A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Race weekend again already?

on May 15, 2015

I confess, I am a little amused that I am running another half marathon this weekend “just because.” When did I become this person?  On the plus side, this will qualify me for entry level into Half Fanatics. Anybody here a member? Is it worth it?

Of course, it has rained all week and is going to rain all weekend, until a couple of hours before race time. It may be a muddy 13.1 miles!

Of course, it has rained all week and is going to rain all weekend, until a couple of hours before race time. It may be a muddy 13.1 miles!

Kristin Armstrong always has an interesting perspective on where running fits in our mental, emotional and spiritual lives. She was a contributor to the “Joy” chapter in Tales from Another Mother, with an essay that truly did make me pause to appreciate the joy in my own life. Even before looking back at the byline of this recent article on Zelle, I could tell it was her writing. In Making vs Taking Time, she makes an excellent point that by making time (which lets face it, for this working mom at least, requires concerted effort!) for running in our lives, we are giving it added meaning and emphasis. I need to remember that when I’m grumbling about hauling myself out of bed in the morning or wondering why did I pay this race fee to run 13.1 miles for the second time this month. I’m making the time for this because it is important to me. It’s important to my sense of self; it is important to my fitness and my health; it is important in the kind of role model I want to be for my son. It is important. So much of why it is important to me is reflected in this excellent post on Fellow Flowers from Mother’s Day, 8 reasons why mommy runs. Everyone one of these resonated with me, particularly the gift of loving yourself. Running has done more for my sense of self than anything I’ve ever taken on and I’m grateful for it. I’m grateful that it lets me show Oliver that we can do hard things and they’re worth it.  Definitely check out both of these if your inspiration well is running a little dry this weekend.

I really enjoyed reading all of the running hacks in this week’s Tuesdays on the Run link up. I really liked Erika’s tip about using deodorant as a replacement for body glide. I’ve done that when I was in the Disney parks but never thought about doing it to run. I’m also going to have to try April’s breathing technique (assuming I don’t pass out or fall from being distracted while I do it!). I need to go back to re-read that list of hacks to see if there were any tips for running 13.1 in the rain, just in case the forecast shifts some more here!

Have you guys had these? You totally should try them. Fantastic!

Have you guys had these? You totally should try them. Fantastic!

Last night we got a giant box of goodies from Cajun Grocer.com so that I have some good andouille sausage on hand for tonight’s dirty rice and Darrell’s traditional Father’s Day jambalaya next month. Sadly, I just cannot find sausage that is good enough here in Omaha so I have it shipped in. 🙂 Darrell is always thrilled to see that box arrive. After two late work nights in a row and back-to-back networking things last night (painfully exhausting for this introvert!), there was nothing I wanted more than a couple of these sugary bombs last night after dinner. These are great pralines and totally worth the 200 calories each. I’ll save it as a reward for finishing that half marathon this weekend. 🙂

Anybody have any big plans this weekend? We’re taking O to see the original Muppets movie at a local theater tomorrow and will otherwise just be watching rain I suspect. I hope you have a good weekend!

 

6 responses to “Friday Favorites: Race weekend again already?

  1. I’m a half fanatic! It’s fun and a good group of people, but there’s not a whole lot to it. It’s kind of one of those things where it’s what you make it.

    • If the weather gets too much worse I may skip it. 🙂 I’m all for supporting local races but not in thunderstorms. Looking at the finishing times from last year I’ll definitely be in the back of the pack!

      On Fri, May 15, 2015 at 2:14 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Sherri Odell says:

    Go for it!! Even if it rains! Just wear a baseball hat, so the water doesn’t drip in your eyes, and you’ll be good! I seriously think running in the rain is pretty awesome…and don’t worry about your finish time; just have fun, knowing what a bada$$ you are! (And yes, I’m a Half Fanatic – #11277! I like the race discounts I can get at future half-marathons, and I like the fellowship at races from other HF’s!) Good luck – you’ll do awesome!!! http://www.SherriROdell.blogspot.com

  3. I love that you’re running a half “just because”. Sometimes you just have to go! BAMR for sure!

Leave a Reply

