A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

February Goals & Reviewing January

on February 2, 2015
January was full of lots of big and exciting events, with the Rebel Challenge and a trip to Disneyland, and at the end of it, some hits and misses in the goals department. I definitely succeeded in my goal of finishing the Rebel Challenge safe and smiling. I felt strong and happy at the end of it all. I have to remind myself that running a 10K and half marathon back to back was sort of a big deal for me. πŸ™‚
I always love looking at the happy finishing photos :)

I always love looking at the happy finishing photos πŸ™‚

For my other goals, I’d give myself a C on the taper goal. I wasn’t lazy during taper time by any means, but I definitely didn’t get in as many runs as I’d planned. That will be more important coming up to Lincoln, when I want my legs to stay fresh but speedy. I also didn’t get in strength training twice a week, but I was consistent about once a week, so that’s better than nothing. We’re keeping that goal for this month.
I totally rocked my goals with regards to tracking on MFP and weighing in only on my designated weigh in day. That second one has been particularly tough, but I’m proud of myself for sticking with it. I think it will be very helpful in my overall goal of finding some peace with food and the scale and my body. I’ll have to keep that one on my radar so I don’t fall back into the habit of letting the scale control my mood so much.
I’m also pleasantly surprised at how well I’ve done tracking 64 oz of water a day. Having to actually track it makes me much more consistent with drinking as much water as I should as a lovely side effect, I’ve only had a couple of diet sodas all month. Definitely a victory in the food quality area!
All in all, I did well in terms of working towards my overall food and weight goals for the year. I didn’t hit the 70K a week mark with steps, which I definitely still need work on, and on a personal level, I did get all of the Christmas decorations stored correctly. πŸ™‚ Yay for me!
What’s on deck for February?
It’s a short month, so I’m keeping them small but mighty.
– Picking up the half marathon training plan, with a focus on that sub 2:30 race in Lincoln. (More tomorrow about the steps I’ll take to do that!)
– Read Women, Food and God. With my goal for the year of finding a healthier balance with food in my life, I’ve heard a lot about how helpful this book can be. I’ll let you guys know what I think!
– 70K steps a week: I need to move more on non-workout days so this one is staying on the list!
– Strength training twice a week: I’m proud of myself for getting once a week. Now it’s time to step it up.
– Relax on my vacation! We’re going to go on vacation later this month and I’m going to relax as much (or maybe even more!) than I stress about it. πŸ™‚ In general I need to work on relaxing more. Hopefully reading more will help this too.
I'm going to spend more of my calories on this month, I think, to learn to relax a little.

I’m going to spend more of my calories on this month, I think, to learn to relax a little.

I’m also going to run a 5K, to get 3.1 miles more towards my 100 miles of races for the year, and visit Tennessee, to mark on more state off my 50 states list. What are your goals for the month?

3 responses to “February Goals & Reviewing January

  1. Kristin says:

    Relaxing while on vacation is SO important!! Great job on achieving wonderful things in January! Fabulous February goals!! You can do it! Have a beautiful day! XOXO

  2. […] goodness I kept my February goals small because wow did last month just fly by! Between the cruise and the work trip to Memphis, I […]

Leave a Reply

