A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Ultimate Coffee Date: Mother’s Day Wish List

on May 2, 2015

I’m probably a little too amped up already, looking forward to tomorrow’s Lincoln Half Marathon, but we all know I can’t start my day without coffee so you might as well join me. 🙂 Really, my ideal weekend morning includes far too many cups of coffee and enough lounging around time to really enjoy them.

Thanks as always to Lynda, Coco and Deborah for hosting!

Thanks as always to Lynda, Coco and Deborah for hosting!

When I’m excited and nervous about something like I am this race, I tend to talk a lot. Today, in addition to the race, I’m pretty sure these are the things I’d ramble about if you were here with me:

– Can you believe we’re only a week out from Mother’s Day? In case my husband is reading this, a quick little Mother’s Day wish list for me:

  • Some new scented lotion (LOVE a good body cream!)
  • Flowers that Oliver picks out (he has great taste!)
  • New running socks (because a mother runner has needs)
  • Tales from Another Mother Runner (because one of those needs is mother runner laughs)

– My ideal Mother’s Day might look a lot like last Saturday did at our house. I got to go out for a breakfast date with Oliver, which meant endless coffee refills and the kind of random chatter only a three year old dining partner can provide. Then we hit the library to get some new books for O and pick up one I’d requested, Oh! You Pretty Things by Shanna Mahin. It ended up being a really quick and easy read: I was actually able to finish the whole thing Saturday while we lazed around the house! I’d definitely recommend it if you want something interesting but not heavy at all. There really isn’t much surprising or complicated about the plot, but the conversations and interpersonal dynamics are interesting and things zip along really quickly. I even got out for a run during nap time that day. Like I said, perfect day!

I sort of love that there's a new Nancy Drew book about a CSA program and confess that I've got this on my Goodreads "to read" list. I read a lot of serious stuff for my job! I love the light stuff in my off time.

I sort of love that there’s a new Nancy Drew book about a CSA program and confess that I’ve got this on my Goodreads “to read” list. I read a lot of serious stuff for my job! I love the light stuff in my off time.

– I also recently won this book on making Mom friends (Women are Scary) in an online giveaway and it made me laugh a bit to get the email telling me I’d won it. 🙂 It’s like they knew I was totally socially incompetent and a little paralyzed at the idea of approaching other moms. Before Oliver broke his leg, we were actually strategizing setting up our first playdate. It was like gearing up to ask someone out on a date for the first time!

I'll let you know how this one is once I finish it.

I’ll let you know how this one is once I finish it.

– Speaking of things that stress me out, I have to bring something to O’s school next week for Teacher Appreciation Week and their potluck. For some reason, this always stresses me out even though I know I’m an EXCELLENT cook. Any ideas for good potluck recipes that are good at cold or room temperature?

– Speaking of O’s broken leg, we go on Tuesday to cut off the cast and repeat x-rays. Cross your crossables that things are healing well and we’re done with this thing! He’s already lost a couple of pounds and his leg is getting so thin that I can see a big gap at the top of the cast. It’s going to take a while to get things back to normal once the cast is off, but we’re all ready to get that process started! I just hope everything has healed well.

I should probably cut off the coffee now so that I can get to sleep tonight. 🙂 How are you doing? What do you want to chat about today? Any big plans for May? Let me know and enjoy your beverage of choice this lovely May morning, wherever you may be!

 

 

 

10 responses to “Ultimate Coffee Date: Mother’s Day Wish List

  1. HoHo Runs says:

    Good luck at the Lincoln Half. I also drink too many cups of coffee, especially on weekend. I hope Oliver’s leg has healed nicely. I know he will be excited to have his cast off.

  2. Good luck tomorrow!

    women are scary!!! I too am socially awkward with meeting new people. I always just sit back and watch and often times this comes off as being snobby or stuck up but really I am just surveying to see where I can fit in. #womenarescary

  3. I hope you get Tales from Another Mother Runner so you can link up for my book club this month! Selfish of me, I know…

    I could probably have written a book titled Women Are Scary. Really. Story of my life…

  4. I hope you get your wishes on Mother’s Day! Good luck with the race tomorrow. Thanks for meeting up for coffee today always love these posts.

  5. Coco says:

    Good luck tomorrow! I hope your son’s leg has healed. Kids recover quickly. I haven’t heard of that book but I did enjoy MWF Seeking BFF which sounds similar but without the mom theme. Thanks for having coffee with us!

Leave a Reply

