A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Favorite listens on the run

on June 2, 2015

In the Papillion Half Marathon last month, I did something new to me: listened to an audiobook while in a race. It very much fit with my goals for that particularly run: no Garmin, no time goal, just out for a good time. I generally only run with music at a race, so my run playlist definitely gets those race juices flowing and I wanted to avoid that. Going with the audiobook instead kept me in a more laid back, just out for a good time vibe. It got me thinking about things I listen to when I run and I’m curious to hear what you guys do when you run.

– I listen to a lot of entertainment podcasts when I run, including NPR’s Pop Culture Happy Hour (great discussion of movies and TV and other pop culture fun stuff), Ask Me Another (a fun word/puzzle game) and Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me (current events quiz show).  Of course, like so many others, I was also completely hooked by Serial and can’t wait to hear what they do with the next season.

In grad school, reading Entertainment Weekly on Fridays was my decompressing time. Now listening to PCH fills that void in an audio way. :)

In grad school, reading Entertainment Weekly on Fridays was my decompressing time. Now listening to PCH fills that void in an audio way. 🙂

– I weirdly also like food podcasts when I run, including Real Simple’s Things Cooks Know, the Bon Appetit Foodcast, the Alton Browncast and America’s Test Kitchen Radio.

– In the running and healthy lifestyle listening vein, I always look forward to the Another Mother Runner and WYCWYC podcasts. For Disney runners, the Mickey Miles podcast is great.

Audiobooks are fantastic too. Just looking forward to what happens next can be enough to get me out the door on tough mornings! When I’m having trouble with motivation, I save the audiobooks just for the run – no listening when I’m cooking or in the car. Finding out what happens next in The Girl on the Train got me going this morning, for instance.  🙂

I listened to the first 2.5 hours of this during the Papillion race and am looking forward to getting back to it on my next few runs.

I listened to the first 2.5 hours of this during the Papillion race and am looking forward to getting back to it on my next few runs.

– I downloaded The Girl on the Train from Audible, through Amazon. Another option is via your local library which has the perk of being FREE (or at least mine does). Mine offers digital downloads to my phone via the OverDrive app, like this new one from Amy Poehler that I’m looking forward to starting on my long run this weekend:

Gotta start this one soon since the library only gives  you two weeks!

Gotta start this one soon since the library only gives you two weeks!

– My library also has little battery powered audiobooks that are built into their own players like these, if you don’t want to go the digital route on a phone:

This little device is incredibly light and simple: just plug in your earbuds and go.

This little device is incredibly light and simple: just plug in your earbuds and go.

– Of course, on race days I’ve gotta have music to get things going most of the time. My favorites are AC/DC and Pink, with some ZZ Top and the occasional motivational Disney tune. I also include a few of the songs that Oliver and I like to dance to together, like Shake It Off and Happy, because remembering his crazy guy dancing always make me smile when I run.

I confess that the one thing I don’t listen to is myself. I can’t stand listening to the sound of my own breathing when I run for very long at all. I envy the peace people describe while running completely open to the world around them. I suspect those people don’t huff and puff like I do. 🙂

What do you like to listen to when you run?

PS Nothing sponsored or anything – just the things I like. 🙂

6 responses to “Favorite listens on the run

  1. I like to listen to podcasts too. I like Half Size Me, Stuff you didn’t learn in history class, and a few tennis podcasts. 🙂 OH also, Serial too.

    • Stuff you didn’t learn in history class sounds like my kind of podcast. 🙂 I’ll have to add that to my list!

      On Tue, Jun 2, 2015 at 7:16 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. I don’t listen to music or podcasts when I run, just because the area I live in is a bit questionable and I want to have my wits about me in case I have to karate chop a creeper. BUUUUUT I do love the Two Gomers podcast when I am sitting at home and need something to listen to, and highly recommend it. They are several seasons in, but you should start with their first season called Two Gomers Run A Half Marathon. It’s these two childhood friends who are super nerdy, and decide to run a half marathon together. They have never run in their lives, so the journey of them figuring everything out is hysterical. (Spoiler alert, they are actually pretty fit and with it now) The conversations are the super dorky/nerdy and funny types of convos we have in our Ladies group!

  3. I’m a music girl here. Today my iPhone disabled…happens once in a while….and I had to listen to myself breathe for a while. Ick.

    • My iPhone is misbehaving too. I’m trying to hold out until October when I’m due for a new one, but I’m not sure I’ll make it.

      On Tue, Jun 2, 2015 at 7:46 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

