A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

National Running Day 2015

on June 3, 2015

Today is National Running Day and a group of fantastic ladies with Sweat Pink Ambassadors (headed up by the lovely Kristen at Jonesin’ for a run) is linking up for an interview about the current state of our running.

National Running Day Interview1. Why do you run? I still remember my first run, as a 250 pound mom without a good sports bra or good shoes or any idea what I was doing. I’d decided to start running to help along my weight loss, which resulted in 100+ pounds of weight loss in a year that I’ve now maintained for almost two years. I tackled longer distances to give myself a new goal once I’d met my weight loss goal and as a way to help myself keep the weight off. I keep running because it keeps me sane, makes me respect my body in a way weight loss never did and makes me a much better role model for my son than I ever was before.

My race pics with O are always my favorite!

My race pics with O are always my favorite!

2. How do you plan to celebrate National Running Day? How else? By running 🙂 Wednesday mornings are crazy busy, but even if it is just around the block, I’ll be out there today.

3. How many miles have you run so far this year? 308.77 (I’m entertained that I got so specific in my mileage tracking, down to hundredths of a mile)

It's nice to see so many miles piling up in my year. Definitely not what my life looked like a few years ago :)

It’s nice to see so many miles piling up in my year. Definitely not what my life looked like a few years ago 🙂

4. What big events do you have on the race calendar so far this year? I’ll be making another run at a new half marathon PR in Des Moines in October and I’m also looking forward to the Wine and Dine Half Marathon in November, as my first overnight half marathon.

5. Before I leave for a run you must have: My phone, always. And my shoes. 🙂 Everything else is optional given how often I forget my Garmin, my sunscreen, my water bottle – you name it, I’ve forgotten it.

6. Do you have one favorite app to track your runs? I don’t actually use any app for my runs. I’ve tried a few but I’m more a Garmin and a pen/paper girl. I do love my running training journal though (here).

7. Who is your favorite running partner? Me, myself and I. As an introvert, running alone is key sanity saving time for me. I really need the recharge time.

8. What races have you ran so far this year? It’s been a busy year so far. I just went to check out my races for the year to see how far I am on my goal for 100 miles of races this year – I’m up to 66 miles! I’ve run 3 half marathons, two 10Ks, a 5 mile race and three 5Ks so far this year.

9. If you had to give someone one piece of advice about running what would it be? Don’t be afraid to try it, no matter how much you may feel like you “don’t look like a runner.” And don’t judge the whole run by the first 10 minutes – the first 10 minutes always suck. (Okay, that was two pieces of advice – so sue me. I’m chatty)

10.  Describe your relationship with running in one word: Centering

5 responses to “National Running Day 2015

  1. Love this! You’ve come such a long way and have so much to be proud of. Happy Running Day! I smiled to see we have the same race schedule for the fall–I’m also doing two HMs, one in October and an out-of-town one in November.

  2. […] are supremely unflattering on me. I took them out for my National Running Day run on Wednesday evening and found myself feeling like everything was hanging out! So […]

  3. […] A little awkward run for National Running Day – only about 15 minutes, but I got out there to celebrate. 🙂 And you know, more […]

  4. […] Today is Global Running Day, a day for people around the world to celebrate the joys of running. I’m linking up with Kristen at Jonesin’ for a Run for the annual running link up and reflection (and reminder to myself to get out and run today!). This is my third year celebrating Running Day and I’ve enjoyed looking back at my prior years’ reflections to see how my thoughts on running have changed (2014 and 2015). […]

Leave a Reply

