A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Checked all the boxes!

on February 9, 2015

Last week was been outstanding on the workout front!! I hit every workout, plus two strength training sessions and my 70K steps and water goals. What a good way to start the month! Even better, all of those workouts took place on vacation (which is why this post is going up Monday instead of Sunday). We snuck off for a week on a Disney cruise and it was a great time to get away!

Workouts

Monday 4 miles at around 12:30 pace (Garmin wasn’t working) on the promenade deck the early morning. It was a great way to start the day (and thankfully the only day I woke up crazy early). My pace got faster as I went along, once I got used to the rolling of the boat.Β 

Gorgeous views when you run on the deck before everyone else is up!

Gorgeous views when you run on the deck before everyone else is up!

Tuesday My first ever tempo run! I did this on the treadmill since I wanted to be sure I maintained a consistent pace. I did 1.5 miles at an easy pace to warm up, 1 mile at 10:20 pace (without walk breaks) and another 1.5 miles to cool down (plus a quarter mile walk at the end to really cool down). It was mentally tough as much as anything else, but I felt good to get it finished. There will be a few of these sprinkled in this training plan, which will be great mental practice. I finished up with planks, push-ups and bridges in the gym for a little strength training,

I find it really disorienting to run on a treadmill on a boat!

I find it really disorienting to run on a treadmill on a boat!

Wednesday Cross-training, which looked like a 2 mile walk around the deck (17 minute miles).

Thursday 3.5 miles in 43 minutes around the promenade deck, nice and easy, plus squats, planks, clamshells, bridges and push ups.

Friday I did the long run Friday instead of Saturday because I was going to be running the Castaway Cay 5K on Saturday. This was a fairly miserable run because the boat was SERIOUSLY rocking all day and they closed the promenade deck halfway through my run, which meant I had to move up to the treadmill. I had to hold on with one or both hands the whole time, it was so rocky. Not fun, but I got it done. Without the Garmin, I’m not totally sure, but I got between 6.5-7Β  miles (training plan called for 6-7 miles) at around 12:15 ish pace. I did the last 90 seconds at 10 minute pace to practice finishing strong.

Saturday The training plan call for easy 2-3 miles or cross-training and I chose the run option since we were at Castaway Cay for the 5K that day. This race is special to me because it was a big part of my motivation to stick with running when I first started and I was even more excited this year because of the new medal. Full recap coming tomorrow, but for now we’ll say I got my 3.1 miles in (around 36-36:10 ish) and got a super cute new medal!

Isn't that adorable?

Isn’t that adorable?

Darrell and I also took a long walk up to the observation tower to look out over the island. While I didn’t have my FitBit on through any of this, I definitely had a 10K plus step day even before I got back on the boat and put the FitBit back on for evening!

Darrell & I also spent some time just lounging on the adult only beach - heavenly!

Darrell & I also spent some time just lounging on the adult only beach – heavenly!

Sunday This was a rest day, which was really just a day full of travel. We got off the boat at 9 am, rode the bus back to the airport and then hung out there with Oliver until our plane at 4. Not the most exciting day, but Oliver was so incredibly well behaved through it all and we were glad to finally get home at 10 pm.

This week, I’m grateful for vacation. My NSV is definitely walking around in a swimsuit without constantly pulling/tugging/covering myself and my good deed was helping a woman in a wheelchair who was having a hard time navigating the doors and slopes of the boat while things were rocking so heavily. My husband’s good deed was helping several sweet little old ladies get their phones set up for the boat. πŸ™‚ He’s a good egg.

Mickey does not disappoint when it comes to vacation!

Mickey does not disappoint when it comes to vacation!

We had a great time and I got in my first 20+ mile week in a while, which felt good. Here’s hoping I can keep up that momentum now that I’m back in the grey, snowy real world!

Have a good week everyone!

 

6 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Checked all the boxes!

  1. Wow look at you go! Excellent week for sure!

  2. Looks like an awesome time! I found it super disorienting to run on the boat. It also made my left knee hurt, so not ideal. How did you find trying to healthy on the boat?

  3. What a great week! Aww, hearing this makes me want to go on another cruise! I tried to run on the deck one day, but it was sooo windy, I just stuck with the tm, which I had no problem with. Sounds like you and the hubby are both good eggs. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

