A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Almost done training!

on April 13, 2015

I’m happy to say that we’ve survived week one with a cast. Unfortunately, I celebrated by breaking our glass cooktop:

It hadn't even crossed my mind to take a picture of this for you guys until Darrell pointed out that I should.

It hadn’t even crossed my mind to take a picture of this for you guys until Darrell pointed out that I should.

I hate that thing but I didn’t mean to kill it. A pot lid fell onto it at just the wrong angle. Sigh. Darrell has placed a moratorium on breaking things, with Oliver’s leg last weekend and the stove this weekend. Thankfully, my meal plan for this week involved mostly oven and slow cooker things. We should get the new piece in sometime this week and can hopefully replace it ourselves next weekend.

Other than that little accident, we had a pretty good week. I’m grateful that no body got hurt other than the stove and that Oliver has adjusted well to his cast and to being back at school. My good deed this week was contributing to the Boy Scout food drive and helping one of O’s friends (whose Mom couldn’t make it to the cookie decorating/parent show & tell at school) with her cookie on Friday afternoon. My NSV is stopping at one Dorito after the broken stove incident. ๐Ÿ™‚

I love how meticulous the three year olds were about the color of their sprinkles.

I love how meticulous the three year olds were about the color of their sprinkles.

Workouts

Monday Easy 2-3 on the schedule and I ended up with 2.75 at 11:43 pace. My second half was faster than the first because I found myself consciously thinking about my glutes working when I was running. I had weirdly sore glutes after but definitely felt like I was picking my legs up much faster!

Tuesday Easy 3-4 on the schedule – I got in 3 miles before Darrell had to go to work. I stayed home with Oliver during the day and it definitely helped my patience level in dealing with cranky toddler newly adjusting to the cast (not to mention a sleepy mom) to have gotten a run done early. My pace was 12:10, which was reasonable considering how sore I was from sleeping on the floor in O’s room!

Wednesday Cross training on the schedule. I was so tired that my hands were literally shaking when I tried to eat dinner, so all I got done was a fifteen minute walk plus strength training with my new heavier kettlebell. Thank goodness Darrell took on bedtime so I finally got some sleep Wednesday night!

Thursday Speed work on the schedule. I was still tired, but wanted to get it done. For time I ended up cutting the warm up and cool down short (common theme in my speed work, right?) but I got in 8 intervals. The first was 6 mph which was way too easy. After that, I eked them up to 6.5 and up to 6.8 mph. In the intervals, it felt tough just because I was still so tired and my legs were sore from the strength training Wednesday, but afterwards, my legs didn’t feel nearly as tired as they should have. When I got home, I checked and this was slower than my last speed work. I should definitely check those paces before I head for speed work so I can continue to work my way up!

Friday Easy 2-3 miles on the schedule. 2.12 miles at 11:25 pace, with a push up hill at the end.

I'll be glad when we finish all of the sidewalks in our neighborhood.

I’ll be glad when we finish all of the sidewalks in our neighborhood.

Saturday Originally 9-10 miles with the last mile as a strong finish, but since I’m on call next weekend I decided to go ahead and do next weekend’s long run (11-13 miles) while I had more time this weekend. If call gets busy and the run next weekend gets screwed up, I decided I’d rather have gotten the longer miles in. This run went SO well. For the most part, I didn’t think much about my pace and just ran how I felt. The first 5 miles, I was at my goal race pace without thinking about it! I ran a new route that had some steep hills in the second half and I let myself walk a lot more of those than I would in a race situation.

I ended up running up the hill a couple of miles to the junior high track and ran a couple of laps there as part of the run.

I ended up running up the hill a couple of miles to the junior high track and ran a couple of laps there as part of the run.

For the last mile plus of the run (from 10.6 until I stopped at 11.87), I ran with walk breaks only to cross the road, like my usual “strong finish.” My legs were tired (and sore at the beginning of the run from the heavier kettlebell still) but I was able to get it done! I’m so proud of myself for the progress I’ve made with mental toughness and sticking it out at the end of runs. My overall pace was 11:46/mile, which is not far off of goal pace. I’m excited to have gotten that close to my goal pace on a run where I wasn’t thinking about pacing for the majority of it. That bodes well for the race with a taper, race day motivation and concentrated pacing, right?

Post run recovery: watching Home in a theater with recliner seats with Oliver :)

Post run recovery: watching Home in a theater with recliner seats with Oliver ๐Ÿ™‚

I made sure to do some yoga and use the Stick on my legs Saturday night, which helped tremendously.

Sunday Rest day, but I got in a little extra movement by doing my grocery shopping in the order it was written. It takes a little longer, but it’s a great way to add extra steps to my day! I also got in my second strength training session of the week.

Next week, I’m on call all week which means any runs have the potential for significant interruption. I’m still going to try to get most of them in. I confess I’m really intimidated not by the remaining long run (that 9-10 miles with last mile strong finish) but by the two consecutive tempo miles that are scheduled for Tuesday. Wish me luck!

Hope you guys have a good week!

6 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Almost done training!

  1. Great week of training! At my last job, I used to take call. I hated it. Sometimes I’d call the answering service to hold my calls until I was done with my long run. Priorities.

  2. Wow wonderful week indeed even with all the chaos going on!

  3. Hopefully the hardest week of adjustment with Oliver’s leg is behind you too and it will be smooth sailing from here no out.

Leave a Reply

