A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Race week!

on May 4, 2015

It was a good week of workouts, culminating in a hot but ultimately successful half marathon yesterday in Lincoln.

Workouts

Monday Easy 2-3 miles on the schedule and I went with 2 miles (still holding on to following the plan during taper time!)

Tuesday 2 miles, with a warm up / cool down and 5 – 1 minute speed intervals. It felt really good to do this kind of workout race week to remind myself of how far I’d come!

Wednesday Cross training, aka a stroller walk with Oliver – pushing 40 pounds of toddler around in a cast is a lot of work in my hilly neighborhood! I’m going to miss these chats each evening but not the cast. πŸ˜‰

The stroller has gotten this much of a workout in quite a while!

The stroller has gotten this much of a workout in quite a while!

Thursday 3 miles in the morning at the 3 minute/30 second intervals I was planning on using race day and I had a great progression, with each mile faster than the last. Just what I wanted to see in my last workout before the race. πŸ™‚

That's the kind of progression you like to see

That’s the kind of progression you like to see

Oliver and I went on another stroller walk in the evening as well. Dinner was already finished (thanks to the slow cooker) so I was glad to be able to spend the extra time with him. He’s becoming a very interesting conversationalist.

Friday 2-3 miles or cross training on the schedule, with the option to bail if needed and I decided to take that option to give my legs two days of rest pre-race.

Saturday Rest day! I drove to Lincoln Saturday afternoon for the Expo (surprisingly busy) and the new Avengers movie as a treat to distract myself pre-race since I was staying in Lincoln overnight and had nothing else to do that evening.

Not a very exciting shirt (and not half marathon specific) but at least the colors are good.

Not a very exciting shirt (and not half marathon specific) but at least the colors are good.

Sunday I slept surprisingly well and woke up to an already warmishΒ  morning, so I knew that they were right to warn us all about the heat. It got very warm after mile 10 or so, so I reminded myself over and over that this is why I’d set my A goal based on effort not time. I’ll talk more about the race tomorrow, but I am really happy with my mental effort on this race! Yes, no PR thanks to the heat, but I did not give up when things started getting warm and people started dropping around me at mile 10. I kept plugging along, finishing with my intervals steady even if the running got slower and even a bit of kick to cross the finish line! Finish time 2:35:55, so not either my B or C time goals, but a win nonetheless given the conditions!

Glad I didn't go with capris liked I'd originally planned - this was definitely a day for shorter options.

Glad I didn’t go with capris liked I’d originally planned – this was definitely a day for shorter options.

I was also really pleased with this weekend on the food front. I ate when I was hungry, but didn’t let myself fall into that “it’s okay because I’m running a half marathon” trap of over-indulging. I focused on healthy foods for fuel and recovery and feel like it was really successful all around. I even got one of those big cups of grapes at HyVee, which I used to eat all of in the two miles between my house and HyVee, and portioned it out over several different snack sessions! Definite NSV.

This is a sight previously unseen in our house.

This is a sight previously unseen in our house.

I’m grateful for my husband, who does not understand why one would run 13.1 miles at all, much less pay for the privilege, but still sends me messages like this when I finish a race:

I know I've said this before, but I married really well. :)

I know I’ve said this before, but I married really well. πŸ™‚

My good deed this week is working with Oliver for a school food drive. It’s hard to explain to an almost 4-year-old the idea that there are people who experience hunger on a level he never will and that as people who are blessed with a lot, we have a responsibility to help others. He’s earning quarters with chores around the house to donate to the school change drive for the food bank and volunteered to go through his piggy bank himself to pull out all of the quarters he already has to add to the donation as well.

A family good deed this week: Sorting O's piggy bank for quarters to give to the school food drive. I'm proud that this was O's idea!

A family good deed this week: Sorting O’s piggy bank for quarters to give to the school food drive. I’m proud that this was O’s idea!

This week, I’m going to take a well earned break from running. I’m glad there were no witnesses to see how hobbled I looked when I tried to get out of the car after the drive back after the half marathon yesterday. πŸ™‚ My legs definitely worked hard in that race. Maybe by Wednesday or Thursday I’ll be ready to cross train a bit beyond some yoga and I’ll plan to run 5-6 miles this weekend to shake things out. I’m looking forward to a week of rest and some time to contemplate next steps and next goals for running in the next month or two.

Have a good week everyone!

 

8 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Race week!

  1. Great week indeed! Great job with the race too. .Yea, the humidity has definitely found its way down here also!

  2. Great job on the race. Yes it was hot!!!

    • I had the same issue it sounds like you guys did – this is the first warm run we’ve had so we just weren’t acclimated yet! That’s why I like fall races. You train in hotter weather for a hopefully cool and lovely race day. πŸ™‚

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  3. way to go!! sounds like you had a wonderful week!

  4. That text from your husband is seriously the cutest thing. Congrats on the race!

Leave a Reply

