A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Happy Memorial Day!

on May 25, 2015

I hope everyone is having a safe and happy Memorial Day! My guys are both napping, so I thought I’d take a quick minute to wrap up our week while I’m enjoying a moment of peace and quiet. 🙂 This week was light on workouts while I was recovering from the Papillion Half Marathon (although truly, my legs felt fine on Monday and I had to keep reminding myself I’d just run two half marathons in 14 days so I needed to take it easy!). True to my goals for the month, I focused on strength training this week, including the May challenge, and getting in movement wherever I could. I enjoyed this low-pressure week, fitness-wise.

Workouts

Monday 30 pushups for the May challenge, plus a workout with my 15 pound kettlebell including swings, goblet squats, one legged dead lifts, around the world and some arm lifts. I also got in a 15 minute walk around the hills on campus.

Tuesday 35 pushups and not much else

Wednesday A really easy 20 minute run Wednesday night to work off my frustration with O getting in trouble at school. I know we’re blessed with a really well behaved child, in that the occasional hitting or other bad behavior is rare enough that it catches us and his teachers off guard a bit. I have to remember that he’s three and while he knows these things are bad choices, he may not always resist in the moment. After that little run, I was able to do a much better job of remembering he’s three and remarkably good for the most part, so every little blip is not the sign of budding serious behavior problems.

My neighbors all have gorgeous peonies (not these - these are from the botanical gardens) and I keep meaning to plant some since they do so well up here!

My neighbors all have gorgeous peonies (not these – these are from the botanical gardens) and I keep meaning to plant some since they do so well up here!

Thursday 40 pushups, a 20 minute walk, and some core and leg work while I was reading bedtime stories. #wycwyc, right? O is totally used to Mommy working out while she reads, which entertains me a bit. 🙂

Friday I was supposed to 45 pushups today but got distracted and only got in 20. Oops!

Saturday 25 pushups, to finish up Friday’s assignment, plus over an hour of hiking around the botanical gardens with my guys. I was going to run, but after all of those hills, I decided to call it good for the day.

Oliver wanted us to be quiet on the woodland trail because there might be giraffes and we didn't want to startle them. :)

Oliver wanted us to be quiet on the woodland trail because there might be giraffes and we didn’t want to startle them. 🙂

Sunday I was supposed to 50 push ups, but completely forgot! I did go for 15-20 minute walk and spent a great morning puttering around with Oliver on a mommy-son date, which was lovely.

I promise I did run today, but that story is for later. 🙂 This week, I am grateful for all of those mothers who send their sons off to defend our country, knowing they may not come back. I found myself dwelling on the strength and sacrifice of those families as I ran today, looking at the flags that remind us that today is about so much more than the grill and a 3 day weekend. I have a friend with a son currently deployed in a theoretically safe-ish station, but have no idea how she can handle knowing that nowhere is truly safe and he could be moved at any time. The strength of our military members is something to be proud of, but the strength of their families astounds me at times.

We may keep this donation jar going on the counter, with a quarter for chores to be donated to the red kettle drive or somewhere else later in the year.

We may keep this donation jar going on the counter, with a quarter for chores to be donated to the red kettle drive or somewhere else later in the year.

Our good deed this week was wrapping up the food drive at Oliver’s school with the donation of all of his quarters that he’s earned this month doing chores, as well as those he took out of his piggy bank to donate. He’s really gotten into the food drive and wants me to buy extra food to bring to school every time we’re at HyVee. We’re blessed, so I’m happy to do that and I’m happy to see that he’s starting to recognize how important it is to share. My NSV this week has been the fact that this week’s part of the Lovely Ladies Losing It challenge – eat 5 servings of fruits and veggies a day – was no challenge at all for me because that’s what my diet always consists of these days. That’s a great shift from when I first started trying to lose weight and totally thanks to the fact that fruits and veggies were “free” on Weight Watchers. If I wanted to eat, I had to learn to love produce. 🙂

Hopefully the weather is more cooperative this week so I can get outside and move a bit more! It’s been too rainy to feel summery so far and I’m more than ready for that to change. Here’s hoping everyone has a good week and is enjoying their Memorial Day!

6 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Happy Memorial Day!

  1. I’m impressed with all those push ups! That’s so good for your upper body and your core strength!

  2. Push ups are so hard for me. I cannot imagine doing more than 10 at a time, let alone 40! Awesome job!

    • Thankfully the challenge lets us break them up into chunks, so I was doing 10-20 at a time, depending on the day. I definitely can go longer now without breaking form, though. Progress!

  3. Don’t forget the daughters that are sent by mothers as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

