A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Happy Memorial Day weekend!

on May 22, 2015

This week has just flown by! I can’t believe it is already Friday. This is our first week with Oliver completely back to normal, running and playing walker-free, and naturally he’s already grounded. 🙂 The end of school  year crazies hit pre-school just like a big kid school apparently. Part of his penance this weekend is going to be helping me in the garden to get things weeded and cleaned up now that we have a three day weekend. It’s supposed to rain here Sunday and Monday, so we’ll have to get busy Saturday.

It's been a crazy week with a lot of little stressors, so I decided that I'd definitely earned a glass of wine instead of my usual Diet Coke during my hair appointment yesterday.

It’s been a crazy week with a lot of little stressors, so I decided that I’d definitely earned a glass of wine instead of my usual Diet Coke during my hair appointment yesterday.

While I’ve never really used Spark People to track my food, I do love the site as a source for workout videos when I travel and for sane, rational advice on making healthy changes to your life. There’s so much trendy pseudoscience out there, it can be hard to sort out the real wisdom from the junk. A while back, I saw this round up of advice from people who’d lost 50 pounds or more with Spark People and was impressed yet again at how attainable and sustainable these ideas are. You guys know my approach – don’t do anything you can’t maintain forever and don’t discount the importance of little victories – and I was pleased to see those concepts reflected here as well. Along those same lines, Shelley is a role model for me in so ways of finally reaching that place where you can be sane and healthy about fitness and maintaining a big weight loss. Definitely go over to her page to celebrate her seven year anniversary this week! Happy anniversary Shelley and truly, truly, truly thanks so much for sharing!

In follow up to this month’s book club pick, Tales from Another Mother Runner, Wendy has a really fantastic interview with one of the authors, Dimity McDowell Davis, up this week. Dimity’s essay in the book, about her struggles with depression and how running fit into that, was one of the most gut-wrenching reads in TAMR. Reading this interview and her thoughts on the mother runner tribe that she and Sarah helped to build, her love and support for all of us comes through so strongly. I have to say, having met Sarah at an Expo in Walt Disney World, this really is genuinely who they seem to be and I love that. I love their sincere encouragement of any mother runner (or any runner at all) who wants to get out there and find a way to make a little time for themselves amidst everything else we do so that we can pound the pavement for a while. I don’t know that I would have stuck with running in those hard early days if I hadn’t known this tribe was out there.

My last “favorite read” this week is not really fitness or running related, but I did enjoy it from a “learn to love yourself” perspective (and really, if we can’t learn to love ourselves first, we’ll be miserable and unlikely to succeed with the rest of this anyway). This list of 15 things to pack on the trip to loving yourself might have a super cheesy title but I really enjoyed some of the points it raised (and loved the phrasing of:  You are not an avocado; only enjoyable when fully ready. Start loving yourself now. When I saw that line item – say no to avocados – I wondered when avocados had gone on the “bad” list). I still need to work on having the confidence to struggle, to know that bad races or days with weight gain aren’t signs of failure and rather just midpoints in a larger journey. It’s okay that hard things seem hard sometimes, right? Definitely check it out if you need a dose of cheesy inspiration to think through this weekend!

This weekend we have the Boys Town kids race and 5 mile race. If it’s raining, O won’t head out but I still will. What’s a little rain, after all?Do you have any big plans? Stay safe, especially if  you’re traveling or out on the water!

6 responses to “Friday Favorites: Happy Memorial Day weekend!

  1. Mmm, wine. And I’ll definitely be checking out some of those articles. We all need a little help with loving ourselves and I can definitely use the healthy living tips!

  2. I love avocados, so I’m with you–when did they become a bad thing? And thanks for the shout out on my interview with Dimity. What a thrill that was!

  3. I have never been on Spark People. I’m going to check it out. Thanks for the links!

Leave a Reply

