A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap Up: Two months until race day!

on March 2, 2015

It’s amazing to think that the Lincoln Half Marathon is only two months away. With this week’s long run occurring through snowfall, it’s hard imagine that warm spring weather is just around the corner! Hopefully these cold miles will pay off on race day!

Monday Rest day, since I didn’t get last week’s long run done until Sunday and I’m trying to avoid over doing it. Fortunately, this week’s prescribed easy 2-3 miler was the “Bail if you have to” option on the training plan, so I didn’t feel like I was cheating to rest instead.

Tuesday Easy 3-5 miles on the training plan and I was planning on 4-5 miles. This run started great and I felt like I was flying along for the first 1.5 miles and then WHOMP my belly rebelled. Turns out that the lovely bean-filled stew we had for dinner was healthy and tasty and a HORRIBLE choice for food 30 minutes before a run. Lesson learned and I headed back home at around 3.5 miles, finishing at 12:07/mile pace.

By the way, my weigh in Tuesday morning was up 0.2 from last week – not bad given the weekend of eating at conferences I had in Memphis!

Wednesday Cross-training: 35 minutes walking

Thursday Tempo run on the schedule and I wanted to run it a little faster than my last tempo mile. I hit the gym because I feel like the treadmill keeps me a little more honest about paces for speed work. I was running late, so I cut the warm up and cool down parts of the workout short (0.38 miles warm up instead of the 1-2 prescribed; 0.77 miles cool down instead of 1-2) but I got the 1 mile tempo done at 10:09! It felt so good to know that I could do that and hold that pace for so long. With more dedicated speedy work like that, I can definitely hit my goal paces for Lincoln!

Friday Cross training or 3 miles on the schedule and I ended up with a 30 minute walk between the weather and work. Still, proud of myself for not skipping it all together! I wish it was as easy to run around my house for 30 minutes like it is to walk, but for some reason, it never works out very well. I need to bite the bullet and get a treadmill.

Saturday 7-8 miles long run on the schedule and I was running in snow the whole time! The last mile (I ended up at 7.8) was slippery and uphill but otherwise it wasn’t bad. It’s always nice and quiet in the snow and you feel like a special kind of bada$$ mother runner šŸ™‚ Even more exciting for me is that I felt like I was moving so much slower than I could be, just because of the super duper cold and watching for slippery spots. I thought I was at 13-14 minute pace and was pleasantly surprised to see that I was closer to 12:15 for the most part. I ended up walking a lot of the last mile because it was uphill and consistently slick, so I ended up with a final pace of 12:30, which is still on target for my goal race pace below 11:30. Very promising all around.

It didn't accumulate much, despite being in in the teens and snowing the whole hour plus I was out there, thanks to the wind blowing it around into little drifts.

It didn’t accumulate much, despite being in in the teens and snowing the whole hour plus I was out there, thanks to the wind blowing it around into little drifts.

Sunday Yoga and strength training (including the kettlebell), plus some daydreaming about garden planning now that it is officially March.

Speaking of strength training, I feel like it is really helping in terms of my left hip. I realized that the sort of constant ache and tightness I’ve had there for the last several months is much better and I rarely even feel that twinge when I run now. That’s definitely motivation to keep the strength training going!

This week, I’m grateful for a mini-date night with my hubby. šŸ™‚ Our usual babysitter came to stay with O for a couple of hours Saturday night and we headed out to dinner at a new-to-us gastropub followed by dessert at a local cupcake shop. It was nice to miss the work of dinner and bedtime, but still get home in time for bed at a reasonable hour.

My good deed this week was standing up to my mother (in a small way) on an issue that we morally disagree on. It’s so hard for me to disagree with my parents on things, being a well behaved little Southern girl, and I usually just let things go. Lately I’ve been thinking more and more on the fact that all takes for evil in the world to triumph is for good people to do nothing. Particularly, I’ve been thinking about the fact that now I’ve got Oliver watching what we say and do and do I really want him to think these things are okay or that we just let injustice stand because it’s an awkward conversation to have? No, no I don’t and so this week, I stood up a bit. Note that my mother is generally lovely and in no way evil – just something we disagree on. In a weird way, that also feels like my NSV of the week because I’m developing a truer sense of confidence in myself now that I’ve taken control of my health. I can do all of kinds of things and it really is kind of awesome.

They’re teasing us with warmer weather on the Weather Channel app this week, so I’m looking forward to at least a nice long run this week in fewer layers of clothing. Here’s hoping your workouts were all good this week and that March is bringing warmer weather for all of us!

4 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: Two months until race day!

  1. Great week and I’d totally say that counts for a NSV for sure!

    • It was a weird to explain, but it does feel good to have a better sense of confidence in general. šŸ™‚ Have a good week!

      On Mon, Mar 2, 2015 at 7:20 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Kristin says:

    I LOVE that you stood up to your mother. Way to go! I also love that you’re feeling more confident. So amazing!! Way to workout, too!! You’re fabulous! XOXO

    • My mother is lovely generally, I promise. šŸ™‚ It’s amazing how more confidence from our exercise habits trickles into the rest of our lives.

      On Mon, Mar 2, 2015 at 5:24 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

