A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Foiled by a hotel treadmill

on February 23, 2015

I can’t believe we’re already coming to the last week of February! On the plus side, March is normally when we start getting fewer spells of single-digit weather (knock on wood). On the negative side, I don’t know how well I’ve done in achieving my goals for February! Ah well, I have another week to be sure I stay on track.

This was my weather for my long run Sunday - my ears were feeling a little frostbitten by the end despite two layers of ear warmers!

This was my weather for my long run Sunday – my ears were feeling a little frostbitten by the end despite two layers of ear warmers!

This week, I traveled to Memphis for a work meeting. I already ranted about the conference food options (although I will say Friday and Saturday we had more fruit options and more veggies at lunch), but overall it was pretty good trip. I got to cross Tennessee off of my list for running 50 states, even if it was just on the treadmill. Between the icy weather and the safety concerns around the hotel, running outside just wasn’t a viable option. Even better, I don’t have any travel planned for work again until July! It’ll be nice to be home for a while. Oliver was sad I was gone and that is just heartbreaking.

Workouts

Monday Because I’d done my long run on the Sunday before, I decided to go with cross training rather than the easy 2-3 miles on the training plan. I walked for 35 minutes in the evening and felt like that was a good compromise.

Tuesday I’m proud of myself for hauling myself out of bed early to run 3.5 miles outside (3-4 miles on the training plan). It was cold and stiff, but it got done.

Wednesday I flew to Memphis and got in a 45 minute walk in the evening for my cross-training for the day. I also did some planks, push-ups, and the usual for a round of strength training.

Thursday Hills on the training plan, which I accomplished on the hotel treadmill after dinner one night. I did a 10 minute warm-up and then 4 hill intervals – 5% at 5 mph for the first two, 6% incline for the second two – with one minute recovery walk/jog between and 10 minutes of cool down. Quick and definitely doable – my legs were tired at the end, but I wasn’t wasted. I think next time I’m doing hills on the treadmill, I’ll work the pace up a bit as well as the incline settings.

Friday Easy 2-3 miles on the schedule and because the hotel gym closed at 10 pm, I ended up at 2 miles on the treadmill. Ah well.

Saturday 5- 7 miles, with the last mile as a “strong finish” was on the schedule. However, I was thwarted by the fact that the hotel gym didn’t open until 7 am on Saturdays. Pffft! My meetings started at 8, so I couldn’t fit that in. Thus, this had to bump to Sunday. The problem with Sunday long runs is figuring how to handle the next week of the training schedule with the need for rest after a long run.

Sunday I got out in the cold Sunday afternoon to run with lots of layers. It was bright and sunny which helped, but that “feels like 3 degrees” temperature made me glad I was only out there for a little over an hour. By the end, my ears were really hurting from the cold! I was pleasantly surprised that even though I felt like I was moving slowly because of the wind and the cold, my overall pace was 12:10/mile. I decided on 6 miles because of the cold and the last mile’s hard effort meant runs uphill (because the last mile on the way home is all uphill) with walk breaks only when I was crossing the street. I’m proud to say that last mile was at 11:13 pace, not bad given that I wasn’t really pushing the pace so much as just not stopping. πŸ™‚ I also did some body weight exercises that night.

Beyond my workouts, this has been a reasonable week. I did eat a couple of desserts with the various dinners associated with the meeting, but they were good and I thought about whether or not they were worth it as I ate them (they were!). I didn’t eat the pastries and other temptations constantly available in the conference breaks and I also drank lots of water, so in terms of food quality and achieving some balance with food and normal life, I feel like it was a reasonable weekend. My NSV is definitely resisting all of those pastries and cookies – I know they wouldn’t have been worth it.

I'm proud of myself for resisting these!

I’m proud of myself for resisting these!

My good deed was serving as the “expert” for my son’s pediatrician’s daughter’s (got that?) documentary for her senior high school honors project. It made me feel so old to do the math to realize how long ago my own senior year in high school was (almost 20 years!). To balance that though, this week I am grateful for the genes that allowed people to think that I was a student rather than a faculty member at this meeting. Shallow, maybe, but I’ll be honest that I’m grateful for it. πŸ™‚

I got lots of meal prep done yesterday, so I’m ready for a week of tasty, healthy meals this week.

Veggies sauteed for soup in the slow cooker Tuesday, sausage for pizza toppings and the soup, and homemade marinara, plus meatballs for later in the week. It'll be an Italian themed week around here!

Veggies sauteed for soup in the slow cooker Tuesday, sausage for pizza toppings and the soup, and homemade marinara, plus meatballs for later in the week. It’ll be an Italian themed week around here!

I also tried and loved a new to me cooking technique for potatoes last night – hasselback potatoes. Super easy and tasty! Cut the potatoes almost completely through in several places, toss with a little olive oil, garlic, salt & pepper and then roast for 45 minutes at 400 F. Yummy!

Definitely try these potatoes out - easy & delicious!

Definitely try these potatoes out – easy & delicious!

Here’s wishing everyone a good week! I’m looking forward to being back home with my family all week, with no big to-dos other than reading lots of Princess Half Marathon recaps (love all the pictures!) and a new-to-me 10K race to look forward to on Saturday afternoon.

 

8 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Foiled by a hotel treadmill

  1. Glad I came across your blog for some motivation this week! In Florida we have broken a (somewhat) cold snap and it’s time to get out and enjoy it. Thanks!

  2. Great week even with all the challenges! Bravo! Seriously!

  3. Meg B says:

    Awesome job sticking to it while on vacation! I am most impressed with your chilly run. It will be spring soon, right?

  4. Awesome week! Good job on passing up those sweets, that would’ve been hard! I sure hope March means no more freezing temps.

Leave a Reply

