A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap Up: A minor ache throws a kink in the works

on March 16, 2015

This week, I hit almost every workout exactly the way I intended (with the except of skipping one strength training session). Unfortunately, I’ve also experienced worsening pain in my left ankle that’s been hanging around since the Leprechaun Chase 10K. I think the hills and uneven terrain just tweaked things a bit. Fortunately, the pain is mild at this point and there’s no pain when I touch the Achilles tendon itself, both good signs. However, by the end of last week, I was feeling the ache even when I wasn’t running so I think this week will call for a lighter schedule. The training plan doesn’t call for any hill or speed work this week, so I’m going to walk the miles for the weekday workouts and focus on some calf/ankle strengthening exercises. If things are feeling better by the end of week, I should be able to pick up the long run again at an easy pace. Other than the ankle pain and the missed strength session, last week’s workouts went really well.

Workouts

Monday An easy 2.4 miles around my neighborhood in the evening. I may not have been able to drag myself out of bed early in this first week of daylight savings time, but at least I got the runs done at night!

Tuesday Speed work and for once I didn’t skip any of the warm up / cool down or recovery to save time! I did a 10 minute warm up jog on the treadmill, followed by 1 minute intervals with 2 minutes recovery between. I did the first two intervals at 6.8 mph, the second two at 6.9 and the final two at 7 mph (and had to resist the urge to grab onto the rails by the end of that last one!). Next speed workout, I’ll start with 6.9 or 7 and keep working my way up. I ended with a 10 minute cool down for a total of 2.9 miles. My ankle ached occasionally during the run, but I didn’t notice anything afterwards.

Wednesday This was a crazy busy day (thus no weekly weigh in post, but my weight was unchanged this week at 178.6. I got in a 20 minute walk that night for at least a little cross training.

Thursday I went out for an easy night run of 2.1 miles (2-3 on the schedule) and started to notice a little ache in my ankle that night even after the run.

Friday I only had 1-3 miles on the schedule, so I hauled myself out of bed to run early this one morning this week. The run got cut short at 1.3 miles because my ankle ache crept up from a 1-2 to a 2-3 during the run and stayed that way all day.

Saturday My ankle felt a little better, so I planned to keep it very easy for today’s long run and stay on the shorter end of the plan’s range (8-9 miles). I did 8 hilly miles, with the last mile at sub-12 minute pace without conscious effort – definitely a good sign. The ache was there throughout but didn’t get any worse when I was running, which was good. Unfortunately, it didn’t get any better afterwards either which is when I looked at the training plan and decided I needed to take this week a little lighter if I wanted to avoid aggravating this further.

O requested hibachi for dinner Saturday night ("you know, Mama, the place with the fire and we don't touch it and they frow the shrimp") so I am fully expecting a gain on Tuesday's weigh in from all of the soy sauce still in my system!

O requested hibachi for dinner Saturday night (“you know, Mama, the place with the fire and we don’t touch it and they frow the shrimp”) so I am fully expecting a gain on Tuesday’s weigh in from all of the soy sauce still in my system!

Sunday Some body weight exercises, including single-leg step ups, some eccentric calf strengthening, clam shells, bridges, push ups and planks. I also got in a 20 minute walk over to the grocery store to buy milk.

Other than the super salty food this weekend (seriously thinking about moving my weigh in to get further away from the weekend from a salt perspective more than a calorie perspective!), my food choices have been pretty good this week. My NSV is definitely eating only half of my piece of pie on Pi Day Saturday. Back in the old days, I could never leave Triple Berry Pie just sitting there.  🙂

Absolutely delicious pie - my favorite fruit pie!

Absolutely delicious pie – my favorite fruit pie!

I’m grateful for my gorgeous $10 grocery store flowers that have lasted for two weeks now and are still going strong. My good deed for the week was convincing O to go feed the ducks and geese with me at the pond  yesterday. I know stale Hawaiian rolls are maybe not the best food choice for the water fowl, but it made them happy – especially the ducks since we preferentially threw out bread to them instead of the pushy greedy geese that normally steal it all from them!

There were several different gorgeous varieties of ducks out.

There were several different gorgeous varieties of ducks out. And some very loud geese.

All in all, a good week and I’m sure a week of walking will help my sore ankle without derailing my half marathon training. I used to love going for walks so maybe this week will help me recapture that a bit. I hope you guys all have a good week!

 

 

8 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: A minor ache throws a kink in the works

  1. Great week and hope the tweaky ankle gets better!

  2. Meg B says:

    Boo to the ankle. Hope it feels better! And nice work on your pie resisting skills!

  3. I sure hope that ankle calms down! I tweaked mine today coming out of a handstand…ouchie!

  4. Kristin says:

    Ouchy, hope your ankle gets better!! Also, fabulous workout and love your act of kindness!! Very sweet! Have a fabulous week! XOXO

    • It’s already feeling better with just a couple of days of rest, so I’m sure it’ll be better by the weekend. Thanks!

      On Mon, Mar 16, 2015 at 5:51 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

