A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites from the road

on February 20, 2015

I’m in Memphis for work for a couple of days and it seriously colder and icier than I was expecting. Yesterday navigating icy sidewalks in heels and a skirt was dicey. I will confess that it’s been harder to stick to my usual healthy habits on this trip because the world (or at least the Peabody) is working against me. 😦 You guys know that I’m a big believer in starting with a healthy breakfast to get my mindset right to resist the temptations of conference food and snacks. I packed my trusty oatmeal packets (more about that back here) only to find out that there is no coffee maker in the hotel room. It’s been ages since I’ve had that issue. No problem – I just hung the card on the door to order oatmeal and fruit from room service for breakfast in the morning. That might have worked, except it never arrived. Grrr. I called and they promised it was coming but when nothing had shown up 15 minutes later, I called back and cancelled it because I had to go. I stopped in the deli down in the lobby and resisted the giant dessert selection calling my name to buy some yogurt and a fruit cup. I ate my yogurt and opened the fruit cup to find moldy blueberries. Yuck. They offered a new one but I just got a refund and headed to the conference, where as expected, breakfast was a large array of bagels, muffins and croissants. Le sigh. First world problems, I know, but starting my day without my healthy routine made it so tempting all day to slip-slide away and say that this trip didn’t count in terms of food. I know I can’t keep doing that, so I’ll try to hold it together for another couple of days. (PS Apologies for the giant chunk of whiny text!)

They did have yogurt cups but they were the full fat, full sugar ones from Yoplait and I was too shocked by the calorie count for a little cup to take one. Yikes!

They did have yogurt cups but they were the full fat, full sugar ones from Yoplait and I was too shocked by the calorie count for a little cup to take one. Yikes!

Okay, enough whining. Negativity is rarely a good thing, which brings to my first favorite post to share from this week. Negative self talk is such a struggle for me, in terms of being kind to myself about the things I do, the things I eat, how I look in the mirror, etc. I absolutely agree with Laura over at Mommy Run Fast in her post about negative self talk this week – this is probably the biggest key to truly adopting a healthy lifestyle. She includes some tips for managing the negative self talk, including noticing the negativity and practicing countering positive talk, but I particularly appreciate that she doesn’t pretend these things will “fix” negative self talk. This is something that will always pop up for most people. Hopefully it gets less often over time as we develop a healthier self image, but it will be something that requires constant awareness and practice. Yesterday I practiced this by countering the little voice in my head that said “wow this skirt used to be a lot looser on you” and replaced it “wow does this fit well and look great!”

For more awesome, positive self talk, check out Tiina’s fabulous post You’re not a tree, about stepping outside her comfort zone and tackling new challenges. It is so easy to stay with what is easy, with what we’re already comfortable with, but every once in a while we need to stretch those limits in order to grow. That’s going to trigger a lot of doubt and negativity for a lot of us, but Tiina does a great job showing what can happen when you embrace to possibility of that kind of challenge. You rock Tiina!

With the winter weather, travel interruptions and work stuff, I’m in that early-mid training cycle blah phase. I know if I want that speedy half marathon in May, I need to stick with training and not wimp out now! My body is fine – it’s totally my mind that’s wandering. To keep things going, I’ve decided on a few little rewards for myself. First up, if I do EVERY workout in the training plan for the next two weeks, I’ll treat myself to the new Kelly Clarkson album. Two weeks seems like a good short term goal. I’ll pick a new goal after I achieve that one (ideas?). Hitting every workout means not skimping on strength training twice a week in addition to the runs. This week Jennifer over at Running on Lentils had an interesting post about strength training plans and mixing it up periodically. I like the idea of changing your strength training plan from month to month, to keep things interesting for your brain and your muscles. This weekend, I’m going to look at coming up with a new routine for my next couple of weeks just to mix things up from my usual squats and planks and push ups. If that’s a “no big deal” workout for me now, I need to step it up in order to benefit from it.

What are you guys up to this weekend? I know a lot of people are still struggling with the cold and the ice and the snow. Bundle up! Stay warm and stay sane! Spring will be here soon (right?).

 

 

4 responses to “Friday Favorites from the road

  1. Yall are gonna kill me. It’s supposed to be in the 70s here tomorrow! Should be a good weekend though. Tennis tomorrow and Sunday (if we don’t get rained out) and also hoping to get a few more Oscar movies watched and also The Kingsmen. We will see if all that pans out 😉

    Stay warm!

  2. Aww, this gave me the warm fuzzies. Thanks for the shout out!

    And I freaking hate the options that they give at conferences. I try to do the best that I can, but they go out of the way to make it difficult to eat healthy. You would think with as health conscious as people are these days that they would do a better job.

Leave a Reply

