A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Tuesdays on the Run: Time Management & Training

on April 7, 2015

This week’s Tuesdays on the Run topic is time management and training, which is appropriate given the little monkey wrench Oliver’s accident just threw into our normal daily flow. Thanks to Erika, Patty and April for hosting, as always!

Tuesdays-on-the-run1

Back in the fall, in the midst of training for the Des Moines Half Marathon, I did a “Day in the life” post that went through a fairly typical day for me. Looking back at it now, it’s funny to see how many of the “bones” of that time management strategy are still in play now, even if my day looked different in some key ways (ie I woke up on the floor of Oliver’s room this morning because the only way he’ll sleep with the cast is if I’m in there with him).

Plan ahead! Every weekend, I look ahead at the week’s runs and my schedule for the week. We keep a weekly calendar in the pantry that we use for meal planning and to keep track of big events for the week. Any of my runs that impact family time (usually those requiring the treadmill, which means gym time, and my long runs) go onto the weekly calendar so we all know that we’ll be working around them. We also use this planning ahead time to decide what evening my husband will go to the gym. With all of this in sight, I can make a better plan for daycare drop off/pick up and meal planning.

Darrell always asks when my long run is and how long these days, so we keep it posted on the wall each week to plan around.

Darrell always asks when my long run is and how long these days, so we keep it posted on the wall each week to plan around.

Take advantage of help where you can find it. For me, that means my wonderful husband, who is very supportive of my running, my gotta-have-it slow cooker and my every-other-week cleaning service. I felt a little guilty having someone come clean my house when I went back to work after my maternity leave but a) it was surprisingly less money than I expected and b) I reminded myself that what I’m really buying is time to spend on more important things, like my family.

If you can get your workout done in the early morning, it really is easier. Man, do I hate it sometimes when the alarm clock goes off super early, but I have to admit that it makes it a lot easier to get training done for the week if I’m getting at least half of the workouts done while the rest of the house is asleep.

Early mornings mean coffee as a first step and today, I used one of my other time management tools at the same time: setting up the slow cooker for dinner. I love that I had my run done before 7:30 this morning.

Early mornings mean coffee as a first step and today, I used one of my other time management tools at the same time: setting up the slow cooker for dinner. I love that I had my run and dinner done before 7:30 this morning.

Figure out which workouts are the priority and which ones you can let slide if you need to. In general, you probably shouldn’t skip the long run or the speed work, right? It also probably isn’t the end of the world if you sometimes miss an easy 2-3 miler. This depends on your training plan, of course. I love that the Another Mother Runner plans I’ve used lately specify which workouts are “must do” and which ones can slide if life gets crazy. We have to be realistic – things happen.

Things like broken legs :) You should see how well he's getting around with the walker now!

Things like broken legs 🙂 You should see how well he’s getting around with the walker now!

Remind yourself that the training is time you’re gifting yourself with and that you deserve it. One of the questions I got on my “day in the life” post was where the time for “me” was in my day. I try to view my runs as “me” time so I’m “double dipping” (or triple dipping really) in terms of benefits to me from the time I’m working out. First and foremost, I’m investing in my health and that makes me better at everything else I need to do. Second, I’m investing in my sanity by allowing myself this “me” time. Third, I’m training for a race and the cool medal and all of that other jazz. Perspective is huge for me!

How do you balance training with all of the other responsibilities life throws at you? Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

14 responses to “Tuesdays on the Run: Time Management & Training

  1. With my crazy work schedule it is not always easy to stick to my running. I try to fit it in whenever I can. Even if it means getting up way early for a run. I feel so much better afterwards.

  2. Great tips! I do the same – make sure I’m well-planned one week at a time. Getting runs out of the way first thing in the morning is great! I can only do that on the weekend because I work at 6 am.

    • Ugh. A 6 am workday would definitely mean no early morning workouts for me too. 5 am is the earliest I’m going to wake up to run barring some catastrophe (I do remember on 4:45 ish wake up for a long run for some reason – painful!).

  3. Yup. If I don’t get it done first thing in the morning, it’s really hard to make it happen later! Great post. And what a sweet pic of your little guy with the broken leg! I love that he can use the walker instead of crutches – looks much more comfortable to use!

  4. d20girl says:

    Love these tips! Putting those long runs on the family calendar is a great idea. I’m definitely an early morning runner too. Thanks for linking up with us today!

  5. Great tips! Especially getting up and getting it done in the morning. It’s really the best thing to do!

    • As much as it hurts to haul out of bed some mornings, I’m always grateful that I got my workout done first thing!

      On Tue, Apr 7, 2015 at 8:14 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  6. Didi Marie says:

    Sanity saver indeed- I applaud young moms who carve out the time to be healthier in every way. They’re raising healthier kids too!

  7. […] a conflict in my priorities. I’ve written more about that kind of scheduling and detailing here and here if you want to read more about what that really looks like for me. There are lots of […]

Leave a Reply

