A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Ultimate Coffee Date: Spring is springing!

on March 7, 2015

Today, the weather is nice enough to have our coffee date out on the deck in the sun. Blissful! I have no doubt we’d spend the first chunk of coffee date giddy over the weather change. Spring always makes people a little loopy about the weather. πŸ™‚

If we were having coffee today . . .

We’d talk about the run I’m doing this afternoon, the Leprechaun Chase. My training plan calls for an 8-9 mile run this weekend and a 10K next weekend. I could just switch them, as the Leprechaun Chase is a 10K, but I’m not planning on really racing it because of the terrain (some cross country, some gravel, some trail). I think I’ll just haul myself out for two miles sometime this morning and call it good for 8-9 miles after the 10K. Apparently there are lots of costumes at this run and the premise is kind of cute. Girls get a 5 minute head start and the boys then chase. Whoever wins (a guy/girl) gets their entire sex free beer at the finish. πŸ™‚

We’d talk about how excited I already am about doing Wine and Dine in November! I got in this week through Disney Vacation Club early registration, so I’m registered for the half marathon Saturday night and the Jingle Jungle 5K Saturday morning. Oliver is registered for his first Disney kid’s race Saturday morning too. It’s going to be a busy day! Oliver is already looking forward to getting his medal. I’ve heard such great things about this race!

Thankfully November is a time away - training for a 5K in the morning and half marathon that night might take some thought.

Thankfully November is a time away – training for a 5K in the morning and half marathon that night might take some thought.

We’d talk about how much I love this YSL Volupte Tint in Oil. It’s a luscious peach color, smells YUM and is seriously moisturizing for my dry lips.

It really leaves a nice long lasting softness and the color lasted longer than I expected too.

It really leaves a nice long lasting softness and the color lasted longer than I expected too.

I’d ask about your experience starting kindergarten with your child. Oliver has a birthday just past the kindergarten entry cutoff, so we’ll have to get him tested to get him in around the time he turns 5 instead of around the time he turns 6. It feels like such a big decision and a little overwhelming that the principal wants to meet with us already when O is only 3.5!

I’d definitely ask about your spring plans. Festivals, races, gardens, vacations? I love all of the little festivals we start to have here when the weather warms up and the race packet for today’s 10K included flyers for lots of local races that tempted me. πŸ™‚

Here’s hoping you have a real coffee date this morning to start the weekend off right!

The Ultimate Coffee Date

Thanks to Lynda and crew for hosting as always.

8 responses to “Ultimate Coffee Date: Spring is springing!

  1. Wow so jealous that you are drinking your coffee outside. Our deck is piled up with snow! Your baby is kindergarden age and mine is 18 next week. So crazy how fast it goes. Thanks for linking up with us today for the coffee date-I love catching up with everyone!

    • We’re sure to get at least one or two more snows here in Nebraska, so we’re soaking this up while we’ve got it! Hope you get a thaw soon!

      On Sat, Mar 7, 2015 at 8:56 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Sounds like you have some great races lined up! The Wine & Dine is a night race and a super hard time for me! The race starts when I usually go to bed! LOL! Have a great weekend!

  3. Coco says:

    I haven’t done any Disney races, but I hear they are great events! Like Deb, my kids are at the other end of their school days, but the trend seems to be starting kids “late” vs. early. Good luck!

    • That definitely seems to be the current trend and there’s no real research to support any of it. Some days parenting feels like a never ending series of huge decisions and I have to remind myself in the long run it probably won’t matter. πŸ™‚

  4. Good luck on your 10K! I love the concept…hope the ladies get their free beer! I love the spring. I’m looking forward to hitting the beer gardens and learning to play softball!

Leave a Reply

