A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

“Believe” Training Journal: I love a new book to play with :)

on March 3, 2015
*Welcome to anybody stopping by after Katie’s blog post! If you haven’t seen it, go check out Katie’s 100th Motivational Monday, including advice and inspiration from several of her readers (including yours truly) who have lost 100 pounds or more.
You guys know I love books in any and all of their forms. As much as I love my phone, I find tracking my workouts with pen and paper in a book far more emotionally satisfying most days (although I admit that the handwritten logs won’t do the math of paces and distance totals for me). Last year, I used The Complete Runner’s Day-by-Day Log (link just so you can see what it looks like – no perks for me). It worked reasonably well and I intended to use it again this year, but when I went to Barnes and Noble to pick it up, I got lured in by the lush red cover of this new option:
The cover and pages just feel so lovely!

The cover and pages just feel so lovely!

I couldn’t resist that red cover and so I picked up the Believe Training Journal, from Lauren Fleshman and Roisin McGettigan-Dumas. This may have been a relatively impulse buy, but the more I play with this book, the more I love it!
Undated pages a nice perk!

Undated pages a nice perk!

 The beginning of the book includes lots of extras, like examples of how to use the book (that page above is a sample page – those definitely are not my paces!). I loved that the book isn’t dated, so you pick it up and start using it in the middle of March if you wanted.
I also really liked that before the training log pages start, there are pages asking you to set goals for the year, articulate WHY you set those goals and list the STEPS you’ll take to reach them. That really helped me shape my running goals for the year and I like that I always have them to look back at.
I know I could just search for the blog page where I have these, but it's nice to keep them right alongside my runs too.

I know I could just search for the blog page where I have these, but it’s nice to keep them right alongside my runs too.

Beyond the blank pages, there is a lot of advice from Lauren and Ro, who know a little something about running and setting goals, as well as workout tips sprinkled throughout the book. There are also periodic check in pages, with specific questions or just blank space to write, at various intervals throughout. I’ve actually come to a couple of check in this week, which is perfect because I feel like it is time to seriously look at my training so far and the training to come, to get me to a sub-2:30 half on May 2nd. There are even articles on things beyond running, like Body Image.

I feel like I need to re-read these tips every week, seriously.

I feel like I need to re-read these tips every week, seriously.

With every week’s entries, there is a prompt at the top that varies each week and encourages you to think about your obstacles or specific goals are for the week. My favorite is the “no matter what I’ll be satisfied with” entry because it reminds me that I don’t always have to do it perfectly. 🙂

All in all, I’m loving it. It makes the book lover in me happy (it even has a built in bookmark!) and gives the runner in me lots of tips and information. How do you keep track of your workouts?

 PS I also LOVE April’s idea of using the homework tracker app to wrangle workouts – check it out here!
3 responses to ““Believe” Training Journal: I love a new book to play with :)

  1. Kristin says:

    Love your training journal!! Absolutely fab-u-lous!!! I use a training journal as well, but eeeek, I LOVE yours!!! Will check it out!! XOXO

  2. […] 6. Do you have one favorite app to track your runs? I don’t actually use any app for my runs. I’ve tried a few but I’m more a Garmin and a pen/paper girl. I do love my running training journal though (here). […]

Leave a Reply

