A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: 4 weeks to go!

on March 30, 2015

I love how quickly spring “springs” upon us. It’s hard to believe my May half marathon, which seemed so far away when training started back in chilly January, is now only a little over 4 weeks away. I only have two 10+ mile runs left – crazy!! This week was pretty good – I got all of the runs done as prescribed and other than one miserable heavy legged run on Thursday, they all felt pretty good without any pain or other new issues. I do need to get better with the foam rolling though I want to keep things feeling good for the next month!

You can always tell spring is coming when everything becomes this technicolor pastel array of pinks and purples and yellows.

You can always tell spring is coming when everything becomes this technicolor pastel array of pinks and purples and yellows.

Workouts

Monday 3 easy miles on the schedule and the first mile was truly easy. The next two? Not so much. I went out to run after dinner and at about 1.25 miles, my stomach expressed it dismay at my pre-run dinner. πŸ™‚ I’ll definitely have to practice food for night time runs before Wine & Dine in November.

Tuesday Hill workout on the treadmill – I wanted to play this a little bit by ear because I didn’t want to aggravate my Achilles, but I ended up doing the workout as planned. 15 minutes of a warm up jog, followed by 8 – 1 minute intervals at 4-5.5% incline and 5-5.5 mph. I walked for a minute between each interval to recover and did a little 10 minute cool down jog. I only felt a twinge in my ankle during the 5.5% incline, so I only did one of those.

Wednesday Cross-training: 45 minute walk

Thursday Easy 3-5 miles on the schedule and I had the worst 3 miles on the treadmill (39 minutes). My legs just felt so heavy and my feet were bricks. I don’t know what the problem was, but I know bad runs just happen sometimes.

Friday 2-3 easy miles or cross training: I had a very redementive (is that a word?) 2 mile run Friday morning, with only a 0.05 minute walk break in the middle. I needed that truly easy run to remind me why I do this. πŸ™‚ As a bonus, I did a 10 minute walk on Friday afternoon through the neighborhood by O’s preschool rather than just standing around waiting for the spring bonnet parade to start. Yay for extra movement! I also did lunges, squats, calf lifts, bridges and clamshell

I'm super proud of myself for walking while I read my phone waiting for the parade, instead of just standing around reading my phone. :) Thankfully it's a protected path so I didn't have to watch for cars and could read Facebook while I walked.

I’m super proud of myself for walking while I read my phone waiting for the parade, instead of just standing around reading my phone. πŸ™‚ Thankfully it’s a protected path so I didn’t have to watch for cars and could read Facebook while I walked.

Saturday 10-12 miles, with the last mile as a strong finish: This was a really nice afternoon to run and everything felt pretty good. I wore a new pair of Ghost 7s to get a few miles on them before the race and ended up just below 12 minute mile pace for the whole thing, which was a pleasant surprise as I wasn’t really pushing anything. For the last 1.1 miles (I ended up at 10.5 miles at my house and decided that was a good stopping point), I ran with walk breaks only when I crossed the street. Even better, I know I could have pushed harder with the pace and could have tacked on a few miles. A good place to be a month out from the race! I did some gentle yoga as soon I got done to stretch things out.

Sunday I got in a few easy little bursts of activity, like a walk to the duck pond and cleaning out the garden, but mostly enjoyed my rest day. I did get my weights for the week in with my trusty kettlebell – thank goodness I set that as a goal for the month or I’d put it off more than I already do!

This week, I’m grateful that Oliver has finally gotten big enough to really be helpful around the house. He helped me clean out the fridge and actually did a good job scrubbing his parts! Isn’t that why we have kids? For the help with housework? πŸ™‚ My good deed for the week is also O-related, in that I apparently get to be the arbiter of “special treats” for O’s preschool now, thanks to my position on the food board, and so I gave the okay for Rice Krispy treats for an after-parade treat instead of the usual healthier snacks. My NSV for this week is the observation that my squishy belly is definitely getting smaller and less squishy, no matter what the scale says. I really wish I could be better about taking body measurements so I’d have a concrete measurement for that, but now I’m pleased with just the overall impression of improvement.

It’s hard to believe I only have four weeks of training runs ahead of me! I’d better make them count, right? Here’s hoping everyone has a great week!

PS Check out Christine’s post today over at We Run Disney about sharing training plans. I absolutely, 100% agree with her! I’m not a running coach or trainer or anything like that, so I’d never tell anyone else how to train, but at the same time, I think sharing how I’m training might be helpful for someone else who is trying to figure out how to make their own training plan work in their lives. I know I always enjoy seeing how other people make their workouts fit, whether its on a track or a treadmill or an actual hill or how they pace/practice fueling/whatever. Definitely go check that out today!

4 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: 4 weeks to go!

  1. Anna says:

    Sounds like a great week of workouts. As eager as I always am for spring it always catches me by surprise. Seriously, are those daffodils blooming already??

    • We always get perfectly timed tulips for Easter here, which is kind of nice. When I lived down south, it was a little disturbing to already see flowers blooming in early March or even late February!

      On Mon, Mar 30, 2015 at 3:12 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. I’ve had a few people ask for my marathon training plan, which my coach customized for me. I don’t know how comfortable I’d feel about sharing that. But my half marathons are a different story, since my training is kind of a hybrid of my thing and my coach’s thing…

    • I could definitely see limiting it to what is publicly available, both because that really is specific to you and because the coach deserves credit for all of their work.

      On Mon, Mar 30, 2015 at 8:07 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

