A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Bumpy re-entry to the real world

on February 13, 2015

It has been a tough re-entry into our normal lives after the bliss of vacation. I shouldn’t complain, because at least I got to go on a nice vacation, but I will advise all of you not to plan to fly home from vacation late Sunday night (10 pm!) when you have a 7 am meeting Monday morning. All of us have been dragging this week, just as a result of that Sunday/Monday transition. It’s been hard to get in workouts around catching up work and housework. I also think my body got used to all of those extra calories on the cruise so I’ve been dragging and hungry all week. Ah, the joys of the real world. πŸ™‚

Given all of this, I’ve really appreciated Miss Zippy’s recent post with guidelines for shuffling workouts around (link here). With my first training plan, I didn’t really pay attention to this very much but since I’ve tried to be more thoughtful about how my workouts are ordered, particularly in avoiding back-t0-back hard workouts, my legs feel much better! This week, that means accepting that some workouts are just missed (here’s looking at you, Tuesday morning 5 miler) rather than trying to cram them in between hard workouts like speed work and long runs and risking injury.

A couple of the bloggers I follow are struggling with injury right now and I’m frustrated for them (which is sort of funny because we don’t really know each other, but the runner in me knows how much not running would suck!). Heather over at Where’s The Beach wrote this week about reflecting on all she’s gained from running now that she can’t run temporarily. It’s definitely worth a read (here) and a good prompt to reflect for myself all I’ve gained from running. Sending healing vibes your way Heather & hoping you’re better soon!

Katie over at Runs for Cookies is also on the bench thanks to injury and wrote this week about missing running. I completely empathize with the fear that she’ll never get back to running, that it will be easier and easier not to feel like a runner. As a recovering couch potato myself, I have the same fear, not due to injury so far (knock on wood) but due to crazy busy life that leads to missed workouts. How much can you miss before you can’t find the way back? Hang in there Katie!

I have to share two interesting stories I read this week about plus sized female athletes (here and here) that I think are so important to get out there. We (myself included) get so focused on what we look like, more so than what we can do. I’m grateful that there are women like the ones highlighted in these articles who are stepping up to say that healthy and athletic can look like a lot of different things. The more we can focus on the healthy and awesome things our bodies can do rather than our perceived flaws, the better.

On that note, I have to tell you guys about a little moment I had yesterday that offered me a much needed bit of perspective. I was walking into daycare to get Oliver after stopping at the gym. Thanks to busy catch up time at work, I hadn’t done the full workout I was slated for that day (10 minute warm up, 1 minute intervals in Zone 4 with 2 minute recovery X 4 and then a 10 minute cool down –> cut the warm up, cool down and recovery intervals in half but got the zone 4 in!). I’m super proud of myself for getting to the gym anyway, even if it wasn’t perfect. As I’m walking into daycare, still with the post-speed work flush and in my running gear, one of O’s former teachers said “Wow, you’re still losing weight”. Knowing I’d just gained 6 pounds and that I haven’t been able to wear any of my pants this week (true story), I had to laugh at that. I told her why I was laughing, and about the cruise weight gain, but thanked her for the reminder that I’d still come a long way, to be rolling into daycare in workout gear. πŸ™‚ Brinn understood and we had a nice laugh about how unfair it was that I’d gained twice as much as my hubby. Really, being fit and looking healthy and happy can have absolutely nothing to do with that number on the scale. I’ll confess that I look at this photo from the Castaway Cay 5K and think how easily I see the 15 pounds I’m carrying now as opposed to a year ago at the Princess Half Marathon. Maybe instead I should be reminding myself that what I’m seeing is a woman who was excited to run a 5K on her vacation and embrace all of the wonderfulness that encompasses. πŸ™‚

Minnie was excited for my run. :)

Minnie was excited for my run. πŸ™‚

Have a great Friday everyone! Happy Valentine’s Day and Happy (?) Friday the 13th!

Leave a Reply

