A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Mental training!

on April 3, 2015

With the realization that I have only a few (relatively speaking) training runs left before it is time toe the line for the Lincoln Half Marathon and a new PR, I’ve been reading a lot about mental training and motivation this week. First up is this post from Kristin Armstrong over on Zelle about finding your motivation to run and run well. She’s right – joy is absolutely the best and more rewarding reason to run. I can remember once hearing a tip that you should smile when you’re running to make the run feel easier. I know that my most “fun” races have been my Disney races and I think this may be because I smile so much on those runs. Let’s be sure to translate that to non-Disney running too!

Runner’s World has a really interesting series of running workouts to help with mental toughness here. I think I may actually make tomorrow’s run, only 6-8 miles, one of these workouts, with 2 miles warm up, 3 miles at race target pace and 2 miles cool down. I need to let myself know what that sustained pace feels like on the road. I’ll let you know how it goes! I also liked the more mental, meditative tips in this article on Four Ways to Build Mental Toughness. A lot of those things, like focusing on breathing and positive mental imagery, would be useful for stress relief in my daily life so I should try to work that practice in daily as well. I know when I’ve made myself take a deep breath and settle down a bit when I’m running, it does a world of good. I should be more proactive about that rather than waiting until I am in dire straits.

I love that Darrell & I get to hang out together at the gym sometimes. While he toiled away on the elliptical this week, I was on the treadmill next to him, hanging tough to finish two tempo miles. I did a great job reminding my brain that my legs knew what they were doing!

I love that Darrell & I get to hang out together at the gym sometimes. While he toiled away on the elliptical this week, I was on the treadmill next to him, hanging tough to finish two tempo miles. I did a great job reminding my brain that my legs knew what they were doing!

I’ve also added Meb for Mortals to my reading list, thanks to Pam’s review of the book over at We Run Disney that mentioned the discussion of mental training being particularly good in the book. I’ll let you guys know how I like it (and thanks to Pam for the recommendation!)

And now, for a laugh, two posts from the Oatmeal this week that are absolutely and totally true reflections of my life: Greeting people and Coffee. I particularly liked the bit about the bran muffin + coffee + traffic – a little TMI, but probably good advice. I’m sort of tempted to buy the book about coffee. 🙂

Another laugh: I got very confused as to when the Greeks got pet dinosaurs when I was reading this story to O this week. Turns out it's a story about how the turtle got its shell and that "dinosaur" is just a super cute little naked turtle. :) O thought I'd lost my mind.

Another laugh: I got very confused as to when the Greeks got pet dinosaurs when I was reading this story to O this week. Turns out it’s a story about how the turtle got its shell and that “dinosaur” is just a super cute little naked turtle. 🙂 O thought I’d lost my mind.

I hope everybody has a wonderful Good Friday and a safe and happy weekend!

6 responses to “Friday Favorites: Mental training!

  1. mkadens1 says:

    Totally agree: the mental part of running is so important. I love Kristin Armstrong. All the best with the rest of your training! Meb’s book is on my to read list as well.

    • I have Kristin Armstrong’s mile markers book on my to-read list as well. I need another vacation so I can catch up on all of this reading. 🙂

      On Fri, Apr 3, 2015 at 8:08 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Last summer I worked as hard on my mental toughness as I did on my marathon prep. Wrote a lot of blog posts about it too! It’s always a work in progress for me.

  3. […] as I talked about here Saturday. The run itself went really well. After reading about workouts for mental toughness this week, instead of doing just an easy 6-8 like the schedule called for, I decided to do 6 miles […]

  4. […] and that requires a lot of mental work. I’ve done lots of reading about mental training (like here) and have also done regular workouts targeting my mental oomph. This morning I totally rocked a 2 […]

Leave a Reply

