A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Star Wars Costumes

on January 23, 2015

For this Friday Favorites, I wanted to highlight some of the fantastic costumes at the Star Wars race weekend. As a non-crafty person myself, I am in awe of the creativity of these costumes and the fact that people can run in them! For better pictures of some of the costumes, check out this Buzzfeed post.

R2D2 for the 10K - she ran 6 miles in this!

R2D2 for the 10K – she ran 6 miles in this!

Hans Solo and the tauntaun (5K)

Hans Solo and the tauntaun (5K)

The Star Tours vehicle, plus others at the 5K

The Star Tours vehicle, plus others at the 5K

Lando was too cool to run, but he looked good doing it. :)

Lando was too cool to run, but he looked good doing it. πŸ™‚

This was the back of Elsa Fett(a la Boba Fett)'s costume, complete with Hans (the other Hans) frozen in snow rather than carbonite. :)

This was the back of Elsa Fett(a la Boba Fett)’s costume, complete with Hans (the other Hans) frozen in snow rather than carbonite. πŸ™‚

Jabba the Hut at the 5K

Jabba the Hut at the 5K

A gold bodysuited C3PO (who ran with a Hans, R2D2 and Leia but his costume was the most elaborate) in the half marathon

A gold bodysuited C3PO (who ran with a Hans, R2D2 and Leia but his costume was the most elaborate) in the half marathon

I wish I’d gotten a picture of the George Lucas I saw. It took me a while to place what the grey bearded guy in the plaid shirt had to do with Star Wars. πŸ™‚

On a more serious note, my best thoughts and mental hugs go out to Peggy Sue’s family. Anybody who has run a Disney race has likely seen Peggy Sue cheering us on with her awesome sign (Hello Complete Stranger, I’m Proud of You Too). I had heard about Peggy Sue before I ran the Princess Half Marathon and remember how near tears I was when I saw her, both because that meant I was almost finished with this huge thing of running my first half marathon, and because it was just such an awesome act of humanity for her to be out there sending out such palpable joy and good will to all of the runners. There is a lovely message from her family here on the Peggy Sue Facebook page. I hope we can all learn from example and cheer each other along in life, no matter what kind of race we’re running. Thank you, Peggy Sue.

I hope you all have a great weekend! I’m planning on hitting the streets for my first real run since the half marathon (5-6 miles on the plan), so here’s hoping for good weather!

 

7 responses to “Friday Favorites: Star Wars Costumes

  1. I have never ran in a costume! Maybe someday. Although I sure couldn’t run in any of those. Wow, how do they do it?? Have a great run this weekend!

  2. Aww love these! I would have loved to have spectated that run Disney event! What fun!

  3. Kristin says:

    Wow, what fun!! Super cool!! Love all your pics! Have an amazing Friday and weekend! XOXO

  4. […] with others in line (that’s when I met Elsa Fett, featured in Friday’s Favorite Costumes last week) and before I knew it, I was up dancing with Goofy and Donald. It was a fun little […]

Leave a Reply

