A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: A little running & a lot of rain

on May 18, 2015

It was a seriously wet week! Thank goodness I was only planning on running a couple of times to keep things loose before I was crazy enough to tackle 13.1 miles again on Sunday. I will confess, it felt really odd to go into a race weekend I hadn’t specifically trained for. I’ve never done that for anything over a 10K (although it’s a little funny to me now to realize I have run at least one 10K without specifically training for it). I kept reminding myself that the Lincoln Half Marathon, which I did train HARD for, was only two weeks ago and I should be able to still cruise on that training. I didn’t lose enough fitness in two weeks to make it totally nuts to tackle 13.1 miles. Thank goodness I was in it only for the sight seeing and the experience though. πŸ™‚

Workouts

Monday Nada but a few squats

Tuesday Two rainy miles in the morning – felt slow, but good to be moving again! Also, I did the 35 squats I had assigned for Tuesday in the Where’s the Beach May challenge (starting a week late!) plus the 25 I’d missed Monday.

It was chilly and rainy all week for my runs.

It was chilly and rainy all week for my runs.

Wednesday Nothing but lots of running around at work πŸ™‚

Thursday Two rainy miles in the morning (common theme in this week’s runs!) and yes, I forgot my squats again.

Friday 85 squats throughout the day to meet the challenge, plus some yoga so that my legs were at least a little looser before Sunday morning’s half marathon (and lots of nervously watching the weather!)

Saturday More yoga, foam rolling and a rest day from squats

Sunday 50 squats and oh yeah, a little half marathon. What was I thinking ?! Full report to come, but overall it was a good run. I would definitely do this race again. My favorite part was riding home with Oliver after the race while he serenaded me with Puff the Magic Dragon over and over while he drank my water and wore my medal. πŸ™‚

Such a lovely medal!

Such a lovely medal!

This month, the fantastic girls over at Lovely Ladies Losing are doing a series of weekly challenges and this week’s was just what I needed: drink 100 oz of water a day. I felt like I was going to float away sometimes, but it definitely got me back into that water habit instead of relying on diet sodas so much. Definite NSV. My other NSV was putting half of this banana back in the fridge instead of finishing it ThursdayΒ  morning before my run. I just didn’t really want it after I started eating it and rather than finish it because “it was good for me”, I set it aside to save for later. Yay for not finishing things I didn’t really want! Totally out of character for me. πŸ™‚

I know a banana is an odd NSV, but trust me it counts. :)

I know a banana is an odd NSV, but trust me it counts. πŸ™‚

My good deed came during race day. It was a small race and there wasn’t always a garbage can at the water stops so I made sure to hand my cup to a volunteer rather than just tossing it. Since I wasn’t pursuing a time goal, the extra few seconds didn’t hurt anything for me at all and it made the volunteers smile every time. I’m grateful that the race was small enough that Oliver & Darrell were able to wait for me right at the finish line. It was so great to see them as I was finishing! O took some hilariously bad photos for the occasion. πŸ™‚ He was so proud of himself for being in charge of the camera phone.

This week I’m planning on a couple of easy runs and the next week in the strength challenge (should probably go look up what this week’s exercise is!). Here’s hoping everyone has a good week!

2 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: A little running & a lot of rain

  1. Hasn’t the weather been awful this spring? I didn’t know you were doing another half! Great job! Now what?

    • Now a couple of months of strength training and easy running before I try for a PR again in Des Moines in October. πŸ™‚

      On Mon, May 18, 2015 at 10:52 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

