A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Body image edition

on March 20, 2015

Apparently after reading and thinking about Honey, Do You Need a Ride last week (book review here), I was left with body image on my mind because a lot of the things I flagged this week were about how we see ourselves. Self-image can be the hardest thing to wrangle for any of us, but especially those of us that are trying to lose weight or have lost weight or are trying to get stronger. This post from Suzi made me laugh and made me smile because I remember the little things I’ve noticed about my body on this journey, like the day I noticed my clavicles. And the day I fell in the toilet and understood why women get upset when the toilet seat is up (more about that here). Noticing the little changes in your body is so crucial to help keep things in perspective – it’s about more than the scale. It’s about this whole body we’ve got to carry us through life and practicing self-appreciation is a crucial skill that’s rarely taught in weight loss programs.

I also really liked Laura’s follow up post about handling our negative voices and this post from Joanna Novak on Zelle about changing the chant in our heads. That inner monologue can be so disheartening and yet we’d never speak that way about one of our friends. In particular, Laura’s advice about broadening the scope of how we think of ourselves was particularly striking to me. When we get in these negative thought spirals, it’s never because we’re looking at the entirety of ourselves and it is bad. It is usually because we’re fixated on a single aspect of ourselves and we are so much more complicated than that. We need to continue to practice changing that inner voice to one that is more affirming than assaulting.

On a different note, this week was registration for the Wine and Dine Half Marathon. Happily, I’d registered earlier this month thanks to our DVC membership so I wasn’t in that mad scramble. The race sold out in under an hour, which is a little mind boggling but not nearly as mind boggling as some of the reactions I saw on Facebook. People got really bent out of shape about not getting in. I understand the stress of trying to get because you want Coast to Coast or because you plan family vacations around it. I booked my Star Wars race through a travel provider largely to avoid the worry that I wouldn’t get in and would therefore screw up my chances of Coast to Coast this year. We’re planning family vacation around Wine and Dine and so I was worried about getting in (but had a back up plan of regular registration day or a charity provider if I didn’t get in on DVC day). I really really love Patty’s post about all of the chaos, particularly the reminder that this is an event we do for fun. If stress over RunDisney registration isn’t a first world problem, I don’t know what would be. I acknowledge that I say that from the position of someone who got registered fairly easily, but honestly I would have been disappointed but otherwise shrugged it off if I hadn’t. I’d just vacation without getting up in the middle of the night to run 13 miles and really, that’s not a bad thing. Here’s hoping it settles down soon (and that Disney doesn’t go to a lottery – I’m with Patty; that would suck).

I forgot I had pics stored in here of meeting Ree at a book signing a couple of years ago. :)

I forgot I had pics stored in here of meeting Ree at a book signing a couple of years ago. 🙂

Lastly, while I don’t normally include the Pioneer Woman on my Friday Favorites lists (although I do love Ree), I really enjoyed her post this week about finding motivation in the outdoors when she’s out exercising. This week, with my enforced walking instead of running, I’ve been really focusing on my environment as a way to distract myself from the desire to run and it’s been amazing to see the grass starting to come in over the last few days and my tulips start to peek their little heads out. I love watching how things change outdoors in spring and that communion with nature is absolutely the best part of exercising outdoors, for me (and apparently for Ree too – we share more than a love of chocolate it seems).

6 responses to “Friday Favorites: Body image edition

  1. Thanks for the share- I’m so glad it spoke to you! Have a great weekend!!

  2. Body image is such a hard thing. I think it’s truly the thing that takes longest to change out of everything.

  3. Great thoughts on body image. I’ve never been overweight, but I have struggled over the years with body image. Finally, at 52, I’m really happy with my body. It’s strong and it does some pretty awesome things. Now I have wrinkles and that doesn’t make me happy, tho…

    • I miss my fat filling out my wrinkles sometimes. 🙂 I got a whole new set of wrinkles in the weirdest places when I lost weight! Ah well, better to be healthy and spend a little more money on skin care, right? 🙂 Have a good weekend!

      On Fri, Mar 20, 2015 at 2:34 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

