A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Randomness!

on March 27, 2015

There’s no better word for this collection of Friday Favorites than random but they are a random bunch of things that made me smile and made me pause to think this week. Also random but less smile inducing – the snow we got yesterday evening. You’d think I’d be used to snow on my tulips but it still catches me off guard.

My tulips are peeking out!

My tulips are peeking out!

We have to kick off this week with absolutely everyone’s favorite thing on the internet (or at least everyone on my Facebook feed): this story of the police officer and boy helping his mom across the finish line of her first 10K. It truly doesn’t matter where you finish a race, even if you’re dead last, because you got out there and tried something big and scary. As Emmie says here, stories like this should make us celebrate the people in our lives who have shown up with us and the times we ourselves have taken that first scary step of showing up.

I’m also excited for Laura over at Project Lovely Laura, who is not only finding her running mojo again but also got featured on her local news. Check it out here!

Next month, I have a road trip coming up with Oliver and I know from experience that there are several little towns we’ll travel through with only McDonald’s for food options. I usually pack our lunches for this trip (see my road trip tips here) but it’s always good to think about a back up plan. My go-to for emergency McDonald’s stops is the 4 piece chicken nuggets kids meal (the small one, not the “mighty meal”) which, a little depressingly, is more nutritionally appropriate for a 175 pound mom than my 40 pound son. I was a little relieved to see my usual kids meal on this list of McDonald’s recommendations from 10 nutritionists on CNN this week.

Speaking of nutrition, check out my crazy kid's chickpea pizza this week. He insisted on putting lots of "banzo" beans on his pizza and loved it.

Speaking of nutrition, check out my crazy kid’s chickpea pizza this week. He insisted on putting lots of “banzo” beans on his pizza (as well as on the side) and loved it.

(Gear change for which I am too tired to think of a transition): I know that as a busy mom, I struggle with guilt about the “selfishness” of training for races and the time it takes away from my family. No matter that it’s frequently time my family is asleep, either before they’re awake or during naps on the weekend, that nagging sense of “I could be doing more for them” is still there far too often. I think we have to remind ourselves, as Angela does so wonderfully over at Marathons and Motivation this week, that taking care of ourselves is actually an important part of taking care of our families too. Seeing us tackle new challenges and pay attention to our bodies in a healthy way teaches them crucial lessons that our children will carry with them. Beyond our children, it even helps to serve as a good role model to your partner and to your neighbors and anyone else who is watching (like Raven did at our 5K this weekend – Go Raven!). It’s always okay to be a little selfish sometimes, of course, but don’t kid yourself – taking the time to exercise and train is not a purely selfish pursuit. It really is doing good for more people than you realize. It’s hard to juggle exercise with work and family (like T-rex runner discusses here in Womens Running this week), but it’s worth it in the long run.

Speaking of struggles, a lot of us struggle with knowing exactly what our weight should be. BMI has some serious flaws (see TMI on BMI here), so it can be hard to know what is a healthy weight for you. Katie over at Runs for Cookies talked recently about an interesting blog comment she got that had her thinking about what her healthy really is. I think the commenter had a good point, in that our bodies find a happy point in ways that are sometimes beyond our control. The fact that we don’t want to lose the ten pounds of re-gained weight as much as we wanted to lose 100 pounds in the first place also plays into things. It was an interesting comment and good discussion from Katie as well. I love when blogging becomes a conversation! It’s so great to hear other perspectives on our struggles. Definitely check it out.

To round out this completely random collection of favorites, I have to share this post from Chris, Desiree’s husband over at Finding the Skinny Geek Within. Not only do I love when we get hear from a blogger’s partner, but I’d actually just pointed out this home-sous-vide device to my husband earlier this week when I saw it in the Sur la table catalog! (Explained it to Darrell as “that water circulator thing they use on Iron Chef”). It’s definitely going on my birthday list now, thanks to Chris’s review!

Apologies for being all over the place this week – it’s been that kind of week. 🙂 Here’s hoping you all have a good weekend! Wish us luck with the weather – O has a “Spring Bonnet Parade” this afternoon and snow would be a real downer for all of those bunny ears and tulip hats.

6 responses to “Friday Favorites: Randomness!

  1. Thanks for the shout out! Chris made is pork chops last night and that’s my favorite so far I think. They were delicious!

    • I can see where pork chops would do particularly well, given how easily they dry out with other cooking methods. That thing is definitely going on my birthday wish list!

      On Fri, Mar 27, 2015 at 9:27 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Anna says:

    Can’t wait for all the spring flowers. The daffodils always take me by surprise. I love that you included links to other blogs. It is fun to find new reads 🙂

    • There’s so much awesome stuff on the internet. 🙂 I tend to leave things open on my phone that I think others might be interested in so that I can share them on Fridays. Some weeks, there is a huge random assortment of open Safari windows on my phone and it can be hard to narrow down which ones to include here!

  3. I feel your pain about the snow! We woke up to a dusting here and our collective reaction was not a pretty one. 🙂 It had melted almost completely by the time I dropped off my oldest at school, but it was still annoying. Can’t wait to see pictures of those tulips when they pop up! I’ve got my eye on my lilac bush and I think I saw some green buds yesterday! I loved that story about the woman crossing the finish line with the help of her son and the officer, it brought a tear to my eye because it reminded me of all the people who have physically and virtually helped me finish races and that is the best part of the running community to me. I loved Angela’s reminder, too, about the importance of taking time for yourself! It’s easy to get caught up in the guilt, but it is so important to take that time for yourself. I find it really does make me a better, wife, mother, friends, employee, etc! And I love that it teaches our children so many things: the importance of exercise and setting goals but also seeing the challenges of running and pushing through those challenges. Thank you, too, for the shout out! 🙂 Doing the news story was a bit outside my comfort zone, but it was a great experience and I loved being able to share a bit about how running has changed my life! Hope you have a great weekend!

    • I think a lot of us in the Midwest got that unpleasant little late snow last week. Grrr. I’m looking forward to Mother’s Day, when I can usually put plants outside that came in over the winter and starting putting new things in the ground!

Leave a Reply

