A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Wow what a weekend

on April 6, 2015

Wow what a week. It was uneventful to start with but got a little crazy once Oliver had a freak little accident on Saturday morning and broke his leg. 😦

Easter didn't look quite the way we imagined it would.

Easter didn’t look quite the way we imagined it would.

Let’s start right off the bat with my gratitude, my NSV and my good deed for this week because they’re all wrapped in this little episode. I’m so grateful that I have a healthy child because as frustrating as it is to deal with the logistics of this cast, I know this is a short term problem for us and there are so many families out there with special needs children so much more complicated than this. I’m also grateful he’s such a tough guy and has handled this fairly well. 🙂 He told the ER he got his toughness from his mother. With the stress of the ER visit, worry about my baby and worry about the logistics of dealing with this cast for the next few weeks, my NSV is definitely the lack of binge eating this weekend. I’m exhausted because I’ve been up with him at 4:45 for the last two mornings and unable to get to sleep again afterwards (although I could thankfully get him down) and stress and fatigue are definitely good binge triggers, but I want to get out to walk or run more than I want to eat. That’s huge progress. My good deed is looking up the training director for the orthopedics resident who did Oliver’s casting so I could email him and let him what a great job his trainee did (I copied the resident too). All too often we focus on giving negative feedback when things don’t go well, but it’s important to reward the good things too.

Today is going to be filled with a visit to physical therapy to teach O how to use a walker and a visit to daycare to make a plan for O to return to school. I’m so glad he’ll get to go back! I was worried they wouldn’t be able to accommodate him and as much as that would be inconvenient for us, I’m more worried about O missing out on the educational and social time.

Workouts

Monday I did an easy 2 mile jog in 24 minutes (Easy 2-3 on schedule)

Tuesday I switched the schedule a bit because I had a hair appointment Thursday evening and did my tempo run. I was nervous about this because I’ve never done two tempo miles before and wasn’t sure I could get it done. I was crunched for time, so I shorted the warm up/recovery/cool down a bit, but nailed my two tempo miles at 10:09 pace each! I did a half mile warm up, the first tempo mile (which felt pretty good), a quarter mile walk to recover and then my second tempo mile (which was tough, but I gutted it out!) and then another quarter mile to recover. All together 3 miles and it was such a huge mental boost to know I could hold on for that second tempo mile!

I love that Darrell & I get to hang out together at the gym sometimes. While he toiled away on the elliptical this week, I was on the treadmill next to him, hanging tough to finish two tempo miles. I did a great job reminding my brain that my legs knew what they were doing!

I love that Darrell & I get to hang out together at the gym sometimes. While he toiled away on the elliptical this week, I was on the treadmill next to him, hanging tough to finish two tempo miles. I did a great job reminding my brain that my legs knew what they were doing!

Wednesday Cross training with a 30 minute walk for National Walking Day

Thursday Easy 4-6 miles on the schedule (switched from Tuesday). I woke up early to get in an easy 4.3 miles that felt really nice. I also did my body weight strength routine (push ups, squats, lunges, single leg bridges, etc).

Friday Cross training or an easy 2-3 miles: I planned to wake up early and run, but when I did my left ankle that I tweaked a few weeks ago was sore so I decided to skip the run and walk instead. I got in a 30 minute walk on campus and another 15 minutes to meet my husband for happy hour. I parked at daycare and walked up the hill to the shopping center with the wine bar we were meeting at for happy hour. I wonder what daycare thought when they saw me parking & walking away?

It was a gorgeous chilly day for a walk at least. :)

It was a gorgeous chilly day for a walk at least. 🙂

Saturday Oliver had his accident at 8 am and we spent the morning in the ER. When he was getting ready to go down for his nap, I headed out for run with more than a little angst as I talked about here Saturday. The run itself went really well. After reading about workouts for mental toughness this week, instead of doing just an easy 6-8 like the schedule called for, I decided to do 6 miles with the middle 2 miles at my planned race intervals (3 minute run/30 second walk). When I was crossing a street, I missed one of my run intervals but was otherwise really pleased with my pace (11 minutes for the first one, 11:24 for the second with the street crossing) and how maintainable it felt. I think those will definitely be used on race day (which is only a few weeks away!).

It's so much more fun to run with the signs of spring all around.

It’s so much more fun to run with the signs of spring all around.

Sunday Wow did this end up being a really sedentary rest day! When you’re entertaining a 3 year old in a new cast, you sit a lot. He was afraid to leave the house for some reason. We’re working on that. We sat around a lot to watch movies and play games. I did get in some strength training with weights and some yoga while we were sitting around, so it was better than nothing. I felt more than a little stir crazy!

I think this week’s workouts will be okay for the most part with O’s injury. I’m grateful for such a great husband so we can share this load. Send us good thoughts for toddler healing & parental patience this week!

Here’s hoping you guys all have a safe & happy week!

 

4 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Wow what a weekend

  1. Way to keep positive through a rough ordeal. Speaks very well of you 🙂

  2. Oh no. That is so sad for Oliver but he looks like a trooper! That is so nice that you left positive feedback. You are right that people are quick to leave negative feedback and when something goes well they don’t give praise!

Leave a Reply

