A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap Up: Easing into the training plan

on February 1, 2015

I updated my training plan page this week to reflect the plan I’ll follow for this half marathon. For the first 3-4 weeks, I’m going to ease into things so I can be sure I don’t injure myself coming off the Rebel Challenge. In that spirit, last week I felt like a success getting out to run twice. This week, I’m happy to say I hit almost all of the workouts on the plan and feel like I’m ready to tackling every workout next week!

Workouts

Monday 3 miles on the training plan, but I never got around to anything but some strength training. Oops. Bonus: I’m sticking to my Monday strength training habit, so yay for me!

Tuesday For the first time in forever, I woke up early to go run before work. It was such a great way to start the day, especially after that disappointing weigh in. It was a gorgeous morning, the run felt easy and a great reminder of how much better I feel through the day when I’ve started it with a workout.

Every day is better when it starts with such a pretty sky.

Every day is better when it starts with such a pretty sky.

Wednesday Cross-training on the schedule, but I just didn’t get it done. We’ll talk about this more next week, but I definitely need to take cross-training more seriously if I want that sub-2:30 half marathon (and I do!).

Thursday Speed work on the training plan, which I haven’t done in months! After a warm up (5 minutes instead of the 10 on the plan because I was short on time) with 30 second intervals @9:30 and 60 seconds recovery (~13 minute miles). I did the 6 prescribed intervals and didn’t walk any of the recovery, which on the one hand was good and on the other hand, says that those intervals probably weren’t fast enough. I didn’t want to do too much since it was my first speed work in months and I was only 10 days out from the Rebel Challenge. Next time, I’ll aim for 9 minute-pace intervals and see if I can eke it up over time. This is where having a training log will help so I can track my progress.

Friday Today was supposed to be 2-3 miles easy, but I did the long run for the week instead for schedule reasons. I know I shouldn’t do two big workouts back to back and promise I won’t do it again. 🙂 The long run this week was 5-6 miles with the last mile “strong”. Since I’d just done speed work (even if it was just little speed work) on Thursday and I was trying to take this first few weeks a little easier, I decided to go for five miles. I took it easy for the first 4 miles and then decided that for finishing strong, my plan would be to run each block with walk breaks only when I crossed the street. It worked out really well. It felt tough, but mentally more so than anything. My brain tells me to walk long before my body does. I think I’m going to like these “finish strong” workouts because that’s my biggest weakness and biggest goal for the Lincoln half marathon. My overall pace was around 12:30, but what I was really excited to see were my splits: In that last mile, when I wasn’t pushing the running pace at all other than to just keep running, I ended up with a 10:46 mile! Very speedy for me and nice to see that come at the end of a run.

I was so excited to finish this so strong!

I was so excited to finish this so strong!

Saturday I picked up Friday’s 2-3 mile run with a 3 miler on the treadmill. Nothing exciting but it got done.

Sunday Rest! Rest today is going to definitely include some time with a book and a glass of wine.

The NSV I’m most proud of this week is staying off the scale after Tuesday’s weigh in. So many times I was tempted to step on the scale to reassure myself that the scale was going back down but I resisted. What would I do if it was up again? Instead I decided to focus on making good choices with food, drinking my water and getting my workouts in. It is so tempting to just toss it all out the window when a weigh in doesn’t go the way I want it to, but it’s good practice for my big goal of the year, focusing on progress beyond the scale. After all, my pants still fit and that was the goal, right?

My good deed for this week was coming in to my son’s school on Tuesday night to answer questions for the teachers and staff about healthy food for kids and the new food guidelines they’re putting in place there. I’ll talk more about it on Wednesday, but I’m on the school’s Food Board to help advise regarding nutrition. I volunteered for the Food Board because I’m obviously pretty interested in teaching my son healthy habits (that’s a huge motivation for my own lifestyle changes) and after hearing what I had to say at the first Food Board meeting, the owners asked me to come talk to the staff. It was fun and interesting to talk with the staff and answer their questions. It was a little nerve-wracking because nutrition isn’t my training, but mostly we talked about common sense things in dealing with kids and how hard it is to do what we “should” do. I got lots of good follow up questions and comments and lots of thank yous, so it was a fun good deed.

I’m grateful for the health of my family, every day. This week, a cousin of mine in her 20s was found dead. I am so heartbroken for her mother, who is one of the most truly kind people I’ve ever known. I can’t imagine getting that phone call as a mother. We never know how long we have with our loved ones and my heart goes out to her mother.

Hug those you love this weekend and have a great week next week!

2 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: Easing into the training plan

  1. Kristin says:

    Nice work and I love your thoughts here!! You’re such a beautiful and amazing person!! Have a fabulous start to your week! XOXO

Leave a Reply

