A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Ultimate Coffee Date: The February Blahs

on February 7, 2015

What is it about this time of year? It’s always so blah and dreary. I’m sure we’d do lots of commiserating about the crazy winter weather while we were sharing our coffee this morning.

What else would we talk about?

How about escaping Nebraska in February for a cruise? We’ve got vacation coming up this month and it is the perfect time of year to escape Nebraska. Soon Oliver will be in school (I can’t believe how fast my baby is growing up!) and we won’t be able to travel in the off season like this. We had a great time on our last Disney cruise and I’m sure this one will be great too. It almost has to be warmer!

Still one of my favorite vacation photos ever

Still one of my favorite vacation photos ever

Do you get intimidated by mixing up new outfits? One day last month I wore a combo of pants/top that I’d never put together before and felt sort of self-conscious all day. It was by no means a flashy outfit and I in fact got lots of compliments on it, but because I’m sort of stuck in a rut clothes-wise, I feel awkward any time I try to step outside it.  I guess that means I need to do it more often. Maybe I’ll make a goal to try a new outfit every day when I go to Memphis is a couple of weeks? I really won’t know anyone at the meeting I’m attending so no one will have a pre-conceived idea of what I should dress like. That makes it a good experimenting ground, right?

A burgundy lace tank under the white button down (that I got coffee on almost immediately - Grrr), with black/navy dotted pants -> by no means racy or attention getting and yet I felt like everyone was staring at me "trying too hard" to put together an outfit.

A burgundy lace tank under the white button down (that I got coffee on almost immediately – Grrr), with black/navy dotted pants -> by no means racy or attention getting and yet I felt like everyone was staring at me “trying too hard” to put together an outfit.

We’d talk about my new office I’ve built in an unused walk in closet down in the basement. It turned out very nicely and it’s great to have a little space of my own to work occasionally, hang my medals and keep track of things outside of the chaos of my husband’s office. We don’t often get home-improvement-y but I think this will work out very nicely.

The perk of converting the closet was that the rails were perfect for hanging medals and the desk slid easily under the existing shelves.

The perk of converting the closet was that the rails were perfect for hanging medals and the desk slid easily under the existing shelves.

Mostly though, today I’m in the mood to listen. What would you want to talk about over coffee today?

Ultimate Coffee Date: jillconyers.com

Ultimate Coffee Date: jillconyers.com

Thanks to Jill, Nikki and Lynda for hosting as always.

Leave a Reply

