A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

A Rainy June Coffee Date

on June 6, 2015

We’re having the kind of rainy, stormy morning where I just want to curl up with a cup of coffee and my new library book. Pre-toddler, that might have been what this kind of day looked like. Now, it’ll be filled with coloring and puzzles and baking. Also not a bad way to spend Saturday (other than trying to figure out how to explain why we color inside the lines – that feels too existential for a weekend pre-coffee!).

Thanks as always to Lynda, Coco and Deborah for hosting!

Thanks as always to Lynda, Coco and Deborah for hosting!

So if you were here joining me for coffee while we chatted and watched the rain outside the window, what would we talk about today?

– I’d probably ask if you wanted this pair of running shorts:

These are going to be going in the Goodwill pile I think - definitely too short for me!

These are going to be going in the Goodwill pile I think – definitely too short for me!

These are supremely unflattering on me. I took them out for my National Running Day run on Wednesday evening and found myself feeling like everything was hanging out! So self-conscious! Naturally, then, that would be the day I ran across a classmate of Oliver’s out in her front yard with her parents. I knew we lived close to them because her mother had previously mentioned seeing me run by but we never knew exactly where. Between my natural social awkwardness (I really need to be mentally prepared for social encounters with newish people) and my self-consciousness from my shorts, I did NOT want to stop so I waved to the little girl and started running again to get past them before I got caught in conversation. Hopefully it wasn’t too awkward as I literally ran away! I felt a little bad afterwards for not stopping to chat because I’m pretty sure that’s what a normal person would have done. Sigh. Of course the little girl wanted to chat about it the next day at school in that direct way of 3 year olds. 🙂

– Speaking of social awkwardness, I had to go to a work dinner last night and make small talk all night. Because I was late, I ended up sitting with a table of big wig types so there was definitely added pressure. I used both of my drink tickets, which helped, and hopefully did okay. I’m getting to be such a lame old person though – I was taking off my heels and my earrings at red lights on the way home, longing for my pajamas at 9:45 on a Friday night!

That skirt, also SUPER short! I had Darrell check to be sure I wasn't letting anything hang out that shouldn't be but he said I should show off my runner legs :)

That skirt, also SUPER short! I had Darrell check to be sure I wasn’t letting anything hang out that shouldn’t be but he said I should show off my runner legs 🙂

– Earlier this week, I mentioned that I’d gotten Amy Poehler’s Yes, Please from my library’s digital audiobook lending program (thanks to a recommendation a while back from this post on A Cup of Jo) and I am LOVING it! I cannot recommend it highly enough and this might be the first time I’ve ever listened to an audiobook and added the physical book to my shopping list. I know it’s something I’ll enjoy re-reading and a physical book is definitely the way to go for me, for books I like to read over and over. My birthday wish list in this case – next month I’ll be 37! That feels very grown up and officially late 30s, doesn’t it? 🙂 My 30s have been awesome, so I’m okay with that.

How’s your Saturday going? I’m hoping you have gorgeous weather if you had plans to play outside and rainy weather if you wanted a good excuse to laze about indoors. 🙂

 

9 responses to “A Rainy June Coffee Date

  1. After 3 or 4 days of rain it finally stopped here and was gorgeous today. Hope your day brightens up too. Thanks for stopping by for coffee today I love to write and read these posts.

  2. Coco says:

    It’s such a dilemma when you see a non-running friend when you’re out running. Do you stop in your sweaty glory or just wave and hope they didn’t notice how gross you were …. Thanks for joining the coffee date!

    • Exactly! The pressure of looming play dates with these and other friends just added to my stress. O has started asking about play dates and it’s sort of like trying to ask someone out for the first time as a teenager, in terms of overall clumsiness on our part. 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  3. I’m such a socially awkward person. I know a lot of people find that hard to believe. At work, I’m good but when I’m out with other women, I’m so out of place. Except when I’m with my running friends.

    • I’m the same way. Once I’m comfortable with you, we’re good but it is seriously hard work to “fake it” to be normal with someone new. Ah the joys of introversion 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  4. HoHo Runs says:

    I tend to shy away from social situations where I don’t know anyone. I’m comfortable around just a couple of close friends. I don’t think it is awkward that you did not stop your run to talk. If you were out on a stroll, it would be different. A wave was sufficient!

    • I was unfortunately in the midst of a walk break when I noticed them, so it may have looked like a little stroll. Hopefully since they know I’m a runner it wasn’t too weird that I ran away!

      On Sun, Jun 7, 2015 at 10:23 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

