A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weight Loss Wednesday: Disneyland food successes!

on January 21, 2015

I’m excited to say that I came out of this half marathon weekend feeling a lot better than I did my Des Moines half marathon weekend, in terms of food choices. I told myself over and over through the weekend, with all of the travel, park time and running, that my goal for the year was to make peace with food and I’m happy to say that I was (mostly) successful in that goal.

– I focused on quality of food and drink in terms of fueling my activity, more than eating things just because I was “on vacation.” That meant getting lots of water instead of soda and still getting my veggies in. I ate more carbs than usual, but it was a conscious decision in terms of optimizing glycogen stores for the back to back races. I had “all you can eat” buffets in the hotel restaurant for dinner before both races and didn’t feel the need to “get my money’s worth,” which is so hard to resist sometimes. Instead, I focused on what would be good fuel for running and not upset my system too much. All in all, I really felt good about my perspective on food all weekend.

My dinner Friday & Saturday before the races.

My dinner Friday & Saturday before the races.

– I had some carefully considered “treats”, like trying out the jambalaya at Blue Bayou which I’d heard was great (meh), my beloved Dole Whip and having bread with some of my meals. Of course, not all of the treats worked out so well. I made the ill-advised decision to treat myself to some ice cream at the Ghiradelli shop in California Adventure. It was delicious and I’m sure totally fine from a calorie perspective, given the 10K I’d run earlier in the dark and all the park walking I did afterward, but I learned that 2 Lactaid are not enough to counter ice cream at this stage in my lactose intolerance. 😦 Thankfully my stomach settled back down before the half marathon on Sunday!

The waitress warned me that the jambalaya was spicy - it was not. Mine is way better.

The waitress warned me that the jambalaya was spicy – it was not. Mine is way better.

– I didn’t use all of the running and walking as an excuse to over indulge. I said no to desserts that weren’t exciting and actually had coffee for dessert for the most part. I also didn’t have any alcohol, not as a conscious decision to avoid the alcohol calories per say but more as a choice to spend calories on bread, which might fuel the running a bit, as opposed to alcohol, which might hurt it. πŸ™‚

Blue Bayou does have good coffee.

Blue Bayou does have good coffee.

– I’m particularly proud of the first time I passed up the Dole Whip stand in Adventureland! I really wanted to stop and have one just because I love them, but reminded myself that I’d just had lunch, I wasn’t hungry and I had all weekend to come back to get one when I was actually hungry for a snack. If you know how good the Dole Whip is, you know what a huge victory that was! I also got fries with my grilled chicken sandwich in the Phoenix airport (the only thing I could find that I could carry on the plane – frustratingly few food options at 7:30 in that section of the airport!) and only at 7-8 fries. I actually threw away french fries. Crazy.

Dole Whip, oh how I love thee!

Dole Whip, oh how I love thee!

It wasn’t all success, of course. I did eat too many tiny desserts at the Wookie Welcome party, between my fatigue, my nerves at being in a new environment like that and the fact that tiny desserts are just so easy to pop in your mouth. πŸ™‚

Those little balls were delicious! The wookie cookies were cuter than they were tasty.

Those little balls were delicious! The wookie cookies were cuter than they were tasty.

Overall, though, I’m really happy with the choices I made and the balance I struck between indulgences and quality choices. Hopefully I can feel just as successful about the cruise we take later this year.

I’ve also stuck with my goal of NOT stepping on the scale this week, which is surprisingly hard. However, I put on my size 6 pants today and they still fit, so I know I’m keeping in my primary weight goal for the year.

My only regret is not trying a churro. I’ve never had one and they were all over the place in Disneyland.

What is your favorite vacation indulgence?

2 responses to “Weight Loss Wednesday: Disneyland food successes!

  1. Kristin says:

    Love this!! Great job!! You’re amazing and life is truly about balance, so congrats on making the best choices for you! Have a wonderful day!! Great food pics, too!! XOXO

Leave a Reply

