A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Resetting focus now that travel is done!

on February 27, 2015
Now that I’m done traveling for a couple of months, it’s time to settle in and really start work on my goals in terms of the Lincoln Half Marathon in May and work on getting my pants to fit a little more comfortably. Since I made the switch to My Fitness Plan, I’ve actually gained weight, but that also includes three trips in one month so it isn’t really fair to say it isn’t working. Instead, I think I just to need to take a deep breath and get back to some basics. I really like the start small approach in this article on How to Start Eating Healthier – pick a few liveable changes and add on as you can. Along the same lines, here are some quick (60 seconds!) things I can do to have a healthier day. I’m working on cutting back my night time snacking (although I’m happy to say the nightly pounds-of-grapes “snacks” are in the past). I’m also really conscious of my goal to find a healthier balance with food. Yes, I’d like to lose a few pounds so I can wear ALL of the pants in my closet, but I need to keep it all in perspective. I really like Michelle’s last point in this post about going off plan – sometimes you have to let the reins a little loose to prove that you can trust yourself. I’m still working on getting to that happy medium, but that’s really the goal – to ultimately trust myself to eat healthy foods and amounts of food without all of the electronic paraphernalia to keep me honest.Β  I also like Terra’s reminder to lighten up. Letting go of fear and anxiety does so much for the way we feel and is something I’m constantly working on. When I’m been most successful in this arena, the scale has surprisingly followed suit and “lightened” up as well.

As I enter the last two months of training before the Lincoln Half Marathon, I’ve also been reading a lot more about running and thinking about fine tuning my approach to the training plan so I can meet my goals (more on that next week!). February is such a cold and miserable time that it can be hard to get excited about fitness goals, no matter how big or small they may seem. Erika at MCM Mama Runs had some great tips on getting motivated when you’re reluctant to get out there and run or whatever your exercise of choice is. I particularly liked the point about treats – I often daydream about cookies or some other treat during a run and yet end up with a healthy snack at the end of it all. πŸ™‚ I also really liked Emmie’s post this week “No shame in your fitness game” – own how awesome you are in what you’re doing. We get caught up in comparing ourselves with the other people at the gym or on the race course or lamenting the lack of size 2’s at the store. It isn’t about someone else’s journey – like we talked about Wednesday, you can never know what their path has really been. Instead, it’s about ourselves and trying to do a little more each day than we did before.

One more interesting thing to read if you have the time is this article over on Mother Jones about shifts in American food purchasing over the last few years, with a shift toward farmer’s markets and away from processed foods. The changes may be small, but they are certainly interesting. Hopefully we can see enough changes in the landscape to have “big food” providers start to join on making healthier, less processed foods more accessible for families across a wider geographic and economic spectrum than they are currently.

Before you head out for your weekend runs or just to walk around the office today, I have to tell you the most interesting little posture tidbit. In one of the magazines I read flying back and forth to Memphis (no idea which one), I read a “better posture” tip that suggested you “pretend you were wearing a cape.” As a mom of a superhero obsessed little boy, this tidbit stuck in my mind far better than the more prosaic shoulders back and down, back straight, etc.

Great tip just for walking around - stellar for running!

Great tip just for walking around – stellar for running!

On my run Tuesday night, I told myself this over and over and not only did I actually keep my posture in check well enough that I didn’t have any of my usual shoulder/neck aches with the run, I felt like I was FLYING and had so much fun. πŸ™‚ Definitely try it out!

I hope everyone has a good weekend! Per usual for Omaha, we’re ending February on a snowy, freezing note. The Omaha weather gods never want us to get too excited about March and the prospect of Spring, I’ve learned.

Happy Friday!

2 responses to “Friday Favorites: Resetting focus now that travel is done!

  1. Kristin says:

    Such a cool tidbit!!! So amazing!! I love it!! You’re seriously awesome!! Have a fabulous weekend!! XOXO

Leave a Reply

