in the early morning or later in the evening when it cools down a little bit. Mornings are best because I avoid direct sunlight, the sun is just starting to rise. I also swear by the hat! I have a super lightweight running hat that I barely feel and it keeps the sun out of my eyes and keeps me cool!

    As for awkward chafing…after my half marathon I realized I had chafed my buttcheeks! Seriously, who does that? Thank goodness I have kids in diapers so I have Butt Paste hahahahhaha!

  5. Run early or run late! If you can avoid the sun then running in the summer is so much easier πŸ™‚

    • It’s definitely hard when the days are so long this time of year. I started running at 5:45 this morning and it was already full daylight! Still, it’s better than trying to do it during the middle of the day, you’re right. I don’t know how people run outdoors at lunch this time of year!

      On Tue, Jun 9, 2015 at 12:19 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  6. I drink Nuun after my runs. It’s too sweet when I have a GU I eat it with. So I just bring water w my on longer runs.

    • That can definitely be a lot of sweet, you’re right! Water is a good idea for any run where you’re planning to use Gu or another gel-type product.

      On Tue, Jun 9, 2015 at 2:02 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  7. HoHo Runs says:

    I live in the south and get out there as early as I can. The back of my upper arms (the edge of the pit area) is the only thing that’s ever chafed. I don’t know why!

Leave a Reply

