A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weight Loss Wednesday: Looking for the NSVs to balance an ugly weigh in

on January 28, 2015

I had an entirely different topic planned for today that’s just going to have to wait for next week because I need to talk through yesterday’s weigh in. Let’s go ahead and pull of the bandaid and get the number out: 176.5. Yes, up 3 pounds. Yes, back where I started when I made the switch to My Fitness Pal.

That number stung more than I wanted it to. I’m clearly still letting the number on the scale mean a lot, but I’m making progress.

– When I stepped on the scale yesterday morning for my weigh in, that was the first time I’d stepped on a scale in two weeks. That’s right, I stuck to my plan of staying off the scale immediately after Disneyland and otherwise only weighing in on my official day! That is a huge victory for me, because I’m someone who has been a daily weigher in the past. Staying off of the scale has really helped me focus on the way my body feels rather than how that number says my body is doing.

– There’s part of me that wants to weigh in again on Friday because surely this 3 pounds isn’t real. In the spirit of keeping to my primary goal this year of staying in my pants size (which I am) and finding a happy balance with food and health choices, not just the scale, I think I’m going to say no to this idea and stick to my normal weigh in days. It’s true, I got flagged on My Fitness Pal for being over my daily sodium limit Saturday, Sunday and Monday before my Tuesday weigh in (restaurant soups, Chinese food) and that may have impacted the number, but I don’t want to micromanage that number. I’ll weigh in on my next weigh in day and not before.

– Knowing I’d had more sodium than usual for the last few days (and we’re at that time of the month), part of me wanted to skip the weigh in all together because I knew it would be up (despite the little messages from MFP every day saying). I didn’t. I told myself it was just a piece of data and climbed up. Besides, if it’s up for salt and hormonal reasons, that means I should have a great loss next time, right?

I hate this little message that pops up when you "complete" the day with MFP! I've done this long enough to know this isn't linear math.

I hate this little message that pops up when you “complete” the day with MFP! I’ve done this long enough to know this isn’t linear math.

– I also have to admit the possibility that this gain is real. I did just back from Disneyland, where I ate too many tiny cakes at the Wookie party. I did end up 600+ calories in the hole Saturday thanks to a lovely birthday party with lots of wine and a piece of birthday cake. If earned these pounds, that’s okay too. I just have to accept that and move forward. I can’t let one week of a gain mentally discount the previous two weeks of losses.

– Right after this weigh in, which would normally get me down, I got dressed to go run. Because I’m a runner. And while I was getting dressed, I noticed that this cool little divot of a waist is showing back up. I’m definitely feeling less fluffy overall since cutting my fruit consumption back (because that’s really what has changed since switching to My Fitness Pal). The way I’m eating is fueling healthy activity and showing up with cool little changes in my body, so I need to keep that number in proper perspective.

image

This helped re-center me a lot this morning.

This helped re-center me a lot this morning.

Little ups and downs like this are why I’d committed to doing My Fitness Pal for at least two months before going to back to Weight Watchers if I need to (and if I go back, it’ll be going back to a meeting because that’s what worked for me before).

When you’re trying to lose weight, it’s all about the long term journey. You can’t let short term derailments throw you off too much. I’ll confess, every time I have a gain like this that feels unearned, there’s a little voice in my head that says “It’s not worth it. Chuck it all and just eat the leftover cookies for breakfast” (red velvet cookies currently staring at me). With practice, it gets easier and easier to ignore the voice. You’re doing the things you’re doing because you want to be healthier. Even if the scale hasn’t caught up yet, you’re still healthier by eating better and moving more. How many times do you think I’ll tell myself that today? ๐Ÿ™‚

I hereby promise to stay off the scale until my next weigh in day and actively appreciate my healthy body.

What are you doing to appreciate your body this week?

6 responses to “Weight Loss Wednesday: Looking for the NSVs to balance an ugly weigh in

  1. Meg B says:

    I love that you went for a run right after your weigh-in. Good for you for not letting it get you down!

    • It definitely helped me to keep it all in perspective. Plus, any day I start the day with exercise, I’m less likely to drown my scale frustrations in pie later. ๐Ÿ™‚

      On Wed, Jan 28, 2015 at 9:33 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Awesome NSV’s for sure! Glad you have the right mindset with it! The scale is such a terrible way to measure progress anyway (except when its going in the right direction!)

    • Right? I should totally celebrate the moves in the right direction more than I get bummed out about these trips in the wrong direction!

      On Wed, Jan 28, 2015 at 10:33 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  3. […] go run before work. It was such a great way to start the day, especially after that disappointing weigh in. It was a gorgeous morning, the run felt easy and a great reminder of how much better I feel […]

  4. […] worried I would find it harder to relax if I was too worried about weight gain (especially with the unexpected gain right before we left!). My personal goals for this trip were a) make healthy choices MOST of the […]

Leave a Reply

