A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: A week from now I’ll be warm!

on January 9, 2015

The serious deep freeze we’re having in Nebraska this week makes me especially appreciate the warm temps projected for California next week and curious about just how cold it is down in Florida, with people complaining about the weather? I hope it doesn’t throw anyone off too much!

My favorite things to read this week have definitely been all of the comments and reports from runners as Walt Disney Marathon weekend kicks off. Be sure to check out the Disney Parks blog (here) where they have highlight videos and are apparently going to live stream the half marathon and marathon finish lines! I admit I’m enough of a RunDisney geek that I may be checking that out. πŸ™‚

In other RunDisney news, I am incredibly excited to follow along with Greg’s overview of the Star Wars course over at WhyIRunDisney.com. The little bit about LucasFilm helping design the course entertainment is particularly intriguing. I cannot wait to see what they have in store for us! I’m emptying my phone of pictures so I have plenty of space for a billion pics and who knows – this may be a race where I bring my actual camera.

Like I mentioned in my January goals post yesterday, I have a wee bit of mom guilt over going to Disneyland without Oliver (and Darrell too). Between that and the need for some discipline in our house lately due to holiday-triggered toddler naughtiness, I’ve been trying to soak up lots of cuddle and quality time with Oliver. He’s aware he crossed the line in terms of naughty behavior earlier this week and has been working extra hard to make up for it, which means making lots of crafts and lots of lap and cuddle time. I know he’s trying to kiss up a bit, which is funny,but I’ll soak it up to enjoy these moments while I can. Sometimes you just have to shift your priorities a bit and taking the time to play is more important that whatever else was next on the to do list, right? In that spirit, I really enjoyed Tiina’s post this week about taking things One Day at a time. I’m all about goals (clearly, as I’ve written about food, running and monthly goals all within the last 10 days!) but it’s easy to lose track of enjoying the day to day moments in the midst of the grandiose planning. This post was a great read and great reminder that it’s okay to let other things take priority some days. We all have lots of balls to keep in the air, in terms of what is important to us, and not everything gets to be in play once. We need to allow ourselves that flex room.

Emmie also wrote about goals this week (here) and I can’t pick one of her tips to highlight for you because they are all so key! You can’t make changes for someone else or you’ll be miserable (and it won’t work). Don’t try to force yourself into something that isn’t a good fit for you – it won’t stick. Above all else, be kind to yourself. Such fantastic words from an inspiring voice (in lots of ways) so be sure to check her out if you don’t already follow her.

Last but certainly not least, I have to share my NSV of the week because it still makes me laugh. Last night while getting Oliver ready for bed, he stops in the middle of putting on PJs to do some squats. A pants-less 3 year old doing squats is a sight to behold trust me (no pics obviously because he’d kill me when he was bigger and heard I’d shared them with the world!). When I asked what he was doing, he told me he was doing “booty exercises” and I asked where he’d learned those. His answer? Mommy does them for running. πŸ™‚ Proof that I’m doing my strength training and that my little audience is paying attention!

Oliver was working out with me and conked out after bridges because they were "hard and weird".

Oliver was working out with me and conked out after bridges because they were “hard and weird”.

Have a great weekend everyone! Good luck with the rest of marathon weekend for everyone who is running!

 

 

2 responses to “Friday Favorites: A week from now I’ll be warm!

  1. Kristin says:

    I love Disney!! I love Disney!! πŸ™‚ You’re going to rock your race!! Have a fabulous weekend!! XOXO

Leave a Reply

