A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Ahhh, Recovery weeks!

on May 11, 2015
There really isn’t much to report on the workout front from last week, as I embraced recovering from a hot and difficult Lincoln Half Marathon. In my way of thinking, the best way to recover from that race well enough to be able to run 13.1 again in two weeks (Papillion Half Marathon this weekend, May 17) was to let my legs rest as much as they wanted the first week. It was a rainy week, so my legs decided they wanted to rest a lot. 🙂

Workouts

Monday: Rest, with plenty of yoga stretches. I was sore but surprisingly not as much so as I was expecting. Really, I only felt it any time I sat for a prolonged period of time.
Tuesday: Rest again
Wednesday: 15 minutes of walking laps around Target just to feel what it was like to move again. I got some interesting looks from the Target personnel and finally one guy asking if I needed help finding something after I passed him the third time. 🙂 Whatever a mom’s got to do with daycare looming and a rainy day, right?
Thursday Rest
Friday Rest – I really felt like I could have run Thursday and Friday, from a legs perspective, but my body just did not want to haul out of bed in the morning to do it so I decided to respect my need for sleep.
Visited school for crafts and snacks and play time Friday afternoon, which was fun.

Visited school for crafts and snacks and play time Friday afternoon, which was fun.

Saturday I did the Children’s Heart Walk with O, which we’d registered for back before his broken leg (or thought we had anyway – we got there and they didn’t have any record of him!). Because he still wasn’t walking normally, I carried him for a lot of the walk. He walked occasionally and the more he walked, the easier it got. Because he’s very bling motivated, just like his mama, he wanted to walk the last little bit to the finish line because there were cheerleaders handing out medals and he definitely wanted to be part of that. 🙂 I also did some leg work on the strength training front that afternoon. My arms got lots of strength training just hauling him around! Wow were they sore on Sunday!
Of course we had to stop and pick dandelions along the way on the Heart Walk. And yes, he's wearing gloves in May. He's 3 and it wasn't worth the fight.

Of course we had to stop and pick dandelions along the way on the Heart Walk. And yes, he’s wearing gloves in May. He’s 3 and it wasn’t worth the fight.

Sunday I headed out in the rain on Mother’s Day to run because I definitely needed to finally feel the road under my feet again. I did 4.75 miles at a little below 13ish pace and it felt nice and easy. It was really humid thanks to the on-and-off rain, so I didn’t push it but it was kind of nice to know that I can run again after a week off and easily get in as many miles as I’d like. 🙂 I definitely could have gone further and faster but reminded myself that I was supposed to take it easy on the first run post-race.

Two new cookbooks for Mother's Day, along with Tales from Another Mother Runner and new griddler to replace the one I smashed accidentally. I'm spoiled!

Two new cookbooks for Mother’s Day, along with Tales from Another Mother Runner and new griddler to replace the one I smashed accidentally. I’m spoiled!

This week, I’ll run a few miles Tuesday and Thursday to loosen things up for the half marathon on Sunday. I have no time goals for that race and may run the whole thing without my Garmin, which would be a first.

My good deed for this week was hanging out on the playground at school with O and his friends after our Mother’s Day craft time on Friday, pushing kids in the swings and playing referee for taking turns. Both his teacher and his friends seemed to appreciate the extra set of hands. My NSV was when I went to the running store on Wednesday to buy a new water belt (got really tired of carrying my handheld in Lincoln!) and realizing when I got home that I never even tried it on in the store because I just assume now that “One Size Fits All” things will actually fit me. It did. That definitely did not used to be true (and thus I’ve always hated “One Size Fits All” sizing). I’m grateful that my guys worked to give me a lovely Mother’s Day, complete with installing the PS3 upstairs so I can play video games in bed, bringing me breakfast in bed, plus a big pile of gifts and flowers. I have wonderful boys. 🙂

You'd be amazed at the amount of noise they made putting together a bowl of fruit and oatmeal. :)

You’d be amazed at the amount of noise they made putting together a bowl of fruit and oatmeal. 🙂

I hope everyone had a great week! Here’s hoping I get out to run a little more this week than I made myself do last week. 🙂 Anybody else have a hard time making themselves get moving after a tough race?
4 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Ahhh, Recovery weeks!

  1. I did a half last week too and if it wasn’t for teaching at the gym I would not have done anything! I was not sore just exhausted-so I ate horribly.

    • It was interesting to pay attention how much I could eat when I wasn’t earning those extra calories through running. I was more tired than anything else too – there was just no hauling myself out of bed in the morning!

      On Mon, May 11, 2015 at 12:34 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. I purposely took a recovery week last week after my 3rd long distance race in 8 weeks. Actually, I’m in the midst of 2 weeks off. Last week felt great to take a break. Now I’m getting antsy…

    • There’s nothing quite like the feeling of a good run. 🙂 Your hiatus will be done soon and I’m sure you’ll be glad you took the break. Looking back, I realized that I’ve been going from training plan to training plan for various big races since July 2014 and for a middling runner like me, that’s a lot of work without much of a break. I’m glad I have a couple of months to just run for fun before I head back into another half marathon cycle soon.

      On Mon, May 11, 2015 at 8:42 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

