A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Recovery & Restarting

on January 25, 2015

Technically, this week is 15 weeks out from the Lincoln Half Marathon and therefore the start of my new training plan. Of course, I had to balance that with recovering from the Rebel Challenge.

Gorgeous welcome home flowers waiting for me when I got home around 1 am Monday. :)

Gorgeous welcome home flowers waiting for me when I got home around 1 am Monday. πŸ™‚

Monday Rest and settling back in. Unpacking and taking care of all of the mom/wife stuff at home meant I had lots of steps for the day but I didn’t really get an official workout in (unless you count laughing as I fed the ducks with O).

Watching the geese sneak around behind Oliver and startle him was really funny.

Watching the geese sneak around behind Oliver and startle him was really funny.

Tuesday I decided to ease back into things with a 30 minute walk to the library to return Oliver’s long overdue Dora the Explorer book. It was chillier than I was expecting and a stepper hill than I remembered, but it felt good to move a bit again. Thanks to my efforts in recovery for the back to back runs, my legs already felt back to normal.

Thank goodness there aren't late fees on the kid books!

Thank goodness there aren’t late fees on the kid books!

Wednesday 50 minutes of walking and 10K steps for the day!

I did some pacing in the house to get to 10K.

I did some pacing in the house to get to 10K.

Thursday I got out for a late night run around the neighborhood. It was only twenty minutes, but it felt good to loosen things up again and see where any tight spots lingered. I had a very painful foam rolling session after I got back in but my left leg felt MUCH better afterwards.

I can honestly say it was the most painful foam rolling session I've ever had but boy did it make a big difference!

I can honestly say it was the most painful foam rolling session I’ve ever had but boy did it make a big difference!

Friday Rest day, thanks to a measles outbreak in town throwing everything into a tizzy.

Saturday The long run for the first week of my training plan is 5-6 miles, which seemed doable a week out from the Rebel Challenge. My plan was to take it slow and easy, with lots of walk breaks, but cover the miles. It was in the 50s and occasionally spitting rain, but I headed out with a plan to do 45 second run/30 second walk intervals, which I did until the last mile. The last mile is essentially all uphill, so I walked a little more for that mile and ended up with 5.25 miles at 12:25 pace. My legs felt heavy still, but no pain anywhere. I right before we headed out to a dinner party, so I didn’t get to do any foam rolling but I will today to help things stay in good shape for next week’s runs.

Along this stretch, I could smell the fried chicken from the grocery store half a mile away thanks to wind. Definitely a little odd when you're running!

Along this stretch, I could smell the fried chicken from the grocery store half a mile away thanks to wind. Definitely a little odd when you’re running!

Sunday A rest day per the training plan, but today is Katie’s birthday and she’s doing her Runs for Cookies virtual 5K so I have to get out there for Katie. I can’t resist the warmer weather, knowing we’ll be back in the frigid temps again in February. Check out Katie’s site and run with her today. She’s been a huge inspiration for me! I’ll mostly walk these miles, I suspect, but at least it will get me to 10K steps today. I won’t get 70,000 this week, but hopefully I’ll get close. Looking back at this recap of the week, I also notice there’s no strength training anywhere on here so I need to get in some of that today as well (good thing I do this little exercise of looking back on the week!).

I feel like I’ve done a good job getting back to healthy, non-vacation eating since I returned home, with a focus on vegetables and lots of water, so that’s my NSV for the week. My good deed this week has been coming in to help answer phone calls in the office to ease the burden a bit for the rest of my team, rather than hiding in my other office to get my own work done. We live in interesting times, with all of the vaccine-preventable diseases that we thought we’d eradicated rearing their ugly little heads again. I’m definitely grateful for modern healthcare and knowing my little guy is protected from things that were devastating for children just a generation or two ago.

The doctor was hard at work yesterday. All of our stuffed animals had gotten very sick and needed a hospital.

The doctor was hard at work yesterday. All of our stuffed animals had gotten very sick and needed a hospital.

I ordered my official race photos this weekend and I can’t wait to share them with you guys! It was such a great weekend and a great way to kick off my running year. This week I’ll have more about the Expo, the Wookie Welcome party and working with a travel provider for race registration and after that I promise to stop with the constant raving about Star Wars. πŸ™‚ Mostly. I may be sprinkling in random Disney photos for a while. Like this one:

I felt like there was a ton of character interaction in the parks!

I felt like there was a ton of character interaction in the parks!

Did you have a good week?

One response to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Recovery & Restarting

  1. […] things so I can be sure I don’t injure myself coming off the Rebel Challenge. In that spirit, last week I felt like a success getting out to run twice. This week, I’m happy to say I hit almost all […]

Leave a Reply

