A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

April goals & looking back on a pretty good March

on April 2, 2015
It feels like I just made my March goals and here we are looking at April. I confess I particularly enjoy making goals for the last month before a race, because I know they’re going to be targeted at having a great run on race day and I know that motivation will not be in short supply.

Before we get to April, let’s take a second to look back at March. Overall, I’d say I got a solid B+ on my March goals, which is pretty great!

Bump up strength training to include two workouts a week, one of which with weights: I did this almost every week! My success with this goal is all thanks to the power of a goal and box to check off each week, because otherwise I would have skipped it frequently. Before I start my next half marathon training cycle, I’d like to work on getting back in the gym for some more serious strength training.

Yoga once a week: I haven’t been great about a truly dedicated yoga session each week, but I have really stepped up the mini-yoga stretches and holds during the day all week. I’m reading a book, Happy Go Yoga right now, and loving the whole approach of fitting in what you can when you can (you guys all know about #wycwyc, right? Check it out if you don’t!). Even in mini doses, I think it is helping my legs to feel pretty good despite the miles.

Happy-Go-Yoga (sometimes Yoga-a-Go-Go in my mind), a great little book with a review coming soon!

Happy-Go-Yoga (sometimes Yoga-a-Go-Go in my mind), a great little book with a review coming soon!

Finish one book this month: Swim lessons have helped with this! 30 minutes a week where all I can do is sit there while O bobs back and forth with his teacher, so naturally I’ve been reading more. I’ve finished a light little romance novel and a mystery and remembered how much I love reading! Of course, it has interfered with my sleep as I have a bad habit of staying up too late to read. It’s funny to me see that already in O, who can’t really read yet at 3.5 and yet stays up an hour after bedtime talking his way through a giant stack of books in his bed with his flashlight. So cute. πŸ™‚

Foam roll after speed work and long runs: Yeah, just nope. Haven’t done it. Need to this month!

I really need to get better about doing this regularly!

I really need to get better about doing this regularly!

Run a 10K and 5K for fun, with no time goal: Done, and was pleased with my mental effort on both fronts. Check them out: Leprechaun Chase 10K and Diva Dash 5K.

Eat more protein than carbohydrates on non-run days: Like I talked about here, I’ve done some looking at my food from a nutrition perspective as much as a calorie perspective and realized I was eating a ton of carbs, so I’ve worked on upping the protein. This hasn’t really resulted in me feeling “full longer” like protein-y meals are reported to do, but at least the little nutrition graph on MyFitnessPal looks a little more appropriately balanced these days.

So what are my goals for April?

I want to finish my runs with mental strength: My biggest goal for the Lincoln Half Marathon in four weeks is to finish feeling like I didn’t mentally give up at the end. More so than my time in races, this mental block thing is what gets me down about my performance. So far this training cycle, I feel like I’ve done a good job of pushing it to finish my workouts strong. I want to keep that up for these few weeks of runs and practice the “You can do hard things” mentality.

Practice my race strategy with fuel and intervals: I have two 10+ mile runs left and I want to run them both with my race strategy in play, from fueling to hydration to intervals. Lincoln is Nebraska flat, which means not really flat at all but at least not super hilly. There’s a climb at the beginning from miles 2 to 5-ish, so I’m going to need a good plan in place to keep from getting thrown off right at the beginning of the race. These last two long runs are a good chance to practice those intervals and the mental exercise of sticking with them so that I can conserve myself for the whole race.

Stay safe: That means hill work and speed work on the treadmill, since I know doing those workouts on the street has thrown me off before. That means foam rolling and yoga. That means wearing my arch-supportive flipflops instead of wandering barefoot so I don’t aggravate my plantar fasciitis. That means watching where I’m going so I don’t fall like the klutz I am.

Focus on quality fuel for my last few weeks of training and the race more so than the scale. I’m going to continue to weigh in, but it’s especially important that I focus on quality nutrition if I’m going to optimize my race performance on May 2.

Get 8 hours of sleep a night. That means going to bed at 9 pm if I’m getting up at 5 to run. That means no more staying up late to read or doodle on the iPad. Really, that probably means moving the iPad out of the bedroom. Since I’m apparently incapable of sleeping in or napping, I’m going to have to learn to go to bed early.

As a totally fun, non-racing goal, I’m also going to plan my garden. We’re thinking watermelon (O’s request), spaghetti squash, zucchini, tomatoes, kale, bell pepper and spinach this year, in addition to our usual herbs. Oh, and carrots. O also wants carrots.

What are you goals for April? Anybody warm enough yet to put their garden in? We can’t until May with our weather (Mother’s Day traditionally), but it’s fun to start mapping things out now.

6 responses to “April goals & looking back on a pretty good March

  1. Looks like you had a great April! As for foam rolling, I always say I’m going to do it, and I NEVER do! I think I have once in my life. I’ve heard it works wonders!
    Unfortunately I don’t have room for a garden at my house. I would love to someday though!

    • I always get very motivated to plan and plant our garden, but thankfully my husband follows through with the watering and harvesting. I’d never get around to it if it were left to me! I get so excited to put one in (after years in apartments where I couldn’t!) but then get too busy to really take care of it. πŸ™‚

      On Thu, Apr 2, 2015 at 2:10 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Sound like great goals to me! I’ve been planting some things here and there, but mostly I’m doing flowers this year!

    • I love when all of the flowers pop up! I’ll bet yours are lovely with all of the moisture you guys get up in the northwest. πŸ™‚

      On Thu, Apr 2, 2015 at 3:19 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  3. […] with the cast unless Mommy is on the floor next to him to help him move around (so much for that goal for this month). We are definitely going to do some remedial sleep training after this is over. I’m already […]

  4. […] Before we get to May’s goals, a quick look back at April: […]

Leave a Reply

