A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Disneyland!

on January 18, 2015

If you’re following along on Facebook and Instagram, you know that this week I’m in California for the RunDisney Star Wars Rebel Challenge, so you already know what my workout week has been like.

Monday Strength training circuit at home with body weight exercises

Tuesday Lots of crazy last minute running around with work & home stuff, so no workout.

Wednesday Pretty much the same as Tuesday. I had evening events Tuesday and Wednesday, which pretty much ruled out workouts since I also had to get a little family time in before I left town and get packing finished up.

Thursday Flight to California, with a walk in Phoenix airport for 15 minutes between flights, and then lots of walking at the Expo, Disneyland and the Wookie Welcome party. I ended the day with 20,000 steps (-ish, the FitBit got confused because I was up so late).

I love the RunDisney Instagram booth. :) I have to say, I like this picture of me! Not as awkward as my normal posing.

I love the RunDisney Instagram booth. 🙂 I have to say, I like this picture of me! Not as awkward as my normal posing.

Friday I planned to take it easy, and it didn’t feel like I pushed too much, but somehow I ended up with 18K steps wandering between Disneyland and California Adventure. However, as I also ended up with pics with these guys, it was worth it.

Oliver would be pea green with envy (and wow was he nice!)

Oliver would be pea green with envy (and wow was he nice!)

I was having the hardest time not smiling, but it would have felt so wrong!

I was having the hardest time not smiling, but it would have felt so wrong!

Saturday The Storm Trooper 10K (full report coming Monday!), plus hanging out in the parks for the rest of the day with a friend from grad school. I headed back to the room for dinner, a soak in the tub and bed early so I could get ready for the half today. Fingers crossed that I didn’t overdo it! My feet themselves have that tired, week at Disneyworld feeling already so here’s hoping they hold up for another 13.1 miles.

Isn't it pretty? I nearly lost it on Tower of Terror Saturday!

Isn’t it pretty? I nearly lost it on Tower of Terror Saturday!

Sunday Today’s event? That would be the half marathon I’m probably out running as this posts (not exactly sure what time zone it will post in). By lunch I’ll have three shiny new medals to show for my weekend’s work.

Even though I slacked on Monday – Wednesday in the step department, I’ll definitely end the week at over 70,000 steps. The trick will be to keep that up next week. I’ve also done good at getting lots of water and making food choices I feel good about from a quality perspective (other than ill advised decision to have ice cream Saturday – FYI, Lactaid won’t be enough to overcome that if you’re as lactose intolerant as I am). I definitely haven’t had that “off the rails” feeling I got with my last half marathon so far.

My NSV for the week? I feel like there have been a few, from getting into my jeans directly out of the dryer on Thursday morning with no shimmying required, to passing up the Dole Whip stand the first time I passed it because I wasn’t hungry (that’s huge – I LOVE Dole Whip), to sitting in this swinging apparatus at California Adventure and realizing I wouldn’t have felt comfortable in this a couple of years ago:

There's no way I would have gotten in this before!

There’s no way I would have gotten in this before!

Don’t worry – I did still get Dole Whip later when I was actually hungry for a snack.

Dole Whip, oh how I love thee!

Dole Whip, oh how I love thee!

My good deeds have been largely of the photo taking variety, as well as lots of letting kids go first in line and that kind of thing. 🙂 Something about Disney running events just makes us all nicer to each other.

I also did the good deed of a letting a guy (a grown up, but he definitely took child-like joy in it) sit behind the steering wheel on Indiana Jones even though I'd been the one directed there by the cast member. It's the little things that count, right?

I also did the good deed of a letting a guy (a grown up, but he definitely took child-like joy in it) sit behind the steering wheel on Indiana Jones even though I’d been the one directed there by the cast member. It’s the little things that count, right?

 

I’m so grateful that I have a husband who not only “lets” me come off and do crazy things like this – he encourages me to do it, he’s proud of me for doing it and he takes care of our son as a solo parent for the weekend while I do it. That solo parenting involves lots of pizza and lots of DuckTales on DVD, but I know they are having lots of fun.

Send me good vibes today! I’ll keep you guys posted and try to load more photos on Facebook and Instagram during / after the Half Marathon (Resort WiFi is spotty!).

I hope you’re having a great weekend!

5 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Disneyland!

  1. Yay for the hubs supporting you 🙂 And can’t wait for the full race reports!

Leave a Reply

