A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Wookie Welcome Party

on January 27, 2015

As part of the package when I booked this trip through a travel provider (more on that coming Thursday), I got tickets to the Wookie Welcome Party. As I was there without my family, it seemed like the perfect time to try all of the RunDisney weekend offerings including this pricey ($99!) little party.

Aside from the cost, the biggest downside to this event, for me, was the time. It was from 9:30-11:30 pm. Considering that I had flown in earlier that day (Thursday) from the Central Time Zone and had been up since before 4 am CST, I was beyond wiped out by the time that party rolled around. I had room service for dinner at around 7 pm and then took a little nap before the party. I was fully prepared to sleep through the alarm. Nonetheless, I woke up and headed out around 9:30. My entry ticket was a wrist band I’d picked up at the Expo earlier in the day. When I got to the entry of the park, they were just letting the long line of people in through the gates. It was really interesting to see the park after dark with so few people inside.

It was especially nice to see this all lit while I could take my time and soak it in.

It was especially nice to see this all lit while I could take my time and soak it in.

I was glad I’d seen Main Street during the day so I could appreciate it even more at night. After 5 minutes of walking around the park so empty, I was more than glad I’d gotten myself out of bed when the alarm went off.

Even more empty than on race day! Very cool!

Even more empty than on race day! Very cool!

The party was over in Tomorrowland, with cast members stationed at the hub to keep the crowd moving along. By the time I got to Tomorrowland, it was only 15 minutes or so into the party and the character lines were crazy long! There was one station for R2D2 and C3PO.

I'd have liked this photo. :)

I’d have liked this photo. 🙂

I got in line, but before long a cast member came along telling us that by the time we got to the photo op, the characters would have switched to Luke and Leia. I had zero interest in Luke and Leia, so I moved on. There was also a Chewie station with a huge line (common theme – Chewie was popular all weekend) and a station with Mickey and Minnie dressed as Luke and Leia, which was super cute.

They kept Chewie out all evening - I wonder how hot that suit gets?

They kept Chewie out all evening – I wonder how hot that suit gets?

Mickey and Minnie were much more photoworthy than the human Luke and Leia.

Mickey and Minnie were much more photoworthy than the human Luke and Leia.

I popped over to a snack table to get some food for the wait and settled in to wait for Mickey and Minnie. Before long, they swapped out Mickey and Minnie for Goofy and Donald, which was even better! We were stationed next to the stage with the band and super-cute Chip and Dale dressed as Ewoks. The music wasn’t bad and watching the Disney characters was even better, so the time in line went quickly.

Darth Vader also made a grand entrance on the stairs.

Darth Vader also made a grand entrance on the stage after Chip & Dale.

The wookie cookie was cuter than it was tasty, but the rum ball was really good as was the chocolate cupcake with the solid chocolate Darth Vader.

The wookie cookie was cuter than it was tasty, but the rum ball was really good as was the chocolate cupcake with the solid chocolate Darth Vader.

There wasn’t a huge selection of treats, but there were at least plenty of them. I ate entirely too many of those rum balls, which I don’t normally like. There was also lemonade, iced tea and a bar. There were 4-5 snack stations, so the lines were never long (that’s what the photo lines were for!) and you were never far away from food, which was good and bad. 🙂

The time passed quickly chatting with others in line (that’s when I met Elsa Fett, featured in Friday’s Favorite Costumes last week) and before I knew it, I was up dancing with Goofy and Donald. It was a fun little moment, but I was done with waiting in line by then. To be fair, it was after 10:30 and they were near closing the lines (still really long!) so that everyone would get out by 11:30 when the party ended.

Great dance partners

Great dance partners

I decided to go check out the rides that were open, which was a great idea because there was ZERO waiting in line for them. I got to ride a mostly empty Space Mountain, Buzz Lightyear (which broke down at night just like it always does during the day), Star Tours and AstroOrbiter. Riding things in the empty park was a lot of fun.

Isn't it beautiful at night?

Isn’t it beautiful at night?

Buzz Lightyear selfie for Oliver

Buzz Lightyear selfie for Oliver

Not a bad score right? This one works a lot better than Walt Disney World!

Not a bad score right? This one works a lot better than Walt Disney World!

Disneyland's Space Mountain is definitely better than WDW, especially at night and empty!

Disneyland’s Space Mountain is definitely better than WDW, especially at night and empty!

By the time I finished all of this riding, it was time for one more round of cupcakes and rum balls (I definitely overdid it with those) before heading out of the park.

Even if it is small, it's still gorgeous.

Even if it is small, it’s still gorgeous.

One thing to be aware of – you definitely want to get to the party at the start time, or close to it, if you want pics with characters. They close the lines early so they can get everyone out on time. One mom and her son I heard complaining didn’t arrive until after 10:30 and all of the character lines were already closed by then, which was unfortunate. I’m glad I went early. Another thing that worked out well for me was wearing my compression socks. My legs were already tired from the Expo and park that day, so the extra support when I headed back to this late night party was a life saver in terms of keeping my legs fresh through the weekend.

While this was fun, it really wasn’t worth $99 for me. You only have two hours to eat tiny desserts, ride a handful of rides and/or wait in line for character photos and for me, at least, that isn’t worth $50 an hour. I’m glad I tried it once, but I don’t foresee doing it again.

Has anyone else done one of these pre-race parties? Worth it for you or not?

 

 

3 responses to “Wookie Welcome Party

  1. Kristin says:

    LOVE Buzz Lightyear!! Was freakin’ so excited to meet him!! Hehe!! Just love Toy story! They’re my fave!! Awesome pics!! XOXO

  2. […] the Wookie Welcome party, which I wouldn’t have done otherwise) to use them. The cost for the Wookie Welcome party ($99) was mostly offset by a discount they offered on park tickets, so I wasn’t paying much more […]

Leave a Reply

