A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weight Loss Wednesday: #WYCWYC & Fear

on May 13, 2015

A big part of my approach to this newish healthy lifestyle of mine (is it still new at 3 years?) is making small maintainable changes. It’s all right there in the blog name right? Given that, it is no surprise that I’m a big fan of Roni and Carla’s What You Can, When You Can (#wycwyc) movement. They’ve built a great community of people supporting all of those “little” good choices we make that will add up to something bigger over time. They’ve also recently published a fantastic little book full of tips to make a healthier life, little by little.

This book is the very definition of small but mighty - It's small enough to fit in your purse and full of little tips to fit in the small changes that add up to be results!

This book is the very definition of small but mighty – It’s small enough to fit in your purse and full of little tips to fit in the small changes that add up to big results!

They host a weekly podcast and I highly recommend it. It’s like listening to your two best imaginary girlfriends talk about healthy topics in a way that makes you think “Hey, I can do that!” rather than “Ugh, It’s too much. I’ll be fat forever.” Last week’s podcast included an interesting discussion about fear and how it drives us and holds us back. It’s a conversation that stuck with me for the last week as I’ve seen the scale somewhat inexplicably stuck back at 178.5, reversing last month’s progress, even though I was really “good” over my race weekend.

– I confess that no matter how much I try to look on the bright side of maintaining my weight loss for almost two years now, there’s still this dark little corner of doubt and fear that I’ll regain it all. I try to focus on the positive and not let that fear drive my decision making (because that path leads to binge-city for me) but I have to admit that fear is still there. Every day I have under my belt is another victory and I just have to keep reminding myself of how far I’ve come.

– One of my goals this year is to build a healthier relationship with food as fuel. Early on, I definitely had fear of some foods. It’s true that some foods have greater binge-potential for me and some make me feel crappy, but I need to keep practicing making my food choices from a rational place, not a place of fear. Being afraid of food gives it more power than it deserves.

My lovely Mother's Day flowers, including the pink rose from the place we had lunch. I had a scrumptious, totally worth it, chocolate walnut pie without fear of it leading to a binge or a bad afternoon and you know what? It didn't. :) I just enjoyed every bite. And used it as motivation not to put off my run in the afternoon.

My lovely Mother’s Day flowers, including the pink rose from the place we had lunch. I had a scrumptious, totally worth it, chocolate walnut pie without fear of it leading to a binge or a bad afternoon and you know what? It didn’t. 🙂 I just enjoyed every bite. And used it as motivation not to put off my run in the afternoon.

– I confess that I have a little fear of losing running. Every time I take a break because of injury or because I’m resting after a race, a part of me worries the couch potato will take over again. I get afraid I won’t be able to start running again (because I still can’t quite believe I’m a runner) and that’ll start the slippery slide back downhill. Running has become such a big part of my healthy self identity now. I need to trust that I would just find a new way to move. After all, there are lots of ways to exercise. 🙂

Dealing with these fears is all about knowing they’re there, so I can recognize when they’re trying to drive my decision making, and taking that deep breath to re-frame things when I need it. The thing is, rationally I know all of these are ridiculous. I know better. Taking that moment to pause is a key tool in the mental toolkit to make these healthy changes stick.

What fears hang out in the quiet corners of your mind? How do you handle them?

9 responses to “Weight Loss Wednesday: #WYCWYC & Fear

  1. Carla says:

    First, thank you so much for joining us and sharing. Making yourself vulnerable.
    I am woman enough to admit 🙂 I read your final paragraph four times. I need to remind myself of that each time I grow paralyzed with regard to my fiction.

    • I have that conversation with myself countless times professionally too. 🙂 (The whole imposter syndrome thing). It’s amazing how much fears pervade our thinking and can hold us back if we aren’t careful!

  2. I’ve never heard of WYCWYC and want to check out both that book & podcasts. Thanks! My fear is that I’m going to be too complacent about being above goal weight and ultimately gain it all back. Thinking of good as fuel is a really great strategy I need to use too.

    • I have that fear too. First I was okay in the 160s and now I find myself okay in the 170s. Where does it stop? It’s so hard to balance it all. I logically know that I’m perfectly healthy now even at 10 pounds over my goal weight, but how far will I let that slide? Where’s the line between acceptance and fueling my exercise versus making excuses? I wish I knew.

  3. Anna says:

    I just bookmarked the podcast…sounds like something I could use. I love that our group is doing the little weekly challenges – certainly less intimidating. I have also noticed it spills over into other choices – just focusing on the water has be eating better too 🙂

    • It’s really a great podcast. I love our little challenge too! Little things can have big effects and I definitely like adding good things. It’s so much easier than taking away the bad things and yet usually accomplishes the same goal. 🙂

  4. […] matter. I find it too easy to let that little voice whisper in my ear about all of those fears we talked about last week. This kind of negative self-talk only gets better when we confront it and […]

  5. […] remains small and friendly and we’ve all been able to be open and supportive. My post on #wycwyc and fear was also one of my more read posts this year and looking back at it now, I find it a little […]

  6. […] read last week that mentioned the What You Can, When You Can (#wycwyc) movement. The first was from Jessica at A Little More Each Day and was the first I’d heard of #wycwyc. The idea of making little changes instead of trying […]

Leave a Reply

